Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Connaught Cup 2008/09

If Westport United has the luck of black cats, I have no doubt that the agonising famine in the Connacht Cup will end. Personnel wise, we have a good enough side to win it, attitude wise, it is down to the players if they have the hunger and the passion to win the trophy. The supporters are screaming for Connacht Cup success.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

I'd say both Castlebar and Westport should both progress in the connacht cup at the expense of two middling sligo/leitrim premier league teams, I cant imagine the top teams in the sligo leitrim league(Carbury, City Utd, Strand) being bothered about having to face either cliffoney or ballygawley.........but sure if the underdog never has a chance is there any point in running these competitions?? no offence to Westport but I'd imagine they were the outsiders against Pike and Killester......we all have a slim chance on any given sunday/saturday night.......particularly if castlebar are a long ball team????

When is the Westport v Cliffiney game going ahead, A few from Athlone heading down spying for the FAI cup game.

Quote Originally Posted by keith.henn View Post
    I'd say both Castlebar and Westport should both progress in the connacht cup at the expense of two middling sligo/leitrim premier league teams, I cant imagine the top teams in the sligo leitrim league(Carbury, City Utd, Strand) being bothered about having to face either cliffoney or ballygawley.........but sure if the underdog never has a chance is there any point in running these competitions?? no offence to Westport but I'd imagine they were the outsiders against Pike and Killester......we all have a slim chance on any given sunday/saturday night.......particularly if castlebar are a long ball team????
    celtic dont play long ball. might have in the past but not now. play as good of football as any team in the county.

any news on the draw for the next round yet ??
    can someone update it please.

hoop4life,

what are the chances of your pitch being playable on sunday, i hear ye were mad to get on sat night.....might be missing few???

Quote Originally Posted by keith.henn View Post
    hoop4life,

what are the chances of your pitch being playable on sunday, i hear ye were mad to get on sat night.....might be missing few???
    pitch will more than likely be playable. i dont think we are missing any either. the game was always set for sunday, didnt hear anything about trying to change it to saturday night.

pitch will be playable

the pitch should be playable, probably better than any pitch in sligo, not saying that in a thick way!! the game was asked to be on saturday night so it would be better for the supporters and to get more up to the game to watch t under the lights. we're not long ball team anymore, hopefully we won't be today u can prove us wrong...
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Results

celtic 10-0 ballygawley
    city utd 3-1 erris

snugboro 3-1 s & f utd????? i think
    Last edited by hoop4life; 25/01/2009 at 3:36 PM.

?????

Quote Originally Posted by hoop4life View Post
    celtic 10-0 ballygawley
    city utd 3-1 erris

snugboro 3-1 s & f utd????? i think
    what do ya wreckon, can celtic play football????? not bein biast (hopefully thats spelt right) but that was football played at it's most, hoofers??? arsenal weren't n it today we showed today that we are not hoofers lets be honest we were savage today bud ya???
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

im sure ye are on the up but...

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    what do ya wreckon, can celtic play football????? not bein biast (hopefully thats spelt right) but that was football played at it's most, hoofers??? arsenal weren't n it today we showed today that we are not hoofers lets be honest we were savage today bud ya???
    No disrespect to the result, im sure ye played like Arsenel and all that but Ballygawley are currently bottom of the 2nd flight in Sligo/Leitrom. They have won 1 out of 8 games this season and got hammered by more than 5 a couple of times.

Im sure there are tougher tests ahead for ye, well done though

646 Posts

3.56am

Connacht Junior Cup Fourth Round
    NO HOME TEAM == AWAY TEAM DATE
    A Partry Athletic 1-2 Reall Tubber 18th January
    B St Johns Athletic V Aughannagh Celtic 25th January
    C Ballinasloe Town 4-0 Dynamo Blues 11th January
    D Mervue United V Oranmore 1st February
    E East United V Kiltimagh/Knock 1st February
    F Westport United V Cliffoney Celtic 25th January
    G Manulla V Athenry 8th February
    H Castlebar Celtic V Ballygawley Celtic 25th January
    J City United V Iorrathas Aonthaithe 25th January
    K Galway Hibs 2-3 Carbury FC 17th January
    L Salthill Devon V NUIGalway 1st February
    M Boyle Celtic V Castlerea Celtic 8th February
    N Moyne Villa V Dunmore Town 1st February
    O Cloonfad United 1-4 Yeats United 18th February
    P Snugboro V Straide & Foxford Utd 25th January
    R West United V Ballisodare United 8th February

Fifth Round Weekend 14th/15th February
    S B V N
    T M V Carbury FC
    U Westport United V D
    V City United V L
    W Castlebar Celtic V Ballinasloe Town
    X Yeats United V R
    Y Real Tubber V E
    Z Snugboro V G
    Last edited by Closed Account; 26/01/2009 at 11:56 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post

3.56am

Connacht Junior Cup Fourth Round
    NO HOME TEAM == AWAY TEAM DATE
    A Partry Athletic 1-2 Reall Tubber 18th January
    B St Johns Athletic V Aughannagh Celtic 25th January
    C Ballinasloe Town 4-0 Dynamo Blues 11th January
    D Mervue United V Oranmore 1st February
    E East United V Kiltimagh/Knock 1st February
    F Westport United V Cliffoney Celtic 25th January
    G Manulla V Athenry 8th February
    H Castlebar Celtic V Ballygawley Celtic 25th January
    J City United V Iorrathas Aonthaithe 25th January
    K Galway Hibs 2-3 Carbury FC 17th January
    L Salthill Devon V NUIGalway 1st February
    M Boyle Celtic V Castlerea Celtic 8th February
    N Moyne Villa V Dunmore Town 1st February
    O Cloonfad United 1-4 Yeats United 18th February
    P Snugboro V Straide & Foxford Utd 25th January
    R West United V Ballisodare United 8th February

Fifth Round Weekend 14th/15th February
    S B V N
    T M V Carbury FC
    U Westport United V D
    V City United V L
    W Castlebar Celtic V Ballinasloe Town
    X Yeats United V R
    Y Real Tubber V E
    Z Snugboro V G
    mayos oscar tranyor cup semi final v a.u.l. is on the 14th/15th february so i dont think the fifth round involving mayo teams will be played that weekend.

did straide and foxford have 4 players sent off against snugboro yesterday?

Quote Originally Posted by hoop4life View Post
    mayos oscar tranyor cup semi final v a.u.l. is on the 14th/15th february so i dont think the fifth round involving mayo teams will be played that weekend.

did straide and foxford have 4 players sent off against snugboro yesterday?
    this was some game to watch, yes s&f had 4 players sent off in the second half. the ref was a disgrace if you ask me, him and his linesmen lost the run of themselves. maybe it was just me but the boro seemed to be given all the calls.
    the 4 players to be sent off were alan mc donnell, gerry gaughan, paul fitzpatrick and declan tigue.

was anyone else at the game? what did ye think?

Not sure about that

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    this was some game to watch, yes s&f had 4 players sent off in the second half. the ref was a disgrace if you ask me, him and his linesmen lost the run of themselves. maybe it was just me but the boro seemed to be given all the calls.
    the 4 players to be sent off were alan mc donnell, gerry gaughan, paul fitzpatrick and declan tigue.

was anyone else at the game? what did ye think?
    Caught the last 20 Mins of the game,I would not nessecairly blame the referee,Alan Mc was a little unlucky but he was on a yellow card at the time,as for Dec Tighe it was a frustrated challenge near the end and he left the referee with no choice,it wasnt even a tackle it was a kick that was about three seconds late.The other lads I cant say but it seemed that they said a little too much to the ref and he just sent them to the line.I was told that it was not a dirty game or anything,after all I think snugboro only had One yellow for the day.Id say the boro lads were happy enough with the result considering that they had lost the cup final in sept to s&f

Sour Grapes or what

Quote Originally Posted by thekop View Post
    if ya saw the whole game ya would no where "theboy" was comin from, yes snugboro were only given 1 yellow cards but should have had a few more, stevie gavin fouled all day long but no cards seen.

yes frustration led to tigue's red, the other 2 lads red were for letting the ref know wot they thought, that had built up from the 1st peno the boro were given. alan mc yes was on a yellow but made a hard tackle and got a second yellow after stevie made a 4 course meal out of it..
    Jesus lads,give it a break...The boro lads didnt complain after they lost the cup final..but from my point of view they could and should have when they scored a perfect goal when the score was 3-3 in the cup final.They took it on the chin.I know stevie pretty well and to say he made a meal of it is a bit unfair considering that he was goin for physio this evening as a result of the challenge.In saying that I have the utmost respect for Alan as a footballer and I would say that He went for the challenge in a fair manner

Fair play to the Castlebar lads, they really knocked the ball around well but in all fairness they were hardly pushed, and in no way was the 10-0 score line fair.....it should've been 14/15-0....dont get too carried away with it, we had 4 players over 35 who played the 90 mins on that huge milebush pitch and it was 9 weeks since we last had a match, and 2 one hour training session and the excessess of christmas since. I'm as stiff as a board today......in all probability you would've been better off playing yer b team in a friendly....still we enjoyed the day out and the hospitality too, cheers for that lads, we didnt even get asked back to pub by either Crossmolina or Kilmore in the previous years....and considering we beat Kilmore handy in the previous round and the thrashing ye gave us I dont hold much hope out for them in the Super league next year, best of luck in the next round, you'll have a harder time of it against Ballinasloe, we knocked them out of the fai two years ago on pens with 9 men, a real back to walls job that we were hoping to replicate yeasterday but we couldnt even find the wall...............

We had this debate before didnt we? When you played Swinford which are a couple of divisions down you hammered them and would be expected to.

Look at your latest oppositions pedigree? It is easy to play good football against a weak side.

You obviously cant differeentiate between a good team and a bad team.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Come on

Quote Originally Posted by Leveller View Post
    We had this debate before didnt we? When you played Swinford which are a couple of divisions down you hammered them and would be expected to.

Look at your latest oppositions pedigree? It is easy to play good football against a weak side.

You obviously cant differeentiate between a good team and a bad team.

Come on Leveller,352 was just replying to a few previous replys about how some people did or did not agree about the fact that Celtic played football or not.The answer was they do play football,Its the connaught cup and admittedly they played against what some people may say was a Lesser team.Its a cup competition and and its not there fault who the opposition were,but they still had to play and play football they did...end of story

Quote Originally Posted by 1924 View Post
    Come on Leveller,352 was just replying to a few previous replys about how some people did or did not agree about the fact that Celtic played football or not.The answer was they do play football,Its the connaught cup and admittedly they played against what some people may say was a Lesser team.Its a cup competition and and its not there fault who the opposition were,but they still had to play and play football they did...end of story
    Fair point 1924.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast