Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Connaught Cup 2008/09

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    thats when the quarter finals are on, city aren't in the quarters yet and have 2 play their last 16 game first which will probably be on this weekend!
    no they game against the kerry team (last 16) game is down for the 22th march - FACT!!!!

We can get something right you know

relax

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    no they game against the kerry team (last 16) game is down for the 22th march - FACT!!!!

We can get something right you know
    relax i wasn't saying it in a bad way at all..
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Cool

relax i wasn't saying it in a bad way at all..
    352 always starting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Finn Harps FC, Liverpool FC, Castlebar Celtic FC

West Utd are through to the semi final after beating Westport 4-2 on pens after the game finished 2-2 aet.

Contoversial game with the home team getting 2 pens. scored 1 missed 1. Also Westport looked like scoring a winner in normal time when the game was stopped as the linesman wanted to bring something to the refs attention. Westport officals not to happy after the game

East 2 v aughanagh0

crea celtic into semis

castlerea celtic made it into the semi's after a win against manulla today, could they be the surprise package??

castlebar celtic v city

celtic won 1-0 and should have been more, missed a penalty and a wide open goal, good performance by celtic against a good city team and celtic missin a few too. what were castlerea like against manulla?
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

celtic won 1-0 and should have been more, missed a penalty and a wide open goal, good performance by celtic against a good city team and celtic missin a few too. what were castlerea like against manulla?
    good win alright. heard celtic had only 13 players such was the amount of injuries. what was the celtic team??
    castlerea beat manulla 5nil.
    semi finals looks like this
    castlerea v celtic
    west utd v east utd

celtic v west final!!!
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

Quote Originally Posted by KBurke View Post
    West Utd are through to the semi final after beating Westport 4-2 on pens after the game finished 2-2 aet.

Contoversial game with the home team getting 2 pens. scored 1 missed 1. Also Westport looked like scoring a winner in normal time when the game was stopped as the linesman wanted to bring something to the refs attention. Westport officals not to happy after the game
    west were poor today and i think westport deserved to win it to be honest but i think there gripe with the ref was well off,west got 2 penalties,but both of them were certain penalties,they should of had another blatant penalty before they got there first penalty,the westport no.2 kicked a west player from behind off the ball,the linesman flagged it,he called the ref over and said his recommendation was a straight red,ref bottled and gave a yellow,i must say westport weren't very gracious in defeat,they were invited by west back to the local pub for a meal,which west do for every home game against teams that travel,they informed west before the game that they would be coming back afterwards,they never showed up,despite saying they would and about 20 meals went to waste,bad sportsmanship if you ask me,we lost on penalties up in dublin in the irish cup,we were sick as parrots,we still turned up for a drink with the sheriff lads afterwards,common courtesy,also when we beat westport last year down there,none of them turned up again at the pub they arranged to meet us in.
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

That could be a mayo thing, we'd thre trips to mayo in the conn cup, in crossmolina, all the way to black sod bay too, no mention of a pub or sandwiches by either side....we got a feed in castlebar alright, but considering we were bet 10 -0 I think we deserved a few sausages and chicken wings

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealMuller View Post
    castlerea celtic made it into the semi's after a win against manulla today, could they be the surprise package??
    no because celtic will beat them in the semi!!!
    good win for them today against manulla though

as for westport, not really susprised by that. they are never really gracious in defeat. always are and always were a bit ratty. i'm happy to say that my prediction was right though. i knew that it would be a tight game. was hoping for an all mayo final and us beating westport but thats obviously not going to happen now.
    celtic v west final imo going to penalties again with us just pipping them hopefully!!!!
    Last edited by hoop4life; 15/03/2009 at 7:33 PM.
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

Quote Originally Posted by KBurke View Post

I was at the game and it was a sad day for Irish Junior football to witness what I saw.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by west awake View Post
    west were poor today and i think westport deserved to win it to be honest but i think there gripe with the ref was well off,west got 2 penalties,but both of them were certain penalties,they should of had another blatant penalty before they got there first penalty,the westport no.2 kicked a west player from behind off the ball,the linesman flagged it,he called the ref over and said his recommendation was a straight red,ref bottled and gave a yellow,i must say westport weren't very gracious in defeat,they were invited by west back to the local pub for a meal,which west do for every home game against teams that travel,they informed west before the game that they would be coming back afterwards,they never showed up,despite saying they would and about 20 meals went to waste,bad sportsmanship if you ask me,we lost on penalties up in dublin in the irish cup,we were sick as parrots,we still turned up for a drink with the sheriff lads afterwards,common courtesy,also when we beat westport last year down there,none of them turned up again at the pub they arranged to meet us in.
    Come on. The officials were terrible. The first penalty was not one the goalie punched it. We dont mind losing fair and square, but what went on today was a disgrace to junior football.

Your own supporters were embarrassed and made it known to many of us.

We are not sore losers, ask the good people of Dungarvan and Killester when we went out of the junior cup. I understand that as a supporter you will have this view and are entitled to it but how the game was refereed today was a shambles.

If we had got common courtesy on the pitch by the officials, we would have went back to the pub. One of the officials is involved with West and should not have officiated at a match of that importance, they were totally biased, give us a bit of credit.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

conn cup

east v west in connaught cup semi,thought westport unlucky,refs report will be interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by Leveller View Post
    Come on. The officials were terrible. The first penalty was not one the goalie punched it. We dont mind losing fair and square, but what went on today was a disgrace to junior football.

Your own supporters were embarrassed and made it known to many of us.

We are not sore losers, ask the good people of Dungarvan and Killester when we went out of the junior cup. I understand that as a supporter you will have this view and are entitled to it but how the game was refereed today was a shambles.

If we had got common courtesy on the pitch by the officials, we would have went back to the pub. One of the officials is involved with West and should not have officiated at a match of that importance, they were totally biased, give us a bit of credit.
    leveller get your facts right,none of the officials are involved with west or were ever involved in west,anyone in junior soccer in galway will tell you west always get the wrong end of the stick when it comes to officials,if westport feel aggrieved by the officials thats nothing to do with west,it was poor form on there behalf not coming back for a drink,i'm an honest person and i stand by what i say,i think the officials were fair and i also think westport were the better team on the day,i mean if your no 2 got correctly punished with a red card after 5 minutes,west could of beat ye out the gate,your picking decisions that went against ye yesterday,there was an awful lot of dubious decisions that went with ye.

here swinford

did u see wests game??? heard it was very bad.????

castlebar celtic to win it after westport are gone out

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by west awake View Post
    leveller get your facts right,none of the officials are involved with west or were ever involved in west,anyone in junior soccer in galway will tell you west always get the wrong end of the stick when it comes to officials,if westport feel aggrieved by the officials thats nothing to do with west,it was poor form on there behalf not coming back for a drink,i'm an honest person and i stand by what i say,i think the officials were fair and i also think westport were the better team on the day,i mean if your no 2 got correctly punished with a red card after 5 minutes,west could of beat ye out the gate,your picking decisions that went against ye yesterday,there was an awful lot of dubious decisions that went with ye.
    Leveller is spot on with everything he said about that match.
    The linesmen were stuck in every decision that the ref should have seen himself as he was the closest to all the incidents.
    Those 3 cheats should have a look in the mirror and question their integrity this week after the riding they gave westport.
    This sums them up: westport on the attack 4 v 3 with striker in possession on edge of box with one man to beat,the linesman is flagging furiously,ref spots this and calls time out,ref goes over to the l/man who
    asks for the supporters to go behind rope but only the two managers were inside the rope as entitled to be, the ref makes a scene and gives a hop ball on the sideline.This is what your up against and i`ve seen it before in galway.
    At the end the 3 amigos were going back to the dressing room and thought it was very amusing what they had just presided over.All you want is fairplay nothing extra, but sadly teams have no say who wins matches its in the officials hands now which is wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Westside142 View Post
    The linesmen were stuck in every decision that the ref should have seen himself as he was the closest to all the incidents.
    Those 3 cheats should have a look in the mirror and question their integrity this week after the riding they gave westport.
    This sums them up: westport on the attack 4 v 3 with striker in possession on edge of box with one man to beat,the linesman is flagging furiously,ref spots this and calls time out,ref goes over to the l/man who
    asks for the supporters to go behind rope but only the two managers were inside the rope as entitled to be, the ref makes a scene and gives a hop ball on the sideline.This is what your up against and i`ve seen it before in galway.
    At the end the 3 amigos were going back to the dressing room and thought it was very amusing what they had just presided over.All you want is fairplay nothing extra, but sadly teams have no say who wins matches its in the officials hands now which is wrong.

I wasn´t at the game and I´m not trying to stir things up but even if what ye say is totally accurate and the referee and linesman were shocking, surely it´s not the other team´s fault and ye should have gone for a drink with them and a bit to eat? Was it a spur of the moment decision due to the frustration and anger ye felt or do you stand by it even now?

Quote Originally Posted by Westside142 View Post
    if he was spot on about everything,which official had something to do with our club?why did none of ye complain about the officials when the westport no 2 kicked the west no 11 off the ball and was spotted by the linesman and wasn't sent off,the westport support abused the officials and the west players from start to finish,the west players lost count the amount of time they were called thinkers and knackers by gthe westport sideline,it's the same as last year down there when we beat westport,sour grapes no one turned up again after the game in the pub,was talking to dave horkan after the game and he said he had no major problem with the ref as he felt he could of got sent on a few occasions for persistent fouling.

seems like west have a habit of getting some dodgy decisions go their way....

Page 8 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast