Tallaght Stadium?

Hi

I was wondering could ye help me ? I am coming up to Dublin on a
    day trip in a couple of days, and I was thinkin of popping out to
    Tallaght to see the Tallaght Stadium. I was just wondering :

1. Is it completed yet ?
    2. How long would it take me to get from the centre of Dublin to
    Tallaght via bus or Luas.
    3. Is there a club shop there, that would be open on week days.

1) No.
    2) About 40-50 minutes on the green Luas line. You'll have to walk around the Square shopping centre and cross the dual carriageway.
    3) No, they have a shop just off the Nangor Road. Their website will give you more details.

It's the Luas Red line to Tallaght.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

33 Posts
    The 'residential redbrick' partial surrounding the stadium, was inspired in a small way by Belfield Park Stadium.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Seats going into Tallaght

Should be ready for next season

We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

any significance for the red and yellow seats...the away end???

70 Posts
    Reserved family section

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Reserved family section
    oh right. Thought the family section would be more towards the middle of the stand/pitch. Any ideas where the "Shamrock Ultra's" will be?

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    424 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    oh right. Thought the family section would be more towards the middle of the stand/pitch. Any ideas where the "Shamrock Ultra's" will be?
    Opposite end. I don't think anyone really knows why the seasts are different colours, it might be a case that both ends are done that way.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

and is there a stand the opposite side? any plans for the terracing behind the goals?

424 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    and is there a stand the opposite side? any plans for the terracing behind the goals?
    Plan for the long term is fully enclosed all seater stadium, however, unless the ground is consistently full and making some profit SDCC are unlikely to be in any hurry to push ahead with this (maybe eventually SRFC might look to re-invest in the stadium in order to complete it). As far as I know a temporary stand is definitely being erected on the opposite side as it is necessary for segregation at the higher profile games (I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that this was a stipulation from the local Gardai).

Tallaght Stadium Regular

A closer view of new seats

Last edited by ForzaHoop; 05/12/2008 at 4:04 PM.
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

Lads is this all seated??and where do away supporters go??is there entry just to the one side with the stand or is there a stand going up the far side etc??

424 Posts
    Look about 2 posts up.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Oh right....thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Reserved family section
    Thought they might be Thomas Davis seats until I check their colours

It is even worse now.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

3,219 Posts
    Looks shocking alright. Saw yer man's excuse on the Rovers forum. Complete nonsense.

Come the first Bohs-Rovers derby (in the Cup, obviously), I'm sure you'll have a few helping hands to tear up and rearrange the seats!

Well the "excuse" bit was obviously made up on the spot but the real reason was in there too. Its not Rovers ground and they don't want people thinking its Rovers grounds.

Which would be fine if the seats weren't thrown together in random blocks

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Plan for the long term is fully enclosed all seater stadium, however, unless the ground is consistently full and making some profit SDCC are unlikely to be in any hurry to push ahead with this (maybe eventually SRFC might look to re-invest in the stadium in order to complete it). As far as I know a temporary stand is definitely being erected on the opposite side as it is necessary for segregation at the higher profile games (I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that this was a stipulation from the local Gardai).
    Plan is not for a fully enclosed all seated stadium, Plan is and always has been for two stand's, one either side of the pitch.....

Also the other stand (Not yet started) is not going to be a temporary stand, Its going to be a permanent stand and SDCC are in the process of getting prices... Its either going to be a concrete build on site as with the main stand they have now, or its going to be built out of the same materials as some stadium's in England which are built off site and assembled on site....

If they go with the second option, it is likely they could have the second stand built very close to the start of the season provided they nominate the builder this side of Christmas.... But the second option my not get the go ahead due to costs......

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast