Was wondering is the peters game on sunday against carrick in mccarthy park or is it being played in lissywollen as i will be goin to watch..
Peters will have one plyer suspended after the sending off against Westport I suppose.
Peters played Westport when they were holders (should have won that day) and therefore Pters can rightly assume they are in with a chance.
League games mounting up now however and altough willow are playing in the LJ Cup the gap looks daunting. No doubt the league will wait and play the peters willow game in April or May.
Was wondering is the peters game on sunday against carrick in mccarthy park or is it being played in lissywollen as i will be goin to watch..
Yeah peters game is on in mccarthy park at two o'clock i'm going myself, looking forward to it, its going to be a cracker. Would love to see them win apparently they are a suprise package according to the FAI website??? they have been in the last 32 for a number of seasons now, made the last 16 of FAI intermediate and 1st round of FAI senior cup, its gas combined counties teams get no credit? but sure thats life!! Best of luck to Willow tomorrow against AUL side, another cracker..
well done to Peters yesterday was at the match i thought peters were excellent it was a great match had everthin really ,,goals ,penos ,red cards was very impressed with carrick utd u can see why they won it last year midfield was very strong
I thought peters worked very hard great goal from sher and BC worked hard beside him.. and created a few chances ,i thought crocks was solid in midfield and 2 centre halfs were good..I think they can only go on from here anythin can happen now,home draw is what they want was excellent crowd at it just shows there is an interest in town for Football be great now if they quailifed for fai cup and got athlone town![]()
well lads as the season is coming to an end.league seems to be a 2 horse race.who do ye fancy to win it..plus the 2 cups athlone teams are favorites to win both but clara wont give up the counties easy...
Theres only 3 points in it now!! and Peters have a game in hand, its really starting to hot up. Personally i think peters have a bigger and better squad and they might have the edge but you never know. If they win there game in hand its all square, going into the second half of the league.
The best of luck to Peters in the FAI and best of luck to Willow in the LEINSTER cup, it seems to much for the league to say the best of luck... but sure thats the league for you.
Yeah best of luck to the two sides, and I have it with good Authority the league want both teams to do well. The Senior division co ordinator is in full contact witrh both secretaries and the respective cup managers in the FAI. Why wouldn't they want the teams to do well or what makes you think they don't? Do you want the CCFL commette to come down and pat you on the back. Get real.
First of all learn how to spell, second of all i have nothing to do with any club, lastly look at the AUL website, wishing their clubs well and raising the profile of their league. that's the problem with Combined Counties think small and be small. They should be making as much noise as possible trying to secure more airtime leading to more sponsorship, more teams and more players.. So do yourself a favour, you get real.
I am going easy on the committee, our friend from St Peters isn't being as PC!
He a good point though (not the personal stuff about my speeling - or should that be spelling??) and I don't think the second point is valid either!! but certainly if the CCFL have been as lax as he says in terms of their website they could do better than take on board the comments. Chris Hand is on Midlands R 3 on a Sunday doing a round up but perhaps the league could do more to promote it's self. It is after all one of the largest.
Any ideas??
Heard yer fella on the Radio yesterday, sounded good except for the horns blowing!!
Willow un lucky, anyone at the game? well done to Saint Peters, not a great game but a fantistic result. Last 4 of the FAI and FAI 1st round proper too!
Back to domestic scene this week some big games in biggest domestic cup The Counties Cup,, 4 teams booked there place last week..4 fixtures this week peters AT HOME TO ARLINGTON MELVILLE AND MULLINGAR ATH i will be goin to watch that 1..and willow away to stillary and clara at home to rochfortbridge i fancy the 3 athlone clubs to progress and clara any opinions and the outcomes..
A Few suprise results this weekend especially willow losing in the semi..Peters have 7 huge games comin up in 2 weeks first 1 started last night with a win against CK United away which is a tough place to go.. Clara 2moro night and then a important semi on sunday against birr on a terrible surface in mount temple and willow travel to mullingar town..Its lookin like a close run in for every competition.
congrats to Davie Donoghue who has been selected to travel to Sardinia with Gerry smith and the Irish Junior International Team. He travels this Monday for five days and two international matches.
Davie joined St Peters from Heatmerchants in the summer of 07 and he previously played for Athlone Town FC youths and U20s. Everybody @ St Peters wish David a safe and fruitful trip and look forward to his return next week in time for the 1st round of the FAI cup @ home to Bluebell United.
Peters have 2 of the most important weeks of their history with a Paddy Cotter Cup semi against Birr tomorrow in temple Villa, a tough game against Mullingar Ath next wed @7.30pm in Gainstown, the Bluebell game and then the FAI cup final in Tolka Park on May 3rd against Ballymun Utd @2.30.
Buses and travel arrangements will be announced shortly, keep up to date on www.stpetersathlone.com
Last edited by Fr Damo; 18/04/2009 at 3:12 PM.
Well done to Davie, its a brilliant achievement for a club with 2 teams. Delighted for the lad, he's a gentleman.
Fair play to the CCFL for all the exposure on their website, its amazing!!!!! what a joke? not even a mention for St Peters or Davie, they just surpass themselves every year. Take a look at the AUL website or the Tipperary website, theres such a difference its unreal. Would like to compliment st peters on there page and bebo page, its excellent. Any other team gonna step up? If the league cannot promote the game with all the success at the moment, they are missing a big opportunity, but then again whats new.....
SPCORP, you have a point there. Just checked the AUL website. They have asked all clubs to go to the final wearing tracksiuts to boast the attendance and show unity for their fellow league member (ballymun).
Will St Peters bring many to the final or are there any other teams on here interested in going? I am assuming the CCFL have lrft that week end free so clubs can attend?
Congrats to David and St peters, it is such an honour, don't under estimate the achievement of playing for your country. (a seperate issue but isn't Stephan Ireland a dope!)
i think peters will bring about 400, killester when they played there fai final had over 4,000 there, so i think peters will be out numbered. The AUL is a credit and what all league's should aspire to, unfortunately our lads are very very foolish in there approach.
Delighted for the lad, he's a great guy. Big honour for him and his team mates. Wouldn't ya think they would be singing it from the rooftops??
Ireland's a clown!!
With a little luck hopefully St Peters can perform and lift the trophy... Best of luck to the team and everyone associated with the club