Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Comparison of Irish clubs in Europe versus Scottish clubs in Europe

433 Posts
    Careful now or he'l be after yis..

Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

55 Posts
    Maybe I should keep talking is the answer, everything I say won't happen, does Rough as bejaysus just now, gonna be a looonnnngggg day!

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Tsk sweet jesus - doh, yeah of course
    have you never seen gah heads play "soccer" - total lack of skill, hoofball more like
    Yeah, Shane Long for example.....

D'oh! Some of Ireland's best players were GAA men!

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Careful now or he'l be after yis..

I'm not that ugly but I do certainly feel that way today sitting here in work! Celtic were always going out with a penalty given away in the first minute and down to 10 men. One of those days. Sion are pretty poor, they got a win handed to them.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    Sion are pretty poor

As are Celtc. Worse in fact

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    As are Celtc. Worse in fact
    I doubt that Chucky is finished yet !! He is dreaming some super seltic way out off this conudrum as we speak !!

305 Posts
    nScotlands John Delany speaks :
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/scotland/14673468.stm

"You look at some of the countries still competing and they are the minnows of Uefa," said Regan.
    Last edited by bullit; 26/08/2011 at 8:37 AM. Reason: none

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    I doubt that Chucky is finished yet !! He is dreaming some super seltic way out off this conudrum as we speak !!

My advice would just be to wait patiently until all the teams who qualified ahead of you go bust. It's always worked for me!

55 Posts
    I don't think you can compare him to John Delaney. He's on about a quarter of his wage for a start and is only in the job a few months. And as I keep saying Scotland has punched above its weight for years. The best stadium is the LOI is Tallaght, it only has two stands and would be the worst stadium in the SPL if it was in that league so comparing the SFA to the jokeshop that is the FAI is unfair.

Celtic are on a bad spell, we'll pull out, we always do. We have the resources to like at no time in our history. We need a decent bleeding manager like when we had Martin O'Neill. Mowbray and Lennon have been disasters. A team full of internationals and he can't manage us past that dross. Granted we shot ourselves in the foot in the first minute but Sion are very poor and were there for the taking even with 10 men.

Delighted a LOI team have made it, just a shame it's the scumbags of the league and least team that deserve it given their dodging of debt and scumbag element in their fans but that's life.

On the coefficients for the 2011-2012 season, Scotland's will be 1.125, Ireland's will be, at least, 1.500.

EDIT: It's 1.125, not 1.250.
    Last edited by superfrank; 26/08/2011 at 8:47 AM.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

101 Posts
    Celtic may yet progress.

Hearing at cas on tuesday over egilibility of players in sion squad

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    I don't think you can compare him to John Delaney. He's on about a quarter of his wage for a start and is only in the job a few months. And as I keep saying Scotland has punched above its weight for years. The best stadium is the LOI is Tallaght, it only has two stands and would be the worst stadium in the SPL if it was in that league so comparing the SFA to the jokeshop that is the FAI is unfair.

Celtic are on a bad spell, we'll pull out, we always do. We have the resources to like at no time in our history. We need a decent bleeding manager like when we had Martin O'Neill. Mowbray and Lennon have been disasters. A team full of internationals and he can't manage us past that dross. Granted we shot ourselves in the foot in the first minute but Sion are very poor and were there for the taking even with 10 men.

Delighted a LOI team have made it, just a shame it's the scumbags of the league and least team that deserve it given their dodging of debt and scumbag element in their fans but that's life.
    Tiocfaidh ar something approximating a positive comment about the LoI?

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A N Mouse View Post
    Celtic may yet progress.

Hearing at cas on tuesday over egilibility of players in sion squad
    Yep they blatantly floated the rules and cheated us. I doubt we'll be so lucky.

Celtic could be handed a route back into the Europa League after UEFA president Michel Platini said that Sion were "in clear violation" of a ban on transfer and had used ineligible players in the competition.

Sion defeated Celtic 3-1 to take a place in the group stages but had registered five new signings in their squad. A FIFA ruling had banned them from all transfer activity for two years.

That ban has been in dispute and is set to be heard by the Court of Arbitration for Sport but Platini has said that UEFA will make a ruling on Sion's participation before their first group match on September 15.

"What is happening there is the rules have not been respected. FC Sion has not respected the rules of the transfer ban ," Platini said. "They signed players and then played those players."

Sion have challenged the rulings made against them in a Swiss court but UEFA general secretary Gianni Infantino said that was not relevant to footballing matters and confirmed that they could be ejected from the Europa League.

"The civil court ruling does not affect UEFA," Infantino insisted.

"We will look at our rules and the FIFA rules. There is a ruling by FIFA, CAS have ruled, it went to the Swiss supreme court and everything was confirmed but it has been challenged again.

"It is an interpretation question which is complicated - whether a two transfer-window ban means two transfer windows or parts of several transfer windows.

"Sion will be in the draw but they can be subsequently excluded. The control and disciplinary body will make a decision certainly before the group stage starts."

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Tiocfaidh ar something approximating a positive comment about the LoI?
    Of course, people seem to think I'll be raging an Irish team has achieved something. Even though I hate their scumbag fans, it's great to see.

First Division Champions

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kevincronin2000 View Post
    We still could One of their players who shouldn't have been on the field scored twice. They cheated and should be booted out.

But sad dragging up a facebook group btw. I'm embarrassed for ya

So how many scumbags do they have in that element?

Seriously though, between the two threads and all this, why do ye care about Scottish football. All I can glean from that is some sort of inverted inferiority complex, mainly based on Irish Celtic supporters, like some sort of repressed peoples.

If I were ye it would be fcuk anything else, the LOI are represented in Europa Group stages.

Like Celtic don't have a rake of Scumbag fans

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    Like Celtic don't have a rake of Scumbag fans
    Best behaved away support in Europe. You see our support yesterday after that shambles? You're mixing us up with another club in Glasgow whose fans can't behave themselves.

I'm hoping the fact it's us UEFA will thrown Sion out. I'm sure they would much rather have us and our support involved in the tournament. We won the Fair Play award from them after 80,000 of our fans went to a European final and had not one arrest.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    So how many scumbags do they have in that element?

Seriously though, between the two threads and all this, why do ye care about Scottish football. All I can glean from that is some sort of inverted inferiority complex, mainly based on Irish Celtic supporters, like some sort of repressed peoples.

If I were ye it would be fcuk anything else, the LOI are represented in Europa Group stages.
    I don't care about Scottish football, I give opinions on it because I live in Scotland and am in a position to. I care not a jot for it or the bigots in the SFA.

You're not me though, I support Celtic. I care about them, not the league. Don't get me giving an opinion as caring!

Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast