Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Obama

522 Posts

Obama

Continuation from the Presidential Election thread.

33 Posts
    Has the breed, sex and name of dog being chosen yet?
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Has the breed, sex and name of dog being chosen yet?
    Alaskan, Female, Sarah.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

well what do we think, is it going to be big change or is it like usual just a whole lot of fanfare and a lot of hot air....

i know he has to face a different economic environment than recent presidents but i can't help thinking that it will be the same old tosh from this guy.

i saw this on sky movies recently and thought it all seemed very, very familiar

He is certainly constructing one of the more interesting cabinets of recent times with many former political rivals signed up.

Whether Obama has the answers or not doesn't really matter. The world economy needs a confidence boost so as soon as incumbent is gone the better.

522 Posts
    Great cartoon!

Just spotting the thread title there inspired a little wry observation.

Assume for a moment that you are a white supremacist from Colorado and speak with a broad drawwwwwwl. You therefore pronounce 'Obama' as 'Ohh-baaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh-mah'. Next, recite in character the line that follows.

"My country has such a proud history of white presidents, but with the election of a black man to the office of President our once-great nation has become a terrifying Obama-nation."

The rest of us meanwhile wonder if his election can, somewhat ironically, make the US less of an abomination.

Illinois Governor selling Obamas US Senate seat. Obama calls on him to quit. Click. Bizarre story when you consider the Governor knew he was being investigated. I wonder did his sales pitch include reminders that last 'owner' is now President

FBI investigators said telephone intercepts showed that Mr Blagojevich had been offered campaign cash by a man who was interested in taking the seat.

Federal agents quoted by ABC News named Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr as the man who offered Mr Blagojevich the money.

In transcripts of telephone conversations released by the FBI on Tuesday, Mr Blagojevich is quoted saying that a man referred to by officials as Senate Candidate 5 would "raise me 500 grand. An emissary came. Then the other guy would raise a million, if I made him a Senator".
    Chicago seems to have history of high profile political corruption or else they just investigate more than others.

Lucky we don't have corruption in Ireland

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Anyone listening to or watching his inauguration speech?
    He's an impressive man, but can he save the world?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

230 Posts
    Tremendous and powerful speech. "To the Muslim world, we seek a new way forward, based on mutual interest and mutual respect. To those leaders around the globe who seek to sow conflict, or blame their society's ills on the West — know that your people will judge you on what you can build, not what you destroy. To those who cling to power through corruption and deceit and the silencing of dissent, know that you are on the wrong side of history; but that we will extend a hand if you are willing to unclench your fist".
    Last edited by strangeirish; 20/01/2009 at 4:33 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

3,491 Posts
    Call me a cynic, but words are cheap.

230 Posts
    pineapple stu is a cynic. Now, there you go.

Not meant to be cynical but words will soon be forgotten unless he can save the world. Expectations are far too high for him so will be interesting to see the reaction when he has to start making really tough decisions. One of the most difficult times ever to start as President.

Americans really love the pomp & ceremony.

Biden will be fun though as he will be good for Bush-esque gaffs.

not much else you can do in a speech though. Actions are harder unless he does some break dancing.
    In Trap we trust

A huge part of politics is inspiring people. He's done that better than any politician I've seen. He's tooled himself with some of the most highly regarded US politicians and they'll make sure he makes the right decisions. Can Obama save the world?

Yes he can!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    not much else you can do in a speech though.
    Absolutely. Which is why I won't pay it too much heed.

I like him, but he's already saying things like "America won't change its ways" (think that, or something very similar, was in his speech) and saying that an election promise to close Guantanemo immediately now isn't possible. Leads me to think it'll be a more likeable guy in the White House doing fairly similar things.

446 Posts
    Good luck, Barack Hussein.
    And 'God speed'.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    He's tooled himself with some of the most highly regarded US politicians and they'll make sure he makes the right decisions. Can Obama save the world?

Yes he can!
    Brian Cowen has done the opposite he has appointed tools to make sure he makes all the wrong decisions

What Mantras are we saddled with at the moment?

"No we bloody well can't" and "Jaysus, we better not"
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Michelle's a looker

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast