Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Interesting Drogheda News

Quote Originally Posted by Drogman. View Post
    Vincent has confirmed that his aim is to save the club and if that happens then he will hand the reigns over to someone else. The new Supporters club, DUISC, have already laid out what aims and objectives they have and what is expected if the club survives.
    I know if Arkaga had continued to run CCFC it would have been very difficult to get fans to contribute to the Supporters Trust.

To an outsider like me Hoey is face of DUFC & he doesn't impress. Seems to have taken far too long to get to this weeks meeting situation & talk of outside investors sounds hollow.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I know if Arkaga had continued to run CCFC it would have been very difficult to get fans to contribute to the Supporters Trust.

To an outsider like me Hoey is face of DUFC & he doesn't impress. Seems to have taken far too long to get to this weeks meeting situation & talk of outside investors sounds hollow.
    Shame you weren't at the meeting then. I think you might have changed your mind about Hoey not impressing. I know all the dissenters before the meeting had changed their minds by the end and they can't all be wrong.

I expect the club to possibly be in the First Division, at this stage if that happens I'll be a happy man.
    If the Drogs dont get a Premier Licence it will be because of their financial position. This is also the very reason why they wouldnt get a First Division Licence.

The question of stadia can be sorted by groundshare.

Its sad to say, but the next stop for Drogs is the A Championship if a miracle doesnt happen first.

Quote Originally Posted by Kildareman View Post
    If the Drogs dont get a Premier Licence it will be because of their financial position. This is also the very reason why they wouldnt get a First Division Licence.

The question of stadia can be sorted by groundshare.

Its sad to say, but the next stop for Drogs is the A Championship if a miracle doesnt happen first.
    So what if its the A championship that we end up in? At least we'll have a football club which the fans can be involved in and take it back up to the First and Premier leagues.

Once there's a football club there in a months time, I don't care what league we're in!
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post

How did he impress?Going on about the stadium etc,pleading with fans to donate?

The only way DUFC will survive is if the judge believes DUFC can function in future- Hoey getting a load of fans to contribute once off payments aint much of a business plan and no judge in the counrty would be impressed,the reason the judge allowed us to continue is because we proved we could survive and prosper in the future because we had proper business plans,regular contributions from the 400 club, a new board took over from the other shower and they could see where they went wrong etc.
    The fact that Hoey is blaming the stadium and not his reckless spending makes me think that he`d do it all again if he could,and then we`ll be back to square one.I`ll say it again take your head out of the sand lads,its pretty much like Ridsdale asking Leeds fans for donations after he went on a reckless spending spree-Who in their right mind would have given him money-who in their right mind would contribute to DUFC while the man who got them into this mess is the man asking for it????????

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kildareman View Post
    I often wondered how Shelbourne managed to get a first division licence the year their finances were a mess.. Surely the rules which deemed that they weren't financially sound enough for the premier division would be the same rules in place for the first division...?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by srfc-1901 View Post
    How did he impress?Going on about the stadium etc,pleading with fans to donate?

The only way DUFC will survive is if the judge believes DUFC can function in future- Hoey getting a load of fans to contribute once off payments aint much of a business plan and no judge in the counrty would be impressed,the reason the judge allowed us to continue is because we proved we could survive and prosper in the future because we had proper business plans,regular contributions from the 400 club, a new board took over from the other shower and they could see where they went wrong etc.
    The fact that Hoey is blaming the stadium and not his reckless spending makes me think that he`d do it all again if he could,and then we`ll be back to square one.I`ll say it again take your head out of the sand lads,its pretty much like Ridsdale asking Leeds fans for donations after he went on a reckless spending spree-Who in their right mind would have given him money-who in their right mind would contribute to DUFC while the man who got them into this mess is the man asking for it????????

Like I said, I know what you mean, but would you be prepared to watch Shamrock Rovers die just so you can get one up on the board?

I want DUFC to continue on. As I stated before, some of these payments are once off yes, however after last nights meeting there was an massive push to get the 500 club going again. At the moment that's being put together so that will contribute to the running of the club going forward. The new supporters club DUISC, which I am secretary of, have stated that one of our aims is to raise funds so that it will contribute to the financing of the club. We have good people in this group now and the rest of the support base are behind us.

This is not anything like Risdale of Leeds or whatever other comparison you can come up with.

Mistakes were made, I know that and a lot of fans are not happy about them, however we've wiped the slate clean and starting afresh.

Hoey won't be at the club next year other than being a fellow supporter. Whoever the new board is, they will be well briefed on what supporters expect from the club in the future.

100 Posts
    I seen the photos of the meeting on the official club website earlier. It looked like an impressive turnout alright. If I remember correctly, it said that €30,000 was collected last night. If that is right then there is hope yet!
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

809 Posts
    This is not anything like Risdale of Leeds...
    Seriously?
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Like I said, I know what you mean, but would you be prepared to watch Shamrock Rovers die just so you can get one up on the board?

I want DUFC to continue on. As I stated before, some of these payments are once off yes, however after last nights meeting there was an massive push to get the 500 club going again. At the moment that's being put together so that will contribute to the running of the club going forward. The new supporters club DUISC, which I am secretary of, have stated that one of our aims is to raise funds so that it will contribute to the financing of the club. We have good people in this group now and the rest of the support base are behind us.

This is not anything like Risdale of Leeds or whatever other comparison you can come up with.

Mistakes were made, I know that and a lot of fans are not happy about them, however we've wiped the slate clean and starting afresh.

Hoey won't be at the club next year other than being a fellow supporter. Whoever the new board is, they will be well briefed on what supporters expect from the club in the future.

Sorry I was supposed to be quoting Horus about how the man who brought this all on "impressed" at the meeting, although I dont see how its not like Leeds- to me its the exact same,just that the number are far smaller and a stadium issue thrown in so people will have sympathy to Hoey.Best of luck with the 500 club.Whats your realistic chances of being able to get enough people to commit?
    Last edited by srfc-1901; 04/12/2008 at 10:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Surely the rules which deemed that they weren't financially sound enough for the premier division would be the same rules in place for the first division...?
    What rule was that ?
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

I seen the photos of the meeting on the official club website earlier. It looked like an impressive turnout alright. If I remember correctly, it said that €30,000 was collected last night. If that is right then there is hope yet!

PLedged ...€30,000 Pledged.About 6k collect

This baffles me .What point/use is this 100k,surely in 3 weeks time they'd still have to find 200k+ to pay the examiner,another 150k to pay their creditors and another 250k for players.Thats not even taking into account costs they'll have between now and the season start.And all this with the same guy that screwed them up in the first place STILL in charge.Madness
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

I feel that was a big part of CCFC survival. New owner willing to come in & proper Supporters Trust structure in place with hundreds of members which had already proven could contribute money (granted some sums relative to debt) on weekly basis. It is hard to see at this stage judge agreeing to write off a large Revenue debt when owners remain in place...

3,475 Posts
    The only way DUFC will survive is if the judge believes DUFC can function in future- Hoey getting a load of fans to contribute once off payments aint much of a business plan and no judge in the counrty would be impressed
    That's the way I see it too. Pledges, auctions, etc are all very good, but they're far more suited to a club in, say, Sligo's mid-season predicament. Once you've gone into examinership, you need a plan to get out of it. The money being donated is just dead money I think (Hoey's nonsensical assertion that it's refundable aside). In order for Drogheda to survive, Hoey will have to be forced out and a new board - a Supporters' Trust, if no-one else is willing - will have to take over. Pledging money is admirable, don't get me wrong, but it's way too late for that.

Surely the rules which deemed that they weren't financially sound enough for the premier division would be the same rules in place for the first division...?
    In fairness, licencing should never be used to kick a team out of the league entirely. Shels were relegated as far as possible; I think that's fair enough.

Like but would you be prepared to watch Shamrock Rovers die just so you can get one up on the board?
    Rovers fans boycotted Tolka in the late 80s/early 90s, bringing the club almost to its knees to get rid of Kilcoyne. The 500 Club later cut off funding to Maguire and took a big risk in forcing it into examinership just to get rid of him. So, yes, Rovers fans pushed their club to the limits of its existence to get rid of extremely corrupt/incompetent board members and make the club stronger going forward (couching that in the phrase "just so you can get one up on the board", in my opinion, shows how Drogheda fans dont have a grasp of what's going on at all).

I know what you're saying, however with all due respect there's a lot more info behind the scenes that can't be revealed until a later date. The meeting the other night explained the seriousness of this situation.

As I've said before, Vincent will be stepping down. All he wants is to help save the club and then have someone else take over the running.

BTW, Rovers were hardly getting massive crowds before Kilcoyne walked. Its commonly known that the figures for crowds were always exaggerated with the exception of a couple of games.

3,475 Posts
    I know what you're saying, however with all due respect there's a lot more info behind the scenes that can't be revealed until a later date.
    While I can't really doubt you on that, having no evidence either way myself, I've heard that story many times before. There's always an investor or some other get-out clause lurking somewhere. Shels went through about four or five of them. Even Dublin City used that line, I think. They almost always come to naught.

BTW, Rovers were hardly getting massive crowds before Kilcoyne walked. Its commonly known that the figures for crowds were always exaggerated with the exception of a couple of games.
    Agree more people say they went to Rovers games than did go to them, but there were still protests outside Tolka by people who would refuse to go in and pay money to the board, and the 500 Club did cut off financial support for Maguire, a move which ultimately helped force the club into examinership and Maguire out.

you reall are an insulting ******* .Drogheda fans know exactly whats going on ! wether they all agree or not is a different issue .People are coming on here saying get rid of the present chairman etc with no clue whats going on behind the scenes or what was said at the meeting the other night .Were you there ? How do you know what the fans and club agreed the other night ? you dont .There were things discussed with supporters both publicly and privately that you havent a clue about .So give up your little petty witch hunt and get a life . Jesus Dundalk fans are coming on here wishing us the best with things ( fair play to them ) so why cant the rest of you give it a break .

3,475 Posts
    I do wish you the best. However, I'd rather you went on a different track to your current tack, which everyone bar Drogheda fans can see is almost certain to end in doom.

I do wish you the best. However, I'd rather you went on a different track to your current tack,

how would you solve Drogs' problems Stu?

3,475 Posts
    It's been mentioned here and on other threads a few times.

They're up in front of court this day week. At that stage, the judge is going to need evidence that the company can continue in a sustainable format. Rovers and Cork survived this because the incumbents, who'd gotten them into trouble in the first place (Maguire and Arkaga respectively) had been forced out or resigned, and because Supporters' Trusts (plus a benefactor) presented a new business model. If the examiner goes to the judge and asks the company to be let continue as before, with the same owners and still looking to build the new ground, that simply won't happen. It seems to me the only way for Drogheda to continue is to have a complete change of ownership. Instead, the fans are rallying around the people who have gotten them into this mess in the first place.

Going to the judge and saying "We raised E100k" doesn't show a sustainable future going forward, which is why I think that's an exercise in futility (especially when everyone's ignoring the examiner's comments that actually they need E500k). It was grand for Sligo, when the money just paid off the creditors and everything was back to relatively hunky dorey; it's not OK for Drogheda.

What can they do? I think it's now too late to save the club. People noted to them ages ago that they should set up a Supporters' Trust with the aim of taking over control of the club on a sustainable basis should it exit examinership; I can't see how this will happen in the next week. I also think the money raised is now going down a black hole, and that it would have been better served funding AFC Drogheda in the A League rather than paying the examiner.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast