Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Combined Counties Football League

Who won the Midland Intermediate League (CCFL Senior As we know it now) 2004/05? And again 2005/06? Oh Yeah....... St Peters.

Congratulations to Willow Park for emulating St Peters!

Quote Originally Posted by fr damo View Post
    who won the midland intermediate league (ccfl senior as we know it now) 2004/05? And again 2005/06? Oh yeah....... St peters.

Congratulations to willow park for emulating st peters!
    classic!!

[QUOTE=the runner;1238226]
    Quote Originally Posted by supersol View Post
    Lads,

Can we keep to Soccer chat and not Paper Reports etc...?

I have watched both teams play twice this season...
    I was at the 1 1 draw in Macarthy & seen both sides win easily against poorer opposition!!

They are 2 excellent sides with talented players in both sides!!
    Lets hope Sunday is a good match & both sets of Supporters(only a few)
    show respect for both teams!!

GAME ON!!

BEST OF LUCK TO BOTH TEAMS & HERES HOPING THE WINNERS GO FAR IN THE FAI JUNIOR CUP!![/

Really looking forward to sundAY ITS THE BIGGEST GAME TO HIT ATHLONBE

IN 10 YEARS .Does any1 have opinion on this one .
    I have trained with Willow this year .And it has inspired me to achieve what Willow have over the last 2 years.Tony O sullivan has created 1 of the best CCFL teams ever . St peters need 2 win back 2 back titles to match willow parks success over the last few yrs.Do you think that the current St.peters side is young enough or good enough to match this achievment .
    You should try training with Peters and then you will have your answer!
    Sully has done that is right,,but he couldnt do anything near that when he was at Peters,

Quote Originally Posted by simplesimons View Post
    I never judged any player by muscle,I said thats what they were missing,,every midfield needs a proper hardman(and by hardman I dont mean a player with no quality and who is out there to break a leg like a certain player mentioned in earlier posts,,from what I hear about Benny(who I think is excellent by the way),,a certain person on the CCFL board has a big shine for him,but he is quality but I have seen better players in that league,but that is opinion.
    You want to tread carefully lad.To accuse a player of trying to hurt other players is not very wise,and for people taking a shine to players someone from the irish junior league must of taking a shine to davy ,cas he wouldn't get in to peters stongest eleven never mind ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by clown town View Post
    You want to tread carefully lad.To accuse a player of trying to hurt other players is not very wise,and for people taking a shine to players someone from the irish junior league must of taking a shine to davy ,cas he wouldn't get in to peters stongest eleven never mind ireland.
    On behalf of all Foot.ie users i would like to wish clowntown a vey happy 6th birthday.
    Why are people who "need no introduction" always introduced?

Heard crazy kids is booked out so guess we'll be seeing you all at the Willlow match!

Just saying what I see everytime I watch his 15 mins of fame,,fair play to Davy he achieved something none of the Willow or any other ccfl players did(including benny McG),,no CCFL board members picking Ireland Junior team obviously!

bit harsh on benny, 15 mins of fame don`t think so, very bad shout! as for davy fair play to him, but ur the man that brought, people/organisations havin a shine for players nough said i do think!!

Lads,

Credit to Davy Donoghue on getting his Irish Junior Cap!!
    Great to see an Athlone Local been recognised on the International Stage!!

Maybe my next comment may sound harsh but it is not meant to be... i think there are better players around Athlone / CCFL that could or should be capped!!!

People have said to me that players that have played LOI cannot be capped at this level but this is untrue!! Stephen Yeates (ex Athlone to name one club he played for <RIP> was capped after playing LOI ) & Seamus Crowe (ex Galway and who also played with Wolves before been capped <still in the squads>)!!!

Let hope another good FAI Junior cup run for Willow / St Peters will mean more recognition for Locals!!!

Simplesimons,

Why could Tony O Sullivan not achieve anything with St.Peters?

Just as this has been mentioned a few times in different posts over the last few days!!

Foot.ie!

Regards Davy Donoghue..

Credit has to be given on Davy been capped at International Level!!
    Great to see a Local from Athlone been capped!!

My next comment might seem harsh but is not intended to be lads,
    there are better local players in Athlone at the moment in my opinion & lets hope they get a chance also in the next few years. (this is not a dig @ Davy in anyway).

Who was capped @ Garda? @ Irish Colleges?

I have been away working from Athlone for years & only back a few weeks so need some information!!

Thanks

Foot.ie!

Sorry for mentioning Davy on 2 posts!!

I lost my Internet Connection thus thought my 1st Post was lost!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Fr Damo View Post
    Heard crazy kids is booked out so guess we'll be seeing you all at the Willlow match!
    dont mind jibbing but a quote like that comon.Six is the age when we get them started at willow and it seems to be working best underage teams in the town bowds well for the future.u cant be living off just your ccfl side alone u have to be bringing home silverware from u10s right up to your senior teams thats what u call a sucessfull club in my eyes,but what would i know im only six!!!

I think the guards International was Mark sherlock..and think peters have a few colleges internationals..rushe,silke,alan kelly,Was not aware of that rule about players could play LOI football and get on Irish junior panal.Well done to davy.

dont mind jibbing but a quote like that comon.Six is the age when we get them started at willow and it seems to be working best underage teams in the town bowds well for the future.u cant be living off just your ccfl side alone u have to be bringing home silverware from u10s right up to your senior teams thats what u call a sucessfull club in my eyes,but what would i know im only six!!!
    Talking about underage i heard that willow and peters actually formed a team together between 85 and 87 but management fell out so it fell by the wayside.They reached the all ireland u14s finals in 86 but were beaten by cerry orcaird in extra time.Just to give the team a shout,b rafferty,i keirnan,g hegerty,c frawley,a mullally,t carberry(rip),c molone,f nugent,t o sullivan,d walters,v mullins,r parkes,h carolan,d dowling.Sorry if i left anyone out dont have all the facts.About my earlier post regarding davy,i was a bit harsh and didn't mean any badness by it,it was only a jib.Davy is a good lad and a good footballer.

just wonderin who won between willow and peters 2day could`nt make it down??

3-2 to willow afte extra time,peters had a man sent off at the start of extra time and were fecked

Hopefully we can put the whole willow/peters bickering behind us now and have a ccfl thread now!

on another note im sick of ****e referees who stand on the halfway line and cant be bothered to move there arse making decisions from there!theres some shocking referees out there, its a crime taking money of players after what we suffered today!

30 Posts
    Stephen Mullan sent off.
    Ref, and lino were an absolute digrace. I wouldnt let them referee a subetto game!

Even at one stage the ball went out for a throw ... ref looked at the lino, lino stood still, ref kept asking him which way, lino hadnt a clue and was waiting for the ref to call it before flagging. Took about 20 seconds of shoulder shrugging and tryin to see who shouted loudest before they made the decision ... and even at that they gave it the wrong way!!!

In other CCFL news ...
    Division 3B
    Monksland United B 2-2 Lawrencetown [Photos Here]
    Gentex 3-2 Moate Celtic

Premier Division ... Derry Rovers v Monksland United A posponed due to an outbreak of swineflu in Edenderry apparently!!!
    Last edited by Ash; 28/09/2009 at 12:38 PM.

Another Excellent Football Match between St Peters & Willow Park!!

Could have went either way but i thought overall that the better team won!!

Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast