Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    73 as of yesterday afternoon!
    I. Don't. Believe. You.

Examples - Cork last game of the 2007 season. 20 Gardaí storm onto the away section in Turners cross knocking lumps out of anyone in sight because one person has a flare. Constant little provocations at Dalymount from them. Why do you think we have a Garda Harassment forum at TheBohs.Com?

You have been really unlucky with your choices of GAA game

Never saw anything that bad between two sets of fans inside a LOI ground in this decade. Was I just lucky?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Why do you think we have a Garda Harassment forum at TheBohs.Com?
    I could tell you why I think but you wouldn't like it.

Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    I presume you mean at intercounty level? Last incident I can remember is the Dublin statistician headbutting a Monaghan player. Can't think of many others.
    Are you serious? Come off the stage or down out of the clouds. It goes on wholesale

There's 85,000 people at every Dublin championship game.
    Fair enough, go with a ratio so and see how it fairs out. I'd put money on it, and thats even with the current level of reporting and glossing over of GAA trouble that goes on.

How about as an exercise you compare the number of times a fan or other non-participant has assaulted a player on the pitch in the GAA compared with football at all levels which would be much fairer afterall.
    I have heard of countless incidents at GAA games that would far out number anything at footie games, and i have witnessed far more incidents at GAA games, from the Harty Cup to Munster Finals, and i can tell you that i have been to far more footie games than GAA games.

Still you could give me 500 it still wouldn't make hooliganism the gardais fault.
    500 and it still wouldn't make you sit up and take notice, sure what the feic are you posting about it for so, its pointless. What if everyone in Donegal had the same attitude as you???

You have been really unlucky with your choices of GAA game.
    I'd agree but thats not to say it doesn't happen, and when it does happen it can be on a far larger scale than anything you'll see at a LOI game.
    Last edited by A face; 02/12/2008 at 10:01 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Fair enough, go with a ratio so and see how it fairs out. I'd put money on it, and thats even with the current level of reporting and glossing over of GAA trouble that goes on.
    Ratio wouldn't be particularly fair either seeing as you would be dealing with far larger numbers and a far larger cross section of society at GAA games.

Championship games aren't even segregated FFS.

Myself and ten of my mates (no sniggering at the back) could travel to a game in say Thurles without tickets, get tickets for the "Clare end", bring in as much drink as we could carry and cheer and whoop and generally act the culchie for 70 minutes without an ounce of hassle.

I've done it on numerous occasions

Can you imagine if we tried to do the same at say a Rovers v Limerick F.C. game??

And remember at the GAA game there would be about 15,000 in the end, whereas as the football game there would be about 1500 in the ground.

I have heard of countless incidents at GAA games that would far out number anything at footie games, and i have witnessed far more incidents at GAA games, from the Harty Cup to Munster Finals,
    Is Limerick honestly the only place where you hear of the officials at Junior games getting a smack in the mouth every now and again?!?!

and i can tell you that i have been to far more footie games than GAA games.
    Obviously, since you just admitted yourself that much of your info on the GAA games is second hand.

500 and it still wouldn't make you sit up and take notice, sure what the feic are you posting about it for so, its pointless. What if everyone in Donegal had the same attitude as you???
    What, in ainm de, is this about?!?!

I'd agree but thats not to say it doesn't happen, and when it does happen it can be on a far larger scale than anything you'll see at a LOI game
    Mainly because the crowds would be on a far, far larger scale I'm sure you'd agree??
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 02/12/2008 at 10:15 PM. Reason: I struggle with basic reading at times

Never saw anything that bad between two sets of fans inside a LOI ground in this decade. Was I just lucky?
    What about around the ground??

Oh right. That's absolutely nothing to do with the league.......

What about around the ground??

Oh right. That's absolutely nothing to do with the league.......
    You see very little around the ground too. As I said, this is a non-topic. Some lazy journo needed to make a deadline.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

You see very little around the ground too. As I said, this is a non-topic.
    I've seen far worse around LoI grounds than I have around GAA grounds.

Have never seen a gun fired after a hurling match.

I don't think anybody is claiming that it's a particularly big deal.

All I'm saying is that it is a problem that exists, it is a realatively large one given the tiny numbers involved and it could IMO be very easily nipped in the bud (well to a large extent anyway) if clubs were really pushed about it.

Just to lighten the mood like

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post

Just to lighten the mood like
    He's getting all his gifs over on football 365 folks!!!

You aint impressing me that easily jebus!

He's getting all his gifs over on football 365 folks!!!

You aint impressing me that easily jebus!
    Some, but not this one

Next time you're around mine I'll have to show you a forum that will open your eyes

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Next time you're around mine I'll have to show you a forum that will open your eyes
    Bloody Students

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Are you serious? Come off the stage or down out of the clouds. It goes on wholesale
    Non-participants attacking players? At intercounty level? Give me some examples so.

I. Don't. Believe. You.
    Shocking that

82 Posts
    Myself and ten of my mates (no sniggering at the back) could travel to a game in say Thurles without tickets, get tickets for the "Clare end", bring in as much drink as we could carry and cheer and whoop and generally act the culchie for 70 minutes without an ounce of hassle.
    Go and do that on the Hill at a Dubs game and tell us how you get on.

Non-participants attacking players? At intercounty level? Give me some examples so.
    Whats the obsession with the intercounty level? Surely senior club fixtures are more in line with EL attendences?

You know well and good that spectators have assaulted referees, players and team officials on quite a few occasions at senior club games over the last few years. Its been reported in the national press.

The only incident I can remember in the EL is Tom clotheslining an assistant referee a few seasons back (Belfield or Bray?). Oh and one of our fans pulled Barry Ryan's ears as he went to take a goal kick about 8 years ago.

The reality is that the GAA has such a control over the psyche of the media and other apparatus of the state that any hint of public disorder is either brushed under the carpet or portrayed as an integral part of the "manliness" that is an inherent part of the sport (subtext: if you complain you're a soft poof, most probably from the city and are probably unpatriotic to boot).

So in summary, when some mucksavage in a headband acts up its portayed as exhuberance and a bit of craic, but when someone dressed in Burberry or Stone Island does it its somehow more sinister and pretty much organised gang violence.

How many EL clubs are there? Now how many GAA clubs are there?
    It is far more reasonable to compare the eircom league with intercounty GAA in terms of the number of teams participating.

How many EL clubs are there? Now how many GAA clubs are there?
    It is far more reasonable to compare the eircom league with intercounty GAA in terms of the number of teams participating.
    For Jaysus sake man get off your ratio mantra.

As regards football there is the EL teams right down to Sunday mroning kickarounds going on in the country all the time every weekend.

Believe me, you know and I know if there was hassle at those games e.g. EL Reserve / 'A' games, Leinster or other provincial Senior or Junior games, Junior Cup games etc. it would be reported in the papers - especially the herald!!

It doesn't happen at those levels in football, it does happen at those levels, as well as right down to U-12 games in the GAA world - get over it!!

[quote]
    Examples - Cork last game of the 2007 season. 20 Gardaí storm onto the away section in Turners cross knocking lumps out of anyone in sight because one person has a flare. Constant little provocations at Dalymount from them.
    This is very exaggerated i was at that game and bohs fans had flares and cork city fans had smoke and also a flare that didnt last long at the other end of the derrynane ( where ye were) and yes they might of pushed and shoved but certainly did not "knock lumps out of anyone"

[quote]
    Why do you think we have a Garda Harassment forum at TheBohs.Com?
    To plan yer little casual outings of course and how ye'll do a display without being caught

57 Posts
    By and large there isn't a hooligan problem in any sport in this country.

I'm sure we can all find instances in other sports. We have issues in football too but they are pretty minor. The Tribune is a terrible newspaper in all respects and that is where the criticism should be directed. They'll probably ignore th eelague again next season and run the story for a 3rd time this time next year.

As for general media coverage this is one area where the FAI could do much better. The GAA get good press because they are paranoid about their image. They will threaten to sue any paper that dares to utter criticism. The FAI have failed to sue in every case despite blatant libel.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    By and large there isn't a hooligan problem in any sport in this country.

I'm sure we can all find instances in other sports. We have issues in football too but they are pretty minor. The Tribune is a terrible newspaper in all respects and that is where the criticism should be directed. They'll probably ignore th eelague again next season and run the story for a 3rd time this time next year.

As for general media coverage this is one area where the FAI could do much better. The GAA get good press because they are paranoid about their image. They will threaten to sue any paper that dares to utter criticism. The FAI have failed to sue in every case despite blatant libel.
    I don't understand your last comparison, would you prefer Irish Football to develop a mental illness.
    There is the McDonald's model of replying to ever negative point, article or letter published. But that was more manageable in the 'hardcopy' era. Nowadays, when Irish Football does reply and attempt to manage some aspects of the media they are hysterically accused of extreme behaviour.

Of course, it does not make sense to sue (even threathen to sue) unless the injury is obvious. Otherwise you gain a reputation like Robert Maxwell's.
    (And I don't mean a nice trip on a yacht.)
    Last edited by HarpoJoyce; 03/12/2008 at 3:24 PM.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast