Thread: Stadium

Stadium

Lads just out curiosity...where are ye playing your home european games??? The showgrounds hardly are up to current European standards????

No-one seems to know yet.

Could be the Showgrounds, but the Flansiro and Terryland have been mentioned.

Apart from improving the Jinks Avenue stand. What exactly would need to be done for the Showgrounds to be up to standard ?
    Coleman for Ireland

Jinks wouldn't need much done. Just a spring cleaning and a few new seats. It's the two ends that aren't up to stndards.

I love the title of this thread.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Jinks wouldn't need much done. Just a spring cleaning and a few new seats. It's the two ends that aren't up to stndards.
    Indeed. Temporary seating could be installed either end. Not a huge problem I wouldn't think.

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Apart from improving the Jinks Avenue stand. What exactly would need to be done for the Showgrounds to be up to standard ?
    the lights on the jinks side are not euro standerd but the lights on the treacy side are.

There's not a hope in Hell of the Jinks passing. The seating is dangerous in the extreme.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Its more to do with little things like power of floodlights and access to hospitals and stuff like that. The amount of seats you have means nothing. We played the first two rounds in Richmond last year with 3,000 capacity

177 Posts
    Id say the seats are the least of our worries. The health and safety boys would be more concerned that you have to walk on gravel everywhere in the ground. If the council get the tarmacadam down in the car park and that, it would make a big difference.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    . If the council get the tarmacadam down in the car park and that, it would make a big difference.
    why should the council do it?

177 Posts
    Thought there was an agreement for the car park be re-surfaced and that they would take charge of it for a few years
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

366 Posts
    The rules are more flexible for the qualifying rounds than the actual first and second rounds etc etc. Don't think the Showgrounds should have any major problems hosting the first qualifying round.

Smile showgrounds

the corporation (not the co. council) have agreed to tarmacadam from the entrance at the all weather pitch up to the new office(i think i'm correct in my assumption) this is the agreement as part of the new public car park at the showgrounds. it should have started last week but is definately going ahead. this would improve the appearance greatly. the next move would be to tarmacadam from the paying gate up to and behind the new stand. this would cost a lot of money. hopefully the whole thing will start in the new year

Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    the lights on the jinks side are not euro standerd but the lights on the treacy side are.
    so don't turn on the lights on the jinks avenue side....what's the issue?
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

lads I was in the stadium to-day work has started on the tar mac.
    clubs have to have 3000 permanant seats ,this is one condition that i know of

the next move would be to tarmacadam from the paying gate up to and behind the new stand. this would cost a lot of money
    Brilliant if it happens. Dodging puddles is one of my least favourite things about the Showgrounds.

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    so don't turn on the lights on the jinks avenue side....what's the issue?
    even with the 2 lights on and the jinks side not,it is still pretty dark.

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    the corporation (not the co. council) have agreed to tarmacadam from the entrance at the all weather pitch up to the new office(i think i'm correct in my assumption) this is the agreement as part of the new public car park at the showgrounds. it should have started last week but is definately going ahead. this would improve the appearance greatly. the next move would be to tarmacadam from the paying gate up to and behind the new stand. this would cost a lot of money. hopefully the whole thing will start in the new year
    Amazing!! We get far more information from yourself, than from the 15 or so Management comittee members. Fair play.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Sure wouldn't we fill Thomond Park, now that UEFA have passed it!!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!