Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tallaght Stadium?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Its not Rovers ground and they don't want people thinking its Rovers grounds.
    The council are being so pedantic and to be quite honest childish, it would have cost less to get just green seats. If all the seats were green the staduim would look great and would also suit to have an underage international
    We'll never die, we'll never die

1,081 Posts
    UEFA or the FAI don't care about seat colours or the layout of them when it comes to underage games. They just care about facilities and location. Tallaght will be more than adequate I'm sure despite the different colours.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    UEFA or the FAI don't care about seat colours or the layout of them when it comes to underage games..
    I wasn't even suggesting that.
    We'll never die, we'll never die

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy-Green View Post
    If all the seats were green the staduim would look great and would also suit to have an underage international
    Seems like you were suggesting they need to be green to me?. Maybe you didn't mean it to come across like that but that's how it reads to me. Anyhow, it's no big deal.

3,220 Posts
    Think he was saying it would be far more suitable/sensible (green = Ireland) to do it.

Its very impressive when you see it first hand, even if the tetris blocks look rubbish
    Good old Tetris. If can spin the yellow block above the Umbro sign can slide that down between the yellow & red block. Was the architects name Mr. Nintendo?

Nothing will happen, nor should it. Seats are expensive and the council don't have money to be wasting on new ones.
    What's the story on this lads? Council's are cutting costs on all projects in a massve way. Is it nearly ready?

Its nearly ready, and the money to get it done will be provided, but there won't be anything extra in it.

SDCC expect this to become quite the moneyspinner. They'll receive rent from Rovers and high percentages of all revenue from the ground (ads etc)

Sweet deal as I believe hasn't costs SDCC a cent of their own money?

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Sweet deal as I believe hasn't costs SDCC a cent of their own money?
    You need to change your beliefs.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

I think the sign explains some of the stadium payment

We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

Will there be an official opening match? Maybe against a top English side?

1,081 Posts
    The contractor is from Longford, relations of a friend of mine. I remember it was costing a fortune in security to keep the site under their control when things had stalled and they were owed a lot of money. Nice to see how far it's come on since then, even if the seats are oddly coloured.

57 Posts
    Apparently they're letting Carlow GAA play a few games in it - hence the seat colours
    Kom Igen, FCK...

I can't believe nobody is able to give a definitive answer as to the immediate plans for developing the ground.
    For every person that says work will start shortly on the opp side, someone else will say it won't.
    For every person that says there'll be 4 connected stands, another will say just 2.
    Permanent stands... no temporary.
    Timescale is in place... no its not.

etc, etc, etc...

What's the story??

65 Posts

There will be a temporary stand opposite the main stand erected by April-ish. It will be RDS grand stand style with a roof.
    The original plan for the stadium is four connected stands. There is no timescale for this as of yet.

Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post
    There will be a temporary stand opposite the main stand erected by April-ish. It will be RDS grand stand style with a roof.
    The original plan for the stadium is four connected stands. There is no timescale for this as of yet.
    Cheers, I'll run with that prediction so.
    As long as it's RDS style and not Bray Wanderers style it should look good

Any news on an official opening fixture yet?

Together with all our hearts.

Question

Lads when will tickets for this go on sale? Do ye reckon stadium will be ready to go?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast