maybe 2500 altogether in Jodi Stand
    other sides empty

down 1 nil glen crow
    soccer isn't a matter of life or death its more important than that!!!

lost one nil
    soccer isn't a matter of life or death its more important than that!!!

FT 1-0
    Crowe 81mins.
    City apparently deserved a point.
    Officials poor.
    Bohs looked tired.

Originally posted by niamh
    FT 1-0
    Crowe 81mins.
    City apparently deserved a point.
    Officials poor.
    Bohs looked tired.
    I thought the ref did very well, except for not giving a peno for a foul on Doyle. The linesman on the Jodi side was pathetic though. He failed to flag for a throw when the ball was 2 feet (no exageration) over the touchline. Rutherford kicked it on. Crowe scored.

Dan Murray, Kearney, Doyle and George were excellent.
    CT, Hoggie, Woods and Greg good
    Others poor I thought

Nwánkwo and Behan came on with about 2 to go.

Terrible support from Bohs crowd. Only about 2,000 at most there. And no noise at all.

what was the team and y the fcuk does dolan bring people on so late in the game the game is over by the time they get into the game

eleven-a-side.com

Late Crowe strike keeps Bohs rolling

Bohemians 1-0 Cork City
    A goal from Glen Crowe nine minutes from time gave Bohemians victory over third-placed Cork City in an insipid encounter at Dalymount Park on Friday night, and help move the champions to within two points of leaders Shelbourne.

Shels can re-open the gap withc a victory in Longford this evening, but Bohs are at least piling on the pressure on the current leaders, and ensuring that the Drumcondra side will have to be at their best to maintain their grip on the title race.

With Hallowe’en fireworks lighting up the night sky over Dalymount, the attentions of the crowd will have been distracted on several occasions, for there was often little going on on the pitch to hold the gaze.

The importance of the game far outweighed its level of excitement, however, and Bohs will not worry that there was little in the way of excitement on this occasion.

Three points were paramount. And as so often, Crowe was the man to provide them with his 81st minute winner, his 16th goal of the season.

Substitute Mark Rutherford played a key part in the goal. His eager chasing prevented a ball from crossing the line; he fed striker Paul Keegan, whose cross was finished off by Crowe. It may not have been a precise finish, but there was no doubting its effectiveness.

Cork, apparently content with the prospect of a scoreless draw for much of the game, were forced onto the front foot, and midfielder Greg O’Halloran came closest to finding an equaliser, but his shot whizzed just wide of Shay Kelly’s goal.

Bohs were forced into a reshuffle at the back, with central defender Paul McNally playing at right back and usual right full Damien Lynch switching to the left to combat the loss of Simon Webb. But in truth, they were rarely tested by a Cork attack that lacked momentum.

Kevin Hunt and Thomas Heary, who is quickly emerging into a key component in the Bohs midfield, dominated the central exchanges, restricting the space required for George O’Callaghan to work his magic for lone striker Kevin Doyle.

Bohemians: Kelly, McNally, Lynch (Rutherford, 73), Hawkins, Oman, Hunt (Caffrey, ), Heary, Ryan, Morrison, Crowe, Keegan.

Cork City: Devine, Horgan (Nwánkwo, 90), Woods (Behan, 90), Coughlan, D. Murray, O’Halloran, C.T. O’Brien, K. Murray, Kearney, O’Callaghan, Doyle.

Referee: J. McDermott (Dublin)
    Last edited by Neil; 01/11/2003 at 12:01 PM.

prevented a ball from crossing the line
    The ball was about two feet over the line!

Cork, apparently content with the prospect of a scoreless draw for much of the game
    BULLSH!T

lone striker Kevin Doyle
    He was upfront with George.

Who wrote that piece of rubbish???

disappointd we didnt get a draw
    best away support ive seen

fai.ie

A Glen Crowe goal nine minutes from time kept Bohemians title hope alive as they beat Cork City 1-0 at Dalymount Park.

In a disappointing game, there were very few chances as both teams defended well. However, it was Bohemians who were looking the more likely to win the game and their perseverance paid off as Crowe bundled the home with his knee after Paul Keegan had broken free on the left to cross which cuts Shelbourne's lead over Bohemians at the top of the table to just two points.

The game was delayed by ten minutes to allow Cork City fans delayed in traffic to make the kick-off, but, it wouldn't have mattered if the game had kicked off on time as they missed very little.

It wasn't until the tenth minute that there was any goal mouth action with Kevin Hunt and Colin Hawkins both having a shots blocked in the box after a Bobby Ryan corner had caused problems in the City penalty area.

Seven minutes later, a neat move involving Ryan and Dave Morrison resulted in Dan Murray being forced to put the ball behind for a corner under pressure from Crowe with the set-piece seeing Paul McNally blast over.

Bohemians were continually causing trouble from set-pieces and they went even closer in the 21st minute when Michael Devine punched a Ryan free kick straight to Hawkins who's shot was deflected just wide with the goalkeeper stranded.

Despite the fact that Cork were struggling to cope with the League champions from set-pieces, in open play they had the match of them, but it wasn't until the 41st minute that the visitors created a chance of note.

The chance was beautifully worked, and disappointingly missed as a piece of magic by O'Callaghan released Liam Kearney down the left wing and his first time cross was met by the onrushing Kevin Doyle at the near post, but he headed wide.

Dan Murray then had a weak shot from the edge of the area that was comfortably saved by Seamus Kelly – amazingly, the first save of the game – before Bohemians could have taken the lead in stoppage time.

Like Doyle's chance at the other end, it was a nice move with Ryan surging into the penalty box and, with everybody anticipating a cross, he brilliantly back heeled the ball to Keegan who's powerful shot was straight at Devine who punched the ball over for a corner.ti

The second half was equally bereft of chances though all of them that did come fell to Bohemians.

Keegan had the ball nicked off his toe by Greg O'Halloran as he set himself to shoot after finding a small amount of space in the area while Crowe went close with an effort in the 54th minute.

Morrison then fired wide with a right-foot effort after turning inside Neal Horgan while Crowe twice forced Devine into routine saves with shots from distance.

But with nine minutes remaining, Crowe finally grabbed the goal and despite the game opening up slightly neither side could find a second goal to end the game.

Bohs were poor, but we gave them the initiative, as we seem to be doing a lot lately. If we had started the game with the same frame of mind that we played with for the last 8 or 9 minutes, I think we would have won. I felt we came looking for a draw and never went for the game at all.
    Most of the team played well enough, with the exception of Derek (I thought he was dire!), and its hard to be too critical, but I think we have a mental attitude problem.
    Instead of having confidence in ourselves and going out to impose ourselves and play our own game, we seem to allow the other side to dictate how the game goes. We got dragged into a dour struggle last week against UCD, yet look how we could have played on the evidence of the last few minutes. It was the same last night, we were worried about Bohs rather than going all out and let them worry about us. We sit back, try to play cagey but after they scored last night, we dominated the rest of the game and created a few chances.
    Why not do that from the start?
    Dolans late, late substitutions would drive you mad though.
    He has got to stop talking about the time when we will BECOME the best team in Ireland, and get it into the players heads that we are the best NOW.

agree with patsh,

I thought we just about deserved a draw (should have had one with doyle's miss), although Bohs had the vast majority of the chances, Devine was by far the busier keeper. We created very little despite having the bulk of the possession.

I thought the ball was definitely out when rutherford played it, two feet might be the exaggeration, but there was enough for the linesman (who was dreadful) to see it.

The late substitutions were pointless, the lads weren't even warmed up by the time the final whistle blew.

disappointing given the gang that travelled, came down to Bohs being more clinical.

Subs

Late Subs?

My god people have short memories. With Gunther there was no plan b. He would have left the same 11 players on the pitch. Dolan gave the players on the pitch a chance to play after we went behind, then with about 5 minutes to play (including injury time) he threw caution to the wind, took off two backs for offensive players. It could have worked, it didnt but if it had we'd be talking about a taticial masterstroke.

Lads we played poorly and lost narrowly to the team who are most likely going to win the league.

For next season we need to find a central midfield, Greg and Murray were awal last night, the ammount of times Greg gave the ball away was shocking.
    Oh no not them again

Went into the game......

Very poor game, Bohs looked very ragged but Cork defo deserved something out of the game. O'Callaghan was probably the best player on the pitch, did a lovely peice of skill, beat about 3 or 4 players and then scooped the ball over the 2 bohs centre halfs for Doyle - superb stuff !

Great show from the Cork fans, fair play to ya 's lads (and lassies !) great to see such a big away support.

Crowe did nothing AGAIN but yet still got the winner, Keegan was muck !

Re: Went into the game......

Originally posted by Roo69
    Very poor game, Bohs looked very ragged but Cork defo deserved something out of the game. O'Callaghan was probably the best player on the pitch, did a lovely peice of skill, beat about 3 or 4 players and then scooped the ball over the 2 bohs centre halfs for Doyle - superb stuff !

Great show from the Cork fans, fair play to ya 's lads (and lassies !) great to see such a big away support.

Crowe did nothing AGAIN but yet still got the winner, Keegan was muck !
    that just about sums it all up