Thread: Bohs fans set off fireworks

Bohs fans set off fireworks

Before the end of the game, soon after Crowe scored, 2 or 3 fireworks came out of the Jodi Stand.

I think fireworks, flares, smoke etc. are the job BUT from what I keep hearing from CCFC, Bohs should be fined €500 by the FAI.

Will they be?

I doubt it.

To be fair, it was one incident with fireworks inside Dalymount Park on Halloween night. I cannot think of any reason why Bohs should be fined.

On a slightly different note, How many eircom league clubs have kid free pitches at half time and full time ???

Course they SHOULD be fined.Fireworks are illegal in ireland never mind in football grounds.This happens all the time.

But who cares a bit of fun on halloween night.Stop taking everything so seriously
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

I understand it was probably just some muppet, fair enough, but rules are rules, and they only seem to be enforced at CCFC.

Bohs is defintely the nicest ground in Dublin to go to. Fair play to the fans who volunteer as stewards. Well run operation.

It was also nice to see to hear the game was being put back to allow our bus get to the game on time. Traffic and accidents on the was up meant it took 6 hours.

BTW Cork City have kid free pitches ALWAYS.

I thought the stewarding was excellent last night, very friendly and refreshing to see a common sense approach, not the "heavy bodybuilder" kind of sh*te.
    I saw no Gardai at all at Dalyer.
    Am I correct about this?

I asked one of the stewards what that plastic orange net mesh thing nest to the pitch side wall was. Apparantly it's an anti pitch invasion device type thing.

Strange, yet true
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Originally posted by Ruairi
    I asked one of the stewards what that plastic orange net mesh thing nest to the pitch side wall was. Apparantly it's an anti pitch invasion device type thing.

Strange, yet true
    They use them in lansdowne aswell
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Exclamation .................................

Originally posted by Bosco
    They use them in lansdowne aswell
    How does it work ... I am curious about the whole logic of it. How does it prevent people scale the barrier and getting onto the pitch. Surely they can think it will dazzle people, thus preventing an invasion.

Dunno about last night, but when we've played Bohs in Dalymount earlier this year, just coming up to half-time and full-time, the stewards hold the orange mesh thingy up so there's a 5'-6' barrier for would be pitch-invaders.

I think the basic principle is "If it stops people falling into roadworks, it'll stop people going onto football pitches."
    Revenge for 2002

Exclamation ...........................................

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
    I think the basic principle is "If it stops people falling into roadworks, it'll stop people going onto football pitches."
    That is lame ... it might be Bohs trying to be seen to do something about pitch invasions but in practice in would fail. It does look and feel like a building site though.

Is to stop pitch invaders and apparently works.*
    *from Bohs source

Originally posted by bohs til i die
    To be fair, it was one incident with fireworks inside Dalymount Park on Halloween night. I cannot think of any reason why Bohs should be fined.

On a slightly different note, How many eircom league clubs have kid free pitches at half time and full time ???
    I can think of a reason- they're illegal AND against eL rules. Kid-free pitches are the rule also, yet City seem to be the only club who enforce these rules. Typical FAI crap- make a rule and then ignore it. These rules are there for eveeryone and should be obeyed as such.

Relax, although the kids are annoying, what REAL harm are they doing? Have you nohting more important to be complaining about?

Fireworks for me is a total no-no by the way. flares; grand, fireworks, no thanks

Originally posted by Dodge
    Have you nohting more important to be complaining about?
    No. Life is good
    Its not just that the kids are annoying, its the fact that the rules are being broken. Whether you agree with a rule or not, it has to be implemented. If you don't like it, try and change it, but once its there it should be enforced. As for fireworks- agree. definite no-no. No problem with flares IMO, but again, rules.........

There's bigger rules that aren't implemented that are of far bigger concern..... For example the requirement for Premier clubs to have 1500 covered seats - Drogs and UCD have both been breaking this for years with no work even going on the rectify it (UCD have this season announced a new stand, but this has been a rule for years)...

Exactly every club in th country is breaking a some rule or other. Not being to stop kids on the pitch at the end of a game is such a piddly little rule compared to most

BTW Bohs system definitely works

i wouldn't discount the pitch invasions rule so quickly. i would imagine that there are health and safety issues at stake here which might impact on clubs insurance/public liability policies and if anything were to happen they could be in a spot of bother

Originally posted by joe
    i wouldn't discount the pitch invasions rule so quickly. i would imagine that there are health and safety issues at stake here which might impact on clubs insurance/public liability policies and if anything were to happen they could be in a spot of bother
    yeah but what if a certain club played a season without insurance...

[SIZE=1]You can guess but I'll never tell [/SIZE]

That's the main problem with the league IMO - there are rules there that aren't enforced AND which the authorities ignore unless they are forced into action.
    Rules are rules.

Originally posted by niamh
    Rules are rules.
    Sound like Ollie. (only when it suits him though)

A complete overhaul of the rule book is needed. Get rid of the junior league stuff, and act like a professional league and we should be OK.