I'm afraid no other tone is possble in response to the ill-informed, sensationalist garbage you've been posting...
Had you read on you'd have seen a link to media footage of crowd disorder immediately outside a Championship stadium only last night. There goes your myth of trouble not happening in or around stadiums.
Like the Tribune, you've lost all sense of proportion on the scale of this topic in Ireland. It does happen, and it does need tackling - but it is isolated and mostly the actions of bored, spotty teenagers. The Tribune makes it sound like every Friday night is Green Street - which is the problem everyone bar you has with their article.
I said it wasn't the responsibility of Bohs, Rovers or Shels to police public order on Dorset St or Gardiner St. (Or words to that effect).
You're having a laugh if you think the problem is worse here than over there. Do a search on youtube. There is loads of football related violence in England. Much more proportionately than here. Only difference is it doesn't get the press because the media has a vested interest in projecting a positive image of the game they make so much money out of. Here its the GAA indiscretions that are ignored.
TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY
The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!
All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.
GAA crowds are way way better behaved than LoI crowds.
I go to both and it's a fact whether ye like it or not.
Absolute drivel.
"It's the gardais fault"
Are the BSC and their flags barred from Dalymonunt yet??
If not, why not??
I don't know how you do things up the country but I prefer my football without dozens of kiddies running around the pitch.
There are so many puffed up tossers attached to the LoI given the crowd sizes it's pathetic lads.
And ye can whinge and cry about the Tribune as much as ye like, it doesn't change that fact.
Do you go to games in Dublin? Can't find the stats now but at least 15 people arrested at each of Dublin's game in the championship last year. (Report was in the herald)
how you making the jump from annoyance factor to hooligans being barred?I don't know how you do things up the country but I prefer my football without dozens of kiddies running around the pitch.
And all your hyperbole doesn't change the fact that its still a tiny percentage, and its still a newspaper taking any oppurtunity to take a pop shot at the leagueThere are so many puffed up tossers attached to the LoI given the crowd sizes it's pathetic lads.
And ye can whinge and cry about the Tribune as much as ye like, it doesn't change that fact.
Is there anything response from the FAI on this yet?
Its Tuesday the 2nd of December 2008
Why doesnt the paper name them if they have so much interest in this enormous problem
"You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"
That would give the toerag fans involved and their clubs notriety.
It's better that the FAI and cops keep them on the defensive.
If you're interested in your own club or tenants. Check with the Sergeant in the local Garda Station, who is involved with the security of matches at your ground.
" I'll go right up to here,
it can't possibly hurt.
All they will find is my
beer and my shirt."
Highlarious
You had the whole day to think a retort up and adding a e to my username (there actually is a foot member called Jeebus in other news) and changing your club logo again was the bets you could come up with? And I thought you knew how to WUM Maniac, disappointed is all I can say![]()
Last edited by jebus; 02/12/2008 at 8:51 PM.
1Really? You'd know? The Gardai have created problems at games where there was no potential for trouble and that is a fact.
2 Haven't seen a BSC flag at Dalymount in a long time.
3 Some people are banned some are not. Some who are banned are so without any evidence of wrong doing. Some are banned because of who their mates are. Its arbitrary. There is no blanket ban on anyone perceived to be BSC and why should there be. If you don't make trouble at games, you've done nothing wrong. The bottom line in all of this is that its really mountain out of mole hill sh1t. Wait until you're promoted and see if you feel safe coming to Dalymount. You'll ask yourself what all the fuss was about. That article and a lot of this thread are pure sh1te.
BTW I have seen more fighting inside GAA grounds than inside LOI grounds.
I saw the cops separating Meath and Kildare fans on the Canal end in Croker. 2003 0r 2004 I think it was.
No, the only reason to presume that would be because otherwise you are comparing JUST the eircom league, which is the highest level of soccer in this country, with the entire GAA i.e a small sample size versus a very large sample size.
Which would admittedly suit your argument a lot better as you could ignore the stuff that goes on at lower level soccer matches up and down the country.
There's 85,000 people at every Dublin championship game.
I was responding to a clown, didn't give it much thought if I'm honesthow you making the jump from annoyance factor to hooligans being barred?
HyperboleAnd all your hyperbole doesn't change the fact that its still a tiny percentage, and its still a newspaper taking any oppurtunity to take a pop shot at the league
Of course it's a tiny percentage, I would put it in the low double figures at clubs like Shels with it being even smaller at other clubs.
All the more reason why it should and could be snuffed out by clubs in a matter of weeks if they were really bothered.
You can't see the difference??
Absolutely nonsense comparison.As an exercise, compare the number of times a fan or other non-participant has assaulted a player on the pitch in the GAA compared with the EL
How about as an exercise you compare the number of times a fan or other non-participant has assaulted a player on the pitch in the GAA compared with football at all levels which would be much fairer afterall.
Give me five examples.
Still you could give me 500 it still wouldn't make hooliganism the gardais fault.
Eh??Some who are banned are so without any evidence of wrong doing.
The poor lambs.Some are banned because of who their mates are.
Why indeedThere is no blanket ban on anyone perceived to be BSC and why should there be.
Have never felt unsafe at a LOI ground in my life.Wait until you're promoted and see if you feel safe coming to Dalymount. You'll ask yourself what all the fuss was about.
What's your point??
You have been really unlucky with your choices of GAA game.BTW I have seen more fighting inside GAA grounds than inside LOI grounds