haha great post murty. they mayo senior team are always very expectant alright![]()
It is very obvious from reading a lot of the posts (not all ) on this subject , that a major travesty of justice has been carried out .The 2009 Connacht junior cup final should be between Westport and Castlebar Celtic . Not the likes of West United and Castlerea Celtic .They only beat the previously mentioned Mayo teams , and , therefore do not deserve there day out on the top playing surface in Ireland , Terryland Park .
Is this whinging unique to Mayo , as East Uniteds players and managers posted opinions on the Galway Forum re their defeat to West , all were graceful , thankful and passed on best wishes to their conquerors .
Sportsmanship ? Obviously an inferiority complex has crept into male sport in Mayo , I think it leaks form the underachieveing GAA senior mens team , I mean what else could it be , ye surely are not that bad minded by accident ?
haha great post murty. they mayo senior team are always very expectant alright![]()
good post murty and i hope its a great final, any idea when its going to be played i heard whispers of the 10th of may???
Bar one from 352 (IMO wrong) who from Celtic said that Rea should not be in the final and I dont think he said they should not be in final just not very sporting with his comments. If East had the same justice as Utd do you think they would be sending the same posts, cop on young man. Celtic players and supporters went back to the pub with the home team and spent a nice few pounds in the pub and supported their lotto. What more do you want us to do say they deserved their win and the better team won. If that’s not sportmanship maybe you have a different brand in Galway. Yes we were hurting, and giving out when you feel you left the game behind you and every ref decision that went against you was a major decision in our eyes, as all teams I have been involved with in Dublin and other places have done, but you get over it by the next day, well some off us do. Come 352 take back you statement and wish the rea all the best in the final. As for Mayo GAA, I would say the people on here really don’t give a sh**e about how the mayo GAA team are doing be it good or bad.
As I said not all posts , and well put and said .I replied because this section of foot.ie had turned into a whinging section more than anything else . Giving out about teams that had won rather than lost had become the norm .
I have ,over the last 5 /6 years have been involved with players from both Westport and Castlebar Celtic in a coaching and management capacity , as well as lads form all over Mayo and have found them ALL to be honest , hard working and very commited to their chosen sport .I have enjoyed hospitality over the years in Castlebar , Ballina and even the "Squealing Pig " after games where my club team had been victorious and always found the hosts to be warm ,friendly and sportspeople .
So this leaves me wondering as to who these people are , that have made me so mad I felt I had to reply to their rants ?
Please note I throw in the odd bit myself to stoke things up a bit ,, but definitly feel there are a small few plikes who see no further than their own little football and are determined to be bad minded .Up Mayo ( if I dont put that in my parents in Claremorris will kill me !!![]()
Eexpect west to win on sunday 4 v 1,peno against us was very tough,never was but thats football,get on with it and will be in terryland to wish them good luck.if westport think they are the team they are they should concentrate hard on winning it next year.
nice to see East utd dropping off a comment i thought this forum had gone dead!!! is anyone else willing to put their neck out and call it, reckon myself its going to be tight, hope both teams make is a good game!!
thanks muller,changing laptops hence off posting.,if the final wasent in terryland would make it a 50/50.as east proved on a one -off match anything can happen.
Firstly , lads bit of an injury doubt with West top scorer Matts O Malley , big loss if not make it . Would predict a 2-1 or 3-1 win for West as i watched West beat Tuam Celtic 5-1 in Terryland earlier in the year and were very impressive with the ball on the ground . No one would have beaten them that night !!!!
Secondly , Any Castlebar lads out there be able to tell me asap the dimentions of the astro pitch in Castlebar ????? Much Obliged !!!!!
Last edited by hoop4life; 06/05/2009 at 10:14 AM.
108 x 56 approx
Would ye agree these type of surfaces give the home side an unfair advantage over a team that is used to training and playing on grass ?
allows for more technical skills to be developed,all underage matches at age ten should be played on these surfaces,getting away from this many castlerea supporters going to the final