Celtic lost 3-2.Poor game in a poor pitch,good ground. Bar Celtic sholud have been out of site after 75 minutes but Rea bossed the important part of the game (last 15 min) and got the breaks to win.
Good news for all Westport supporters , the lads that beat ye West progressed to the final by virtue of an injury time penalty v Galway 3rd Division side ( 4th tier of Galway soccer ). Very poor game , junior standard is slipping at an alarming rate !
Galway v Roscommon final .
Celtic lost 3-2.Poor game in a poor pitch,good ground. Bar Celtic sholud have been out of site after 75 minutes but Rea bossed the important part of the game (last 15 min) and got the breaks to win.
cant figure this one out ? "poor game in a poor pitch good ground " ?
Can anyone figure out how to improve pub/ junior soccer it is horrendous at the moment in the West Of Ireland . I suppose any one half serious , gone to A league or u 20 ,or content with junior soccers equivalent standard night owls.
well done to castlerea, great result, by all accounts looks like they finished well and were stronger in the end. how is it a poor pitch? its brand new.
Simple, Ground - had good clubhouse, 7 a side astro turf, Stand, wall around pitch, D/outs nealy complete etc. The playing surface was very bumpy. Walked the pitch and after winter football it was very bumpy and if you were at the game neither team played any football and I would put that down to the pitch. I will admitt that in the last 15 minutes the home team did put a number of passages of play together. Just because its a new pitch does not mean it a great surface and if anyone tells me that the Castlerea pitch is a good surface I would hate to see a bad one. Junior football is not that bad, look at Erris Utd, Westport Utd, Carbury, West Utd, Ballinsloe Town, Athenry, etc all good passing teams. What would improve the standard would be a connacht Junior league with two div's and link with the 4 leagues.
we were by far the better team and our keeper even said after he didn't have one save to make. he wasn't near the 3 goals so didn't have 2 make save. we had so so so many chances it was unbelievable. castlerea will prob b the worst team to ever contest a connaught junior final. the ref also told one of our players that the free he scored was direct and after he scored cancelled it out saying it was indirect and then gave a free out....(we wont go appealing though, we take defeat on the chin!!) the pitch was one of the worst i've played on in a long time, no one could play proper football at all. after the game in the pub the castlerea players were buying drinks for the refferee and the linesmen and they were buyin the drinks back for the castlerea players. everybody hates losing but when a team were far better and deserved to win it just hurts!! if west are anyway descent at all they will win the final awful easy!!
Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!
Celtic were the better team for 70-75 mins but couldnt take their chances. The ref was poor for both teams, The home side battled hard and got the breaks. I dont think they would be the worst team to compete in the final but if they play the same way yesterday in the final they will find it very hard to beat West Utd. But then how good are west. Wishing both teams the best of luck
west on there day are as good as any team in the whole country but having watched them lately all though still winning games they appear to be gone off the boil alot from there early season form,they have some absolute quality players but they don't seem to be clicking lately,yesterday west had there opponents pinned back for the whole game and owned the ball but seemed to lack the killer touch that was so evident early on in the campaign,it took a late peno to win it.anyways west will be well up for the final having not won the connacht cup since 1982.
if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!
Murty you are pathetic. You know what they say, what goes around comes around.
I have been told the rules are due to be changed, the games will be played on a neutral and playable (not a cow field) pitch, with neutral officials from quarter final stage upwards. This will help all clubs avoid the injustice we were done on the day.
Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.
The poor pitch / good ground was referring to the Knocknacarra venue for the West / East game . Improving junior soccer , very hard call Connacht junior league is a very good idea , but I think a bona fide senior league would have to be the first step . The Galway league definitly needs to do something about the slipping standard an immediate stop gap measure would be a reduvtion to eight teams in the top divisons , loads of teams do not make a better league , the small pool of talent is watered down and spread out ove 70+ teams . Long term over five years a plan whereby access to the top two to three divisions is subject to underage structures in place and ground club house etc . Look at the situation in Galway premier at the moment West , couldn't host a home Connacht cup semi final at the weekend , there pitch is not favored by their own players , Dynamo Blues no underage , Colga no home pitch as of now , NUIG , let start league when ever they want no underage , Rangers once very good underage section now struggling for survival despite this being the section the club emerged from . This type of scenario is not healthy for junior soccer and unless addressed immediatly will get a lot worse .
Are ye changing them ? Surely before they are changed they would have to be brought up for discussion before an agm , if not , clubs could put in "pathetic" objections .
Cow field , surely your players should have been at an advantage as ye are a rural club , West Uniteds players nor the venue in Mervue would have had sight of a live cow in years .
Just a small reminder , the pitch was in Mervue , two teams played on it , neither of whom would have played there for years since previous Connacht Cup winners , Crescent United , were in junior soccer ( about five years ago ).
West played the semi final against East Utd on a pitch they never played or trained on at the weekend .The standard was brutal , says a lot for yereselves .
No doubt ye will improve now that the excellent facilities in Westport Gaa club are nearing completion , lovly soccer pitchs there , fair play to them !
Couple of positional changes in the team seem to have taken from their fluency . Better" names "may not necessarily improve them as a team .Willie McDonagh an example there , not a bad player , but is basically learning about his team mates as he goes along .Fitzy , whats up ? how come he didnt start ? tactics , Padraig hoofing every ball to the front men , who were being marked by the likes of Reuben all 6' 3" of him .How can West play football , with this game plan , maybe for a one off game as it was it was deemed necessary but it almost back fired on this occassion .Matts must have cringed every time he saw the "missile" coming down out off the sky , indeed Wests tactics cancelld out their own players to an extent .
352 are you for real, buying drink for the refs you cannot be serious i was in the same pub after the match and i didnt even see the crea players talking to the officials never mind buying a drink for them, just cos it didnt go your way there is no reason to be sour!!! the refs were poor for both teams the only thing he got right on the day was booking one of your cheats for diving.
worst team to contest a final??? crea never got out of first gear on sunday and still managed to put 3 past ye, says alot about your own team!! all the talking about westport and castlebar celtic all season and how they are going to contest the final and neither of them made it, and when both teams got knocked out they started b*tching about the refs, whats that all about, any chance of a mayo team being men and just taking their beating
i know the ref was from galway,he was originally supposed to ref the west v east game,he's terrible,he wants to be involved too much in everything,didn't see the game but i'm sure it was a close game between 2 good teams looking forward to the final,whenever its on.
great set up out in knocknacara but the surface was shocking and impossible to play good football on,west started trying to play ball but it was impossible,i taught willie mcdonagh was the best player on the pitch,don't know why fitzy wasn't starting but you can only pick 2 from ian burke,miko,dara ryan and fitzy and all 4 are quality on there day and have all represented galway at oscar traynor level.mathias had an off day but they are few and far between.
I don’t agree with 352 comments and I was at the game but on the day the home team got out a jail and had two major decisions go their way but that is football and these decisions tend to go to the home as all teams have got including us, but still its makes it hard to take at the time. That said Bar could not kill the game off and Rea never say die attitude was rewarded in the end. With regard to not getting out of first gear that was because you were not allowed to, not that you decided to play in 1st gear. If you play like that again I would you find it hard that you would win the cup? Pitch was poor for both teams but suited the stronger and older home side. Best of luck in the final. I don’t think anyone saying a Celtic Utd final can be faulted with that, taking into account these two teams recent form in the FAI & Connacht cup comp. Maybe Rea have been in Connacht finals in the past and were unfairly considered outsiders. Maybe you can tell me different. IMO Utd are the best Junior team in Connacht and I know West etc will have a go.
Last edited by Closing Time; 07/04/2009 at 11:03 PM.
No this will be the first Connaught final for castlerea to contest. there is no doubt that Crea were not able to put any real passages of play together until the no.8 for Cbar went off injured. as for the decisions for from the ref ye were hard done by esp with a very questionable offside that went against ye, but saying that that is strong Crea team who have put decent runs together in the FAI cup over the last few years.
Cbar were the better team for most the game on sunday and had some very good young players and were hard done, but 352 putting us down as the worst team to contest a final is a terrible statement to make considering we put 5 past Manualla who were also tipped to turn us over!!
Hope your first final is a good one for your club the oldest in Connacht as far as I know. I know for a fact your team is know where near the worst team that has played in this final and if you play the like you did in the last 15 minutes for 90 you will be hard to beat. All Celtic were disappointed with the result but that’s behind us now as we look forward to our new adventure in the LOI. Let the big time roll on. The statement by 352 was out of order but I can feel his pain which is good to see.
On the subject of pitches, we were not sure which pitch we were playing on, as your crew in Galway could not make up your minds where the game was going to be played.
Your quotes;
You - "West Uniteds players nor the venue in Mervue would have had sight of a live cow in years"
Yeah, and the grounds haven't seen a groundskeeper grounds keeper either.
You - "West played the semi final against East Utd on a pitch they never played or trained on at the weekend .The standard was brutal , says a lot for yereselves"
How does this say alot for ourselves? What are you on about?
You - No doubt ye will improve now that the excellent facilities in Westport Gaa club are nearing completion , lovly soccer pitchs there , fair play to them !
Yes, fair play to them.
Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.