Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Interesting Drogheda News

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    you reall are an insulting ******* .Drogheda fans know exactly whats going on ! wether they all agree or not is a different issue .People are coming on here saying get rid of the present chairman etc with no clue whats going on behind the scenes or what was said at the meeting the other night .Were you there ? How do you know what the fans and club agreed the other night ? you dont .There were things discussed with supporters both publicly and privately that you havent a clue about .So give up your little petty witch hunt and get a life . Jesus Dundalk fans are coming on here wishing us the best with things ( fair play to them ) so why cant the rest of you give it a break .
    You are totally missing point myself and PS ae trying to tell you,whats the point in being nicey nicey saying "best of luck" "I hope you get through it" when in my opinion (having watched my club be in this exact situation a few years ago) you as a club are going the wrong way about it.But sure what do fans of pretty much the safest clubs in Ireland know about it,you go and stick your head in the sand with all your mates and the man who got you into this and throw your money away-Sure its all the NRA`s fault isn`t it?

Yeah obviously I wasn`t at the meeting but reading through your forums its blatently obvious that there was no survival plan drawn up -just a load of generous and passionate people pledging money and saying how they`ll die happier beacuase they won a cup or 2??????Hardly stuff to make you think you DUFC have sorted their problems out.

For the record I hope you do survive but I wish more of your fans would just wake up and smell the coffee before its too late-Listen to Drogman N drog
    Last edited by srfc-1901; 05/12/2008 at 2:39 PM.

100 Posts
    I also think the money raised is now going down a black hole, and that it would have been better served funding AFC Drogheda in the A League rather than paying the examiner.
    I'd agree with this. If DUFC do go under and take the €100,000 in donations with them, it'll be very hard to go around with the cap in hand again to raise money for a new club.

Oh and I prefer my FC United of Drogheda instead of your AFC Drogheda by the way..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

3,488 Posts
    That's what the Newton Heath faction get for splitting their vote.

Quote Originally Posted by srfc-1901 View Post
    You are totally missing point myself and PS ae trying to tell you,whats the point in being nicey nicey saying "best of luck" "I hope you get through it" when in my opinion (having watched my club be in this exact situation a few years ago) you as a club are going the wrong way about it.But sure what do fans of pretty much the safest clubs in Ireland know about it,you go and stick your head in the sand with all your mates and the man who got you into this and throw your money away-Sure its all the NRA`s fault isn`t it?

Yeah obviously I wasn`t at the meeting but reading through your forums its blatently obvious that there was no survival plan drawn up -just a load of generous and passionate people pledging money and saying how they`ll die happier beacuase they won a cup or 2??????Hardly stuff to make you think you DUFC have sorted their problems out.

For the record I hope you do survive but I wish more of your fans would just wake up and smell the coffee before its too late-Listen to Drogman N drog
    Im not missing any point my self righteous friend .I know exactly what is going on as im very close to the situation and am hearing constant information from all sides .So just let us get on with things in Drogheda , if we go tits up you and your ucd bud can sit there and gloat in all the told you so crap you like

Well, I won`t .Best of luck with it though

958 Posts
    nDrog what Stu et al are saying does make sense, in particular the apparent lack of a business plan to present to the courts. I dont think that there is gloating per sé, though clubs who run their affairs in a responsible manner and subsequently suffer as a result you may expect their fans to point out the folly and down right unfairness of the situation!! 'Twill happen again with Bohs and maybe Pats. No right minded supporter wants to see other clubs in trouble but you cannot deny that that questions were being asked of Shels and eventually they hit the rocks, same questions were asked of Drogheda and history repeats itself, questions being asked about other clubs....the trend will continue and as fans we can ask the tough questions - what it seems to the outsider is that all is forgiven for V Hoey cause sure he meant well which is the ostrich syndrome that got you in this mess. The people who neglected to fulfill their obligations to at least the revenue should be run out of Drogheda all sentiment aside. Now reality is that ironically V. Hoey is probably one of the few people can pull off the saving of Drogheda(due to Drog fans blind faith maybe) but take off the rose tinted specs and turn off the defensiveness - Drogman is much more balanced in his commentary and that is what is needed for there to be any hope.

On a more positive note Dundalk have offered to play annual Malone Cup at no cost and in United park with Drogheda keeping the gate. Worth a few thousand yoyos

I understand where you're coming from lads, and up until this week I was of the same views as regards the future of the club.

However, I have spoken and seen what is planned once the examinership hurdle is overcome. I have now seen what has been budgeted for next season depending on what division we are in. I can tell you now that even if we manage to stay in the Premier next season, the budget will be extremely modest. There are a number of deals in the background which will benefit the club hugely once we get through this.

The stadium issue is gone. This is not on the agenda and will not be presented to the judge as a basis for survival.

Already the club, upon the supporters request, have relaunched their 500 club that was setup. Now I don't really understand why people want to join now and not before, but there you go! So there's the option of money coming in yearly or on a monthly basis.

Also their new Platinum/Gold/Silver donation scheme which if someone signs up to will receive a season ticket for the following season or for 2 seasons depending on what is selected.

Add in, sponsorship (which is already there) as well as potential new sponsorship and also the support of the new supporters group, DUISC, hopefully will convince the judge that it's worth a go keeping us afloat.

Make no mistake about it, I'm still not happy with the way the club was left in this sh*t, however now is the time to save the club and once thats achieved then the re-structuring operation can begin.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

Question

Why the big clamour to save the club??

Surely if you can raise 200k it would be put to better use setting up a new club for the people of Drogheda than as a partial bail out for the clown that got you in trouble in the first place??

Let the club die. Form another one.

We do it all the time.

By the by a DUISC or whatever it's called will struggle to raise large sums of cash.

Also, what makes any of you think you can get 500 people??

958 Posts
    By the by a DUISC or whatever it's called will struggle to raise large sums of cash.

Also, what makes any of you think you can get 500 people??
    Begrudging self righteous miserable pessimistic fcuker....in fairness Dundalks co-op only sold bout 900 shares in the end i think...was enough at the time but far short of target so lot of hard selling to be done. DUISC is proactive and should be lauded
    Last edited by Nesta99; 05/12/2008 at 6:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Begrudging self righteous miserable pessimistic fcuker
    Thought I had stumbled back on to the Limerick forum there for a second

DUISC is proactive and should be lauded
    Never said it shouldn't be.

If they think they are going to have the money to run a football club they're wrong though

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    nDrog what Stu et al are saying does make sense, in particular the apparent lack of a business plan to present to the courts. I dont think that there is gloating per sé, though clubs who run their affairs in a responsible manner and subsequently suffer as a result you may expect their fans to point out the folly and down right unfairness of the situation!! 'Twill happen again with Bohs and maybe Pats. No right minded supporter wants to see other clubs in trouble but you cannot deny that that questions were being asked of Shels and eventually they hit the rocks, same questions were asked of Drogheda and history repeats itself, questions being asked about other clubs....the trend will continue and as fans we can ask the tough questions - what it seems to the outsider is that all is forgiven for V Hoey cause sure he meant well which is the ostrich syndrome that got you in this mess. The people who neglected to fulfill their obligations to at least the revenue should be run out of Drogheda all sentiment aside. Now reality is that ironically V. Hoey is probably one of the few people can pull off the saving of Drogheda(due to Drog fans blind faith maybe) but take off the rose tinted specs and turn off the defensiveness - Drogman is much more balanced in his commentary and that is what is needed for there to be any hope.

On a more positive note Dundalk have offered to play annual Malone Cup at no cost and in United park with Drogheda keeping the gate. Worth a few thousand yoyos
    Nothing stu says will ever be taken as anything but sour grapes as he would love to see us extinct .And what do you know about our " apparent lack of a business plan " .i cant speak for Drogs supporters as a whole but i gauruntee you there is no ostrich syndrome in drogheda and lots of people will not forgive those responsible for getting us into this mess . No blind faith or rose tinted glasses etc etc .I know how much **** we are in , im after hearing some stuff today that makes it even worse , but you lot continue to sit in judgement .Enjoy yourselves .

Oh diddums

Aside from giving a clown lots of peoples hard earned cash and having a whinge on here what exactly is the plan

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I'd agree with this. If DUFC do go under and take the €100,000 in donations with them, it'll be very hard to go around with the cap in hand again to raise money for a new club.
    If the €100k is not enough to save the club then it reverts to the supporters club. Vincent Hoey has access to, in trust, if it only means a deal can be struck to save the club.
    No deal = revenue and the other creditors get nothing and the supporters club have €100k for Drogheda Mark 2.
    Vincent Hoey is the biggest Drogs fan ever - you need to know him to appreciate that. Its all about keeping football in the town now not him or the millions he's lost over the years.

Oh -and he has paid the examiner up front himself.

And for our Uni financed berethern - I'd prefer for us to go belly up and start supporting Dundalk than be anywhere near your makey uppy bitter joke of a club.
    And you Limerick fans - remember when that priest (can't remember his name) went around doors in Limerick with Sam Allerdyce to get money to pay the players - that's what we've got. Pure passion.
    Last edited by Celdrog; 05/12/2008 at 8:24 PM.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    If the €100k is not enough to save the club then it reverts to the supporters club. Vincent Hoey has access to, in trust, if it only means a deal can be struck to save the club.
    No deal = revenue and the other creditors get nothing and the supporters club have €100k for Drogheda Mark 2.
    Vincent Hoey is the biggest Drogs fan ever - you need to know him to appreciate that. Its all about keeping football in the town now not him or the millions he's lost over the years.

And for our Uni financed berethern - I'd prefer for us to go belly up and start supporting Dundalk than be anywhere near your makey uppy bitter joke of a club.
    And you Limerick fans - remember when that priest (can't remember his name) went around doors in Limerick with Sam Allerdyce to get money to pay the players - that's what we've got. Pure passion.
    I no account do i want to get involved but i think you will find he is still owed a lot a money.

Vincent Hoey is the biggest Drogs fan ever - you need to know him to appreciate that. .
    He has brought the club to its knees and then to its belly.

Its all about keeping football in the town now not him or the millions he's lost over the years.
    Which begs the questions:

Why the big clamour to save the club??

Surely if you can raise 200k it would be put to better use setting up a new club for the people of Drogheda than as a partial bail out for the clown that got you in trouble in the first place??

Paid the examiner what??

Well, considering Drogs status before and after (if your're very, very lucky) they started spending millions upon millions they didn't have some people could argue Drogs are a "makey uppy joke of a club."

I'm not saying either way but the argument could be made.............

And you Limerick fans - remember when that priest (can't remember his name) went around doors in Limerick with Sam Allerdyce to get money to pay the players - that's what we've got. Pure passion
    The priest.

Lot's of similarities in that analogy - but now how you think.

The priest.
    Lot's of similarities in that analogy - but now how you think.
    I speak as a knowedgeable LOI fan - what do you speak as?
    Do you not know your history?
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Do you not know your history?
    You don't even know your present and you're questioning me about Limericks history?!?!

Still didn't anwer the question, I see - do you not know?

125 Posts

Celdrog surely Mr Hoey can afford a million to clear the clubs debts and start the club on a level footing for next season. Surely if he "loves Drogheda" that much one more million wouldn't kill him. I think that would be the right thing to do.
    Long Live King Kenny

100 Posts
    That's good to know at least..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast