dident take it that way joe,west are the best in galway but oranmore salthill etc too inconsistent,still oranmore on a learning curve like ourselves ,have a feeling westport will beat west think if city united are at home my money wud b on them.as 4 ourselves aughanagh on a par with real tubber who we beat so hopeful,our own league though is our priority.which wud b great to win .so good matches in da qfinals always a shock in 1 so which 1 do u think?
MOD EDIT:Can you please leave out the text speak?
Last edited by the 12 th man; 24/02/2009 at 9:04 PM.
this one should be a cracker,westport will be out for revenge after west's 2-0 win in westport last year in the last 16,two very good footballing sides,this will be tough call,west are flying at the minute.i think whoever wins this one will reach the final.
if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!
I watched 20 mins of West v Yeats on sunday.Very good side cant see anybody touching them in connaught.My money is on West Utd!They have been close the last few seasons.I think this is there year
best of luck to ye. good to see smaller clubs (no offence) like yerselves and aughannagh getting a good cup run. ye seem to be a progessive club. our u16s played yer u16s before christmas in sfai cup and they gave celtic a good go and we have a few decent players in that side. the few of us on the sideline agreed that ye had a few good footballers so fair play to ye, ye are doing well!! the more good clubs we have trying to improve, and it can't be easy with salthill, mervue, hibs around ye, the better it is for everyone!
Last edited by hoop4life; 24/02/2009 at 8:28 PM.
thanks hoop.was involved with mervue underage for a few years so know how they and salthill operate.you guys had a very good u17team a few years ago are they now part of your junior squad?
i'd say there would be alright. we have a fair few youths in the first team squad. 2 of our 16 year olds that played against ye would be on it and there is a few 17 and 18 year olds on it aswell. our u17s got to two national semi finals and one quarter finals in three years but since then some of that age group and above have joined el clubs
Updated;
Castlerea game on the 8th
Fifth Round
== HOME TEAM VERSUS AWAY TEAM
S Aughannagh Celtic 3-0 Moyne Villa
T Castlerea Celtic 8th Mar Carbury FC
U Westport United 6-3 Oranmore
V City United 2-0 Salthill Devon
W Castlebar Celtic 3-1 Ballinasloe Town
X Yeats United 2-7 West United
Y Real Tubber 1-2 East United
Z Snugboro 1-2 Manulla
QUARTER FINALS
Weekend 14th/15th March
300 Manulla V T
400 West United V Westport United
500 City United V Castlebar Celtic
600 East United V Aughannagh Celtic
SEMI FINALS
Weekend 4th/5th April
700 300 V 500
800 400 V 600
FINAL
Weekend 25th/26th April
800 V 700
anyone gonna put their neck on the line and predict a winner?
i'm gonna say that west utd will win it. they should probably still be in the fai junior cup but were beaten narrowly by sheriff who are now joint favourites. manulla could be dark horses.
west got beaten at home last week,difficult away game to mervue this week ,bad result there could jolt their confidence.cup matches are all about on the day,would make westport favourites,if they beat west they are at home to either us or aughanagh and if sucessful have the final at home.so westport for me.
it hurts to say but if westport get over the game against west they have a great chance, great team with a lot of quality players, city will be a hard team to beat too on the other side of the draw. celtic v westport in milebush would be a great final don't think we have the team at the moment though to beat them, westport will be out for revenge for their defeat to celtic in the semis a few years back when celtic won it!
Last edited by threefivetwo; 05/03/2009 at 11:57 AM.
Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!
alright lads new to all this so forgive mistakes, i think Celtic are right back in the driving seat again and there seems to be an inch to everyones step around the club which seems to be having a very positive effect on all involved.
Manulla will be playing castlerea celtic after they beat carbury 3-1 today
See Castlerea going well. Possibly one of the oldest clubs in Connacht, as may date back to same era as Athlone Town's beginnings.
Just wondered whats the furthest they have been in Connacht Cup, know they have'nt reached a final.
Updated;
QUARTER FINALS
Weekend 14th/15th March
300 Manulla V Castlerea Celtic
400 West United V Westport United
500 City United V Castlebar Celtic
600 East United V Aughannagh Celtic
SEMI FINALS
Weekend 4th/5th April
700 300 V 500
800 400 V 600
FINAL
Weekend 25th/26th April
800 V 700
mayo teams in action at the weekend
city utd v celtc.............. celtic on penos
west utd v westport.............. penos also, don't know which way
manulla v castlerea.............. manulla to scrape through
don't think the city v celtic game is on this weekend as city are involved in the fai.
Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!