As an aside anyone notice the hundred or so Polish casuals in the middle of their "official" away section in the lower Cusack (they were surrounded by a ring of guards).
Hilarious watching everyone but them doing the bouncey.
Anybody think flares, smoke cans and strobos will now be a regular sight at the football or the hurling?![]()
SoccerC it was a bit tongue in cheek, hence the Royston catagory, but it was trying to avoid the scenario where somebody takes their 12 year old along to the singing section thinking it s a good idea and a. the language is a bit raw and b. he/she couldnt see anything because everybody is standing up which annoys dad and arguement ensues.
Same with the registed disabled bit, it is no doubt worded clumsily, It wasnt meant to offend apologies if it did.
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
The racism and hooliganism is shocking in the Polish league but not evident in the support for the national team.
Inside Polish Sport
Can I also add
Ditch
1. The drummers - soul destroying at times (I know they mean well but)
2. Go West after a goal is scored - god forbid we could just hear the fans cheering
3. 500 miles - steaming pile of scottish ****e
4. Previous ban on tricolours around the hoarding although I didnt see any polish flags banners removed
5. That Trappatoni song in conjuction with The Scum/2FM probably not a bad effort but I want nothing to do with it due to The Scum
Quite Liked
1. Irish band in front of Hill 16 before game
2. Karl Spain compering 'penalty' compotition
Last edited by Newryrep; 20/11/2008 at 3:59 PM.
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie
lads get on that facebook thing and pass it round to mates, then when there are decent numbers it can be justified to FAI, until then they wont take it seriouslly. And justifiable means about 1000 members.
Back in the day, atmosphere at internationals had nothing to do with flares or yewts jumping up and down during a game.
A crowd watched a game and roared (all sorts of things).
to be honest i couldnt care less how many were there. all i said was that a polish official said last night that there were 15 - 20,000 of them there. seeing as they sold tickets to their fans, hired buses from all over the country and liased with the Gardai on stewarding arrangements for their fans id say they had a fair idea of how many were there to support their team.
what shall we move onto next.... lets see, lets argue over how many were there from tuam.... anyone hazard a guess??
Last edited by jbyrne; 20/11/2008 at 4:14 PM.
Wouldn't want to guess till I heard what the Tuam massiv have to say, to be honest. I'd take their figure as gospel.
like our support left wembley, paris and stuttgart early is it???
point is our home support is pure and utter sh1te, everyone agrees. there are far too many event junkies/ corporate freebies and plain old t0ssers who get tickets.
however on away trips the crowds are far more vocal, not liable to nip out for a burger in the middle of the game and most certainly don't go home early to beat the traffic.
anyway it is the same in most places where the home support is far more muted than the boisterous travelling support. It just happens that the problems we have had for a long time for home Ireland matches have only got much worse in the big stadium
Jaysus, we really fly off the handle, don't we??
The away support drum up an atmosphere for one game, and all of a sudden, our fans are all sorts. If we were winning the game for 90 minutes like the Poles were, that would soon shut them up.
How many other friendlies had 30-40k home fans, some travelling a 200-mile round trip last night?
The reason we go to home games is to win, not to sing. When we're away, the emphasis is more on the trip than the game.
Some announcement in Polish, when they had a free kick on the edge of the area near the end, which led to them all cheering. Bloke beside me thought it was the announcement that "their dole payments are going up"![]()
Last edited by mypost; 20/11/2008 at 8:11 PM.