Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Connaught Cup 2008/09

Wink c cup

dident take it that way joe,west are the best in galway but oranmore salthill etc too inconsistent,still oranmore on a learning curve like ourselves ,have a feeling westport will beat west think if city united are at home my money wud b on them.as 4 ourselves aughanagh on a par with real tubber who we beat so hopeful,our own league though is our priority.which wud b great to win .so good matches in da qfinals always a shock in 1 so which 1 do u think?

MOD EDIT:Can you please leave out the text speak?
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 24/02/2009 at 9:04 PM.

who

Quote Originally Posted by hoop4life View Post
    celtic westport final would be brilliant. i think west and city utd would have something to say about that though. the winners will come from one of those four and the final will probably involve those two of those four teams. who are aughannagh celtic?
    there are in sligo prem division ,doing my homework as we speak!

west utd v westport utd

this one should be a cracker,westport will be out for revenge after west's 2-0 win in westport last year in the last 16,two very good footballing sides,this will be tough call,west are flying at the minute.i think whoever wins this one will reach the final.
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

I watched 20 mins of West v Yeats on sunday.Very good side cant see anybody touching them in connaught.My money is on West Utd!They have been close the last few seasons.I think this is there year

Quote Originally Posted by east utd View Post
    there are in sligo prem division ,doing my homework as we speak!
    best of luck to ye. good to see smaller clubs (no offence) like yerselves and aughannagh getting a good cup run. ye seem to be a progessive club. our u16s played yer u16s before christmas in sfai cup and they gave celtic a good go and we have a few decent players in that side. the few of us on the sideline agreed that ye had a few good footballers so fair play to ye, ye are doing well!! the more good clubs we have trying to improve, and it can't be easy with salthill, mervue, hibs around ye, the better it is for everyone!
    Last edited by hoop4life; 24/02/2009 at 8:28 PM.

thanks hoop.was involved with mervue underage for a few years so know how they and salthill operate.you guys had a very good u17team a few years ago are they now part of your junior squad?

i'd say there would be alright. we have a fair few youths in the first team squad. 2 of our 16 year olds that played against ye would be on it and there is a few 17 and 18 year olds on it aswell. our u17s got to two national semi finals and one quarter finals in three years but since then some of that age group and above have joined el clubs

51 Posts
    Updated;

Castlerea game on the 8th

Fifth Round
    == HOME TEAM VERSUS AWAY TEAM

S Aughannagh Celtic 3-0 Moyne Villa
    T Castlerea Celtic 8th Mar Carbury FC
    U Westport United 6-3 Oranmore
    V City United 2-0 Salthill Devon
    W Castlebar Celtic 3-1 Ballinasloe Town
    X Yeats United 2-7 West United
    Y Real Tubber 1-2 East United
    Z Snugboro 1-2 Manulla

QUARTER FINALS

Weekend 14th/15th March

300 Manulla V T
    400 West United V Westport United
    500 City United V Castlebar Celtic
    600 East United V Aughannagh Celtic

SEMI FINALS

Weekend 4th/5th April

700 300 V 500
    800 400 V 600

FINAL

Weekend 25th/26th April

800 V 700

predictions???

anyone gonna put their neck on the line and predict a winner?
    i'm gonna say that west utd will win it. they should probably still be in the fai junior cup but were beaten narrowly by sheriff who are now joint favourites. manulla could be dark horses.
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

Red face conn cup

west got beaten at home last week,difficult away game to mervue this week ,bad result there could jolt their confidence.cup matches are all about on the day,would make westport favourites,if they beat west they are at home to either us or aughanagh and if sucessful have the final at home.so westport for me.

westport will do well!

it hurts to say but if westport get over the game against west they have a great chance, great team with a lot of quality players, city will be a hard team to beat too on the other side of the draw. celtic v westport in milebush would be a great final don't think we have the team at the moment though to beat them, westport will be out for revenge for their defeat to celtic in the semis a few years back when celtic won it!
    Last edited by threefivetwo; 05/03/2009 at 11:57 AM.
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

alright lads new to all this so forgive mistakes, i think Celtic are right back in the driving seat again and there seems to be an inch to everyones step around the club which seems to be having a very positive effect on all involved.

Castlerea Celtic into last 8

Manulla will be playing castlerea celtic after they beat carbury 3-1 today

See Castlerea going well. Possibly one of the oldest clubs in Connacht, as may date back to same era as Athlone Town's beginnings.
    Just wondered whats the furthest they have been in Connacht Cup, know they have'nt reached a final.

51 Posts
    Updated;

QUARTER FINALS

Weekend 14th/15th March

300 Manulla V Castlerea Celtic
    400 West United V Westport United
    500 City United V Castlebar Celtic
    600 East United V Aughannagh Celtic

SEMI FINALS

Weekend 4th/5th April

700 300 V 500
    800 400 V 600

FINAL

Weekend 25th/26th April

800 V 700

west got beaten at home last week,difficult away game to mervue this week ,bad result there could jolt their confidence.cup matches are all about on the day,would make westport favourites,if they beat west they are at home to either us or aughanagh and if sucessful have the final at home.so westport for me.
    west bounced back yesterday with a 3-0 away win over mervue,good performance by west,it sets them up nicely for a crack at westport next sunday,should be a cracker,could go either way.
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

fixtures

mayo teams in action at the weekend

city utd v celtc.............. celtic on penos
    west utd v westport.............. penos also, don't know which way
    manulla v castlerea.............. manulla to scrape through
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

are celtic playing this weekend?

don't think the city v celtic game is on this weekend as city are involved in the fai.
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    don't think the city v celtic game is on this weekend as city are involved in the fai.
    city game in fai cup in not on till 22nd march

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    city game in fai cup in not on till 22nd march
    thats when the quarter finals are on, city aren't in the quarters yet and have 2 play their last 16 game first which will probably be on this weekend!

Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast