Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Tribune: FAI bans 30 in campdown on hooligans

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by maroon ultra View Post
    So are you suggesting that because it did not happen in the ground that it had nothing to do with LOI?
    no, he clearly means that if it has happened in a different country, miles away from the ground, how in hells name can Bohemians do anything to prevent it happening?

there is a problem with public order offences, the remit of the State, not the remit of the clubs and as long as the clubs are assisting in naming and highlighting known troublemakers to the authorities, then they are doing there job as best they can.

On the Derry incident, the cops and courts up there impressed me greatly with their swift and rutless reaction to the incident and the idiots down here would do well to follow their example.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    lol Probably not far off the mark there A face. Back in the Feile days I remember being able to spot undercover Drug squad by the crew cut and the black bomber jacket. (And by the fact they were trying to sell you something called ecshtashee).
    ...tie-dye Led Zep t-shirt, hush puppies and tan coloured chinos was another giveaway.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheech View Post
    There is trouble at matches.
    There have been many many incidents this last few seasons.
    I'm not saying that hooliganism is widespread in the league because it is not.
    You've tied yourself in knots all in the space of two posts.

The incidents you have referred to are spread over 4 seasons. So approximately 10 incidents out of 2000 matches.

"many, many incidents"...get a grip.

Do you think that there is a hooligan problem in England?

Obviously not as there is very rarely - more rarely than here maybe - trouble in or around the grounds in England.
    Cheech - your entire knowledge of English league football must revolve around Premier Soccer Saturday (or whatever it's called this week) because you're laughably way off the mark if you think that trouble in and around English football games is a thing of the past.

It doesn't happen so often in the sanitised Premiership any more - but outside of that there are certain teams and fixtures that almost always result in trouble. There's a conspiracy of silence over this in the national media, but the local media reports it all the time.

Take for example, the predictable violence that followed last night's Swansea v Cardiff match : a fixture that always results in trouble in, around or near the grounds. Look at the video footage on the URL link below - literally battalions of Police involved (over 500), on a scale you didn't even see at contentious IRA funerals during the Troubles :

http://www.thisissouthwales.co.uk/ne...l/article.html

Google any recent Millwall and Leeds encounters for another fixture that always has trouble around it. Over 10 fans were arrested inside the stadium during the last encounter.

And that's just a start. Without even searching, I'll guarantee you there would've been trouble before or after the Birmingham City v Wolves game on the weekend.

Your confidence assertion that there is more trouble at EL games than there is in England shows that you just can't be taken anywhere near seriously on this issue.

Something else to chew over with your popcorn whilst watching Premier Soccer Saturday...

Do you think that there is a hooligan problem in England?

Obviously not as there is very rarely - more rarely than here maybe - trouble in or around the grounds in England.
    Totally clueless rubbish. It's just not reported on.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Cheech - your entire knowledge of English league football must revolve around Premier Soccer Saturday (or whatever it's called this week) because you're laughably way off the mark if you think that trouble in and around English football games is a thing of the past.
    And Cheech, just so you know, its long been policy not to report on these weekly incidents because the police reckon that it will exacerbate the issue with hoolies trying to make the front page if it was reported on. So while the FA gladly support the idea of not acknowledging that anything actually goes on the police have curtailed the press in highlighting the issue.

That is common knowledge with the last 20 years !!

Wow! Wow! Wow lads. That is my point.

There is still a serious hooligan problem in England. But it rarely happens in or around the grounds.

It was in response to the Bohs fan who said that it was nothing to do with the LOI as it didn't happen around the grounds.

"Cheech - your entire knowledge of English league football must revolve around Premier Soccer Saturday (or whatever it's called this week) because you're laughably way off the mark if you think that trouble in and around English football games is a thing of the past"

Steve, I stopped reading your patronising drivel here. Can you make a point with without trying to belittle someone or make yourself sound like an intellectual on football, politics, policing and everything else in between?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    You've tied yourself in knots all in the space of two posts.

The incidents you have referred to are spread over 4 seasons. So approximately 10 incidents out of 2000 matches.

"many, many incidents"...get a grip.
    Have I indeed? Another self righteous Derry fan.

There have been many incidents in our league over the past 5 years. Some more serious than others. We all know this so why have a go at me? The incidents I referred to were serious incidents that I remember off the top of my head.

10, 15, 30 - does it matter how many if your son or daughter got split with a brick? It happens so hide your head in the sand all you want, if you ever decide to climb off that high horse.

so what yer trying to say is that if go to dublin, go on the **** and smash a window, im a LOI scumbag cause i follow a LOI club,

has anyone ever withnessed a fight on a night theres was no LOI game on, cause according to the tribune we live in avery peacefull country untill a LOI game is on,

why are ye even debateing it, people fight they just use the club as an excuss, if there not fighting on match day in sligo, there fighting down in the local on a saturday night, welcome to civilisation
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

By UK definition trouble away from grounds is not classified as football holliganism.

Most of the trouble I have seen in recent years has been schooligan related. Numbers of gardai alone will not solve this as they need to use common sense. For example - at Tolka bring the away fans bus outside the ground (the street is already closed) & guaranteed no post match trouble. The fact that the Gardai in charge cannot match such simple obvious solutions gives me no confidence they are interested in anything but extra overtime.

82 Posts
    Have I indeed? Another self righteous Derry fan..
    Beats being a drama queen.

There have been many incidents in our league over the past 5 years. Some more serious than others. We all know this so why have a go at me? The incidents I referred to were serious incidents that I remember off the top of my head..
    You quoted incidents at approximately 0.5% of matches over the last 4 years. That isn't "many" by any description, a more accurate description would be "isolated".

I go to pretty much every Derry away game and the odd one in the Brandywell and haven't felt threatened or seen trouble in years.

10, 15, 30 - does it matter how many if your son or daughter got split with a brick? It happens so hide your head in the sand all you want, if you ever decide to climb off that high horse.
    People get struck with lightning too, probably with a similar frequency to crowd trouble in the EL and we don't all sit indoors in a storm for fear of getting hit.

It was sensationalist, gutter journalism by the Tribune that is completely unreflective of whats going on at games (or whats not going on).

48 Posts
    Have I indeed? Another self righteous Derry fan.

There have been many incidents in our league over the past 5 years. Some more serious than others. We all know this so why have a go at me? The incidents I referred to were serious incidents that I remember off the top of my head.

There were more arrests at the weekend football matches in english lower division games than in the previous 5 years with games involving LOI teams.

Hit a google search on each home clubs town or city local press websites. Easy to do even for morons.

Have you not noticed contradicting yourself a few times on this thread?
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Maybe I'm not getting my point across properly. I'm not saying that is a huge problem but it is a problem and it does exist. Ignoring it will not make it go away.

I'm in no way defending that article... what I was pointing out was everyones indifference/denials to the fact that it references trouble in the LOI. Maybe I over elaborated on the frequency of crowd trouble but these were very serious incidents.

We all know that the recent emergence of these schooligans is a problem for some clubs....ignore these 15 year olds now and you could have major problems with them in a few years time.

I posted this comment. Sure they will pull it.

This is all news to me. Been attending LOI matches since 1978 as a life long Bohs supporter. This article is shocking in both its bigotry, ignorance and hyperbole. And that saying something for the Turbine.

If you want balanced coverage on all sport in Ireland then I suggest articles on all the Down Syndrome kids at GAA matches is a direct result of inbreeding in rural Ireland and how Leinster Rugby supporters are 90% blokes too scared to come out of the closet and admit they are gay.

That's the level of intellect this so called report and paper as a whole is dealing with in terms of their domestic soccer coverage.

No wonder newspaper sales are collasping in this country. 90% of Irish sports journalists are suffering from some bizzare identity crisis where Murdoch and Sky has them thinking Sunderland are and Irish club and they consider the League of Ireland a danger to the total domination of British soccer consumerism on this Island.

This is a psychology which has no other comparison on earth among soccer supporters. In every other country people and especially sports journalist understand that you do not fly or take a ferry to attend a "home" game by "your club".

The LOI is not going to die - DEAL WITH IT. But Newspapers are finished. Journalism is going the way of the Cooper and Canal Bargeman. Now there is a dose of reality for you. I can bet you anything that the Sunday Tribune will be dead and gone long after people in this country will still be safely enjoying their domestic league because they have minds of their own and can think for themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    There were more arrests at the weekend football matches in english lower division games than in the previous 5 years with games involving LOI teams.
    Ok fair enough. Comparing it to England was a bad example. But because there are more killings in Iraq won't make the gangland problems in Dublin or Limerick go away.

Hit a google search on each home clubs town or city local press websites. Easy to do even for morons.
    Obviously if you figured it out.

Have you not noticed contradicting yourself a few times on this thread?
    Where?

123 Posts
    off course there is a problem with football hooligans but it is small and the fact that it does not by in large kick off in grounds does not mean it does not happen ,is it the responsibility of clubs if it happens away from grounds no but that does not mean they should not accept a problem linked to leeagu of ireland.
    also while i hate the media constant rush to besmirch the LOI it is sometimes as hateful to constantly here people on here saying it does not exist or its not our fans
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    off course there is a problem with football hooligans but it is small and the fact that it does not by in large kick off in grounds does not mean it does not happen ,is it the responsibility of clubs if it happens away from grounds no but that does not mean they should not accept a problem linked to leeagu of ireland.
    also while i hate the media constant rush to besmirch the LOI it is sometimes as hateful to constantly here people on here saying it does not exist or its not our fans
    Thank you.

30 people banned out of the stated 100,000 fans of those clubs involved equates to a 0.03% of attending fans.

Jesus there are more people banned from nightclubs in every town in Ireland than that.

As others have commenetd how come there has never been any noted arrests at GAA games where rival teams, fans, management etc. have fought on the pitches from junior to intercounty level.

Kurfufel, schimozel, fracas are a weekly event in GAA world yet nothing happens. Just cos lads fight on the pitch doesn't make it a public order offence..........a but sure its only the competitive nature of the game, love of their county and all that b*&&()$

Again as others have stated the violence is primalrily carried out by Schooligans who in relaity have little or no interest in the football.

I would be more worried if it was mid 20's to 40 year old lads involved as is and always has been the case in the UK.

I dont think any of us on here has an issue with banning these idiots but as usual the Irish press make it out like we are in a 1970's -1980's England Hooligan problem.

I dont believe it is hooliganism rather it's anti social behaviour.

I am sure if you knew of or looked into these troublemakers backgrounds they have previous offences for public order matters. I doubt it is just the football that make sthem go nuts and start trouble.

However the people running the club buses should stop those people travelling to away games or of that doesn't happen other clubs should start banning away fans of those clubs with the troublemakers to their grounds.

There is still a serious hooligan problem in England. But it rarely happens in or around the grounds.
    For the record, i'm saying it DOES happen in grounds in England but its just not reported on. Just because you dont hear about it Cheech does mean that you can say with 100% confidence that it doesn't happen.

It happens every week on a large scale inside and around English grounds (i'm talking 1/4 mile radius)

Beats being a drama queen.
    People get struck with lightning too, probably with a similar frequency to crowd trouble in the EL and we don't all sit indoors in a storm for fear of getting hit.
    Right Jack.

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast