Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: Comparison of Irish clubs in Europe versus Scottish clubs in Europe

Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    The best stadium is the LOI is Tallaght, it only has two stands and would be the worst stadium in the SPL if it was in that league so comparing the SFA to the jokeshop that is the FAI is unfair.
    Ahh Turners Cross

100 Posts
    Looking at the group Fc Sion were put in, Celtic should save themselved the embarrassment of looking to take their place..
    You've got no fans.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    Looking at the group Fc Sion were put in, Celtic should save themselved the embarrassment of looking to take their place..
    We wouldn't have got that group, we would have been in Pot 2, not Pot 4, as Sion were.

390 Posts
    We wouldn't have got that group, we would have been in Pot 2, not Pot 4, as Sion were.
    So they're going to go and redo the whole draw again if ye get their place?

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    According to BBC it'll be a straight swap with Sion.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    No, just get their place.

67 Posts

Whats that got to do with anything? He is talking about if you replace them now

55 Posts
    Celtic have been given renewed hope of being re-instated into the Europa League after Uefa insiders indicated that Sion are likely to be thrown out.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14679531.stm

It's looking likely this now going off what Platini and co are saying. The person who scored twice shouldn't have been on the pitch so personally I think they should be thrown out.

100 Posts
    Right, so the whole draw is going to be done again in order to give Celtic a fair seeding..

Should they win their appeal that is.
    You've got no fans.

55 Posts
    Right, so the whole draw is going to be done again in order to give Celtic a fair seeding..

Should they win their appeal that is.
    No, was just saying if we were in the draw we wouldn't have got the same draw as we would have been in a different pot to them.

55 Posts
    MeathDrog, btw I can't stop laughing at your fecking signature, classic mate!

100 Posts
    MeathDrog, btw I can't stop laughing at your fecking signature, classic mate!
    It's been my sig on here for a good 3 years, about time it got some recognition!
    You've got no fans.

55 Posts
    It's been my sig on here for a good 3 years, about time it got some recognition!
    Tis a cracker mate, one of the lads in work put it as his facebook status after I told him it!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Yeah, Shane Long for example.....

D'oh! Some of Ireland's best players were GAA men!
    doh - hurling, thats different - ie some skill required

btw - celtic wud be better off not going back into the europa to save embaressment, they are muck
    Last edited by bennocelt; 27/08/2011 at 8:39 AM.

903 Posts
    Events this week make you wonder whether the Setanta Cup might not be better re-imagined as an LoI-SPL competition. Our standard has definitely increased to the point where teams can realistically compete with most SPL teams, and the Scottish football calendar might have more gaps in future years if its clubs' seedings and advanced entry take the hit that this year's results suggest.

I think it would probably create more interest here than playing IL teams. Possibly more money too: can't imagine Derry or Rovers v Hearts getting a worse crowd than, say, Glentoran or Linfield would bring.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    Events this week make you wonder whether the Setanta Cup might not be better re-imagined as an LoI-SPL competition. Our standard has definitely increased to the point where teams can realistically compete with most SPL teams, and the Scottish football calendar might have more gaps in future years if its clubs' seedings and advanced entry take the hit that this year's results suggest.

I think it would probably create more interest here than playing IL teams. Possibly more money too: can't imagine Derry or Rovers v Hearts getting a worse crowd than, say, Glentoran or Linfield would bring.
    Can you imagine the horrors of having to provide security for the Rangers games here?

903 Posts
    You think it couldn't be done? We're talking 10% ground capacity being given to Rangers fans, which means between 300 and 1,000 tickets, presumably only sold to season ticket holders. We have enough policing and security experience to deal with that, surely?
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

473 Posts
    You think it couldn't be done? We're talking 10% ground capacity being given to Rangers fans, which means between 300 and 1,000 tickets, presumably only sold to season ticket holders. We have enough policing and security experience to deal with that, surely?
    It's not just the people in the ground you'd have to worry about though. I wouldn't put it past some of the Weegies, or people from the North, to come down and take the opportunity to wreak some havoc. It wasn't people who were at the game who trashed Manchester a few years back, by and large.

102 Posts
    It's a terrible idea. And would seem to totally miss the point, if there's any, of the setanta.

As to why it's even more pie in the sky than usual.

They'd have to have large holes in their calendars on a regular basis.

They might actually have to take the thing seriously - admitting this is the level they're at is one thing. Getting embarrassed is another. Both would affect their bottom line.

26 Posts

How about a carling nations cup but for clubs....
    the welsh and n irish would be at a relative similair level and then non glasgow clubs same level (?) as loi and if celtic and rangers wanted it would be interesting....

as for the other comment. What is the point of Setanta...?

Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast