Thread: DCU new 10,000 seater stadium

Well, I was thinking hoofball, but an ability to turn a blind eye to the most basic of faults and think yourselves Gods sounds Corkonian to me too. I'll go with that one, thanks.
    Gaelic football = ball high in the air?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    I don't disagree that it will be GAA only, but think you're not being entirely fair on Quinn. For instance he acted lead advisor and consultant to Derry City in negotiating with Government bodies North & South over a new, soccer-only stadium.
    Yep, and look where you are

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Gaelic football = ball high in the air?
    Cork City FC = ball high in the air.

Surely I'm not the only one who associates the two? Deccie Daly, Clive Delaney having a laugh in Cork every year, and all that?

89 Posts
    The GAA must be dumber than I thought (!), they're living on a different planet.

A glass roof? 10,000 indoor seats? Weather inside? A big **** off replica of Hill 16 so a few culchies can practice for one of five large amateur games a year.

"And then, can we get some like, big massive lasers that shoot fire and when you run out on the pitch its all like WHHOOOOOOOSH, and the seats are all made of sweets but when you eat them they just grow back, and the ground is made of special stuff so that like, when you fall you get all mucky but you can't get hurt, and then we want a moat around it with a dragon in it, and then...."

48 Posts
    10,000 capacity probably means for concerts etc,
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Stuck with Gregory Campbell

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    It's got GAA all over it! I don't think there is a hope of Bohs getting in..
    Surely in these recession times all new developments should be shared across at least 2 sports? Surely any Governemnt department giving out these grants should have this foresight, to see that its investment is spread out as much as possible?
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Surely in these recession times all new developments should be shared across at least 2 sports? Surely any Governemnt department giving out these grants should have this foresight, to see that its investment is spread out as much as possible?
    Since when did rational arguement or financial incentive work with the GAA...?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Exactly.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Surely in these recession times all new developments should be shared across at least 2 sports?
    It will be - Hurling and Gaelic Football...
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

"At at E1.50 per seat it would probably be the cheapest stadium in history, let alone with with that sort of spec"

€1500 per seat would be the price

Good to see all those Derry Supporters Still attending Maths classes!!!!!!!!!!

It would be an unfair advantage if a team was to use this pitch. You can never replicate the real deal indoor (removable roof or not) Sounds like a return to the 80's plastic pitches

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    10,000 capacity probably means for concerts etc,
    That would be my understanding too, unless they have left out some digits on the price, it's not 10,000 seats at 15m in a million years

Quote Originally Posted by Wheelbarrow View Post
    It would be an unfair advantage if a team was to use this pitch. You can never replicate the real deal indoor (removable roof or not) Sounds like a return to the 80's plastic pitches
    It will basically be a very big shed with an artificial pitch, something like the Welsh RFU training facilities here
    http://www.vale-hotel.com/news/2403.html

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Since when did rational arguement or financial incentive work with the GAA...?
    Oh the irony.
    For the record, Peter Quinn was one of the driving forces behind the redevelopment of Croke Park which started BEFORE the celtic tiger showed up so if he reckons this project (on a far smaller scale) has merit, even during an economic downturn, then I'm all for it.
    Seems to me, a number of posters are looking at DCU's plans through the prism of LOI mismanagement and financial insanity.

137 Posts
    DCU lad (although he sounded like he was from the GAA) was on Saturday Sport this afternoon, and said there was capacity for 1,000 standing, and not 10,000 seating. He was at pains to call it a research centre, and not a stadium.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Unfortunately I don't think we have a hope but yes, this would be the ideal set up in a pretty ideal location, only down the road from our current home, we already train out there and have a link up.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    DCU lad (although he sounded like he was from the GAA) was on Saturday Sport this afternoon, and said there was capacity for 1,000 standing, and not 10,000 seating. He was at pains to call it a research centre, and not a stadium.
    That sounds orders of magnitude more likely. Sure, you'd probably get a thousand standing if they were two or three deep around a GAA pitch.

So, we're down from cloud cuckoo land to a €15M barn with a glass roof, air conditioning and astroturf floor. Oh, and a grate big pro-ject-OR to simmilate the hill.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

This whole thing is a good example of bad reporting. I listened to Niall Moyna himself describing the development. It'll be an indoor centre with a full sized artificial pitch that will allow for the creation of a uniform testing environment for the purposes of conducting research. They also want to include an athletics track around the pitch itself to be used by the DCU athletics club and national team as a training facility.

Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    They also want to include an athletics track around the pitch itself to be used by the DCU athletics club and national team as a training facility.
    In that case, no thanks. I'd rather the Fifteen Acres. They'd probably put that in so that we don't sue a la Thomas Davis in reverse. That would be fun, and you know we have the lawyers for it.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    This whole thing is a good example of bad reporting. I listened to Niall Moyna himself describing the development. It'll be an indoor centre with a full sized artificial pitch that will allow for the creation of a uniform testing environment for the purposes of conducting research. They also want to include an athletics track around the pitch itself to be used by the DCU athletics club and national team as a training facility.
    Peter Quinn was given a good grilling on Off the Ball last night about this. For a normally assured individual, I thought he performed poorly.

He was extremely vague on how much access non-GAA sports would get to the facilities (which he had started off the interview stating as being one of the goals) and when pushed about the DCU football (soccer not GAA) teams complaint that they had not been engaged in any way in the consultation and their request to provide input was ignored, he deferred to Moyna saying he (Quinn) had only become involved at the end of the process and Moyna was the person to talk to about the detail.

What I took away from it was that the indoor facility was aimed solely for the use of the GAA. At the GAA's behest, if they didn't want to use it 24/7, other sports possibly could use it, but that the principle way other sports would benefit would be through sports scientists doing generic field sport-type experiments using the facilities.

Anyway, good luck to them getting private finance as its clear that until the provide guarantees that it is a multi-sport facility they shouldn't get a cent of public money.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    That sounds orders of magnitude more likely.
    It sounds exactly one order of magnitude more likely.