Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best Fans in the World debunked

82 Posts
    As an aside anyone notice the hundred or so Polish casuals in the middle of their "official" away section in the lower Cusack (they were surrounded by a ring of guards).

Hilarious watching everyone but them doing the bouncey.

Anybody think flares, smoke cans and strobos will now be a regular sight at the football or the hurling?

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    61,000 mentioned on sky sports highlights last night. id say the poles had a fair idea how many tickets they sold to their fans, dont you think?
    All the Poles bought tickets off the Polish FA did they? There were Poles all over the ground, they obviously picked them up off Irish people who didn't go. There's no way of having anything other than a guess at how many Poles were there.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Are you for real?

There are some people in your categories above who would give many a run for their money in terms of their vocal support.

Secondly, both are illegal under the terms of the Equal Status Act
    SoccerC it was a bit tongue in cheek, hence the Royston catagory, but it was trying to avoid the scenario where somebody takes their 12 year old along to the singing section thinking it s a good idea and a. the language is a bit raw and b. he/she couldnt see anything because everybody is standing up which annoys dad and arguement ensues.

Same with the registed disabled bit, it is no doubt worded clumsily, It wasnt meant to offend apologies if it did.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    As an aside anyone notice the hundred or so Polish casuals in the middle of their "official" away section in the lower Cusack (they were surrounded by a ring of guards).
    They were fans of Widzew Lodz and one comment from a senior Garda was "They're very disciplined"

http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    All the Poles bought tickets off the Polish FA did they? There were Poles all over the ground, they obviously picked them up off Irish people who didn't go. There's no way of having anything other than a guess at how many Poles were there.
    exactly. hence they said 15 - 20,000 of them there

82 Posts
    And why are you quoting that as more reliable than an Irish persons estimate?

Do Polish people have an inate ability to count large crowds better?

But how do they know any better than anyone else?

1,928 Posts
    The Polish are too prone to racism, for example, to qualify on those grounds.
    The racism and hooliganism is shocking in the Polish league but not evident in the support for the national team.
    Inside Polish Sport

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Yeah there is certainly a much less offensive way of creating and atmosphere. Have a tick box for the singing section and also have a tick box for a family section. That should sort it out. The clue is in the title and if people want to sit and watch the game in peace and quiet then the family section is for them no matter what age they are.
    they do that for the emirates for carling cup games and it works a treat.except they actually designate the seats and you chose, i.e. so one section of the ground will be for it and you can choose your own seat in that area.

Hilarious watching everyone but them doing the bouncey.

Anybody think flares, smoke cans and strobos will now be a regular sight at the football or the hurling?
    Would be funny. have to say it would be class in the hill with the dubs, but they would probably start throwing them over at the trains causing havoc and pandemonium

Can I also add

Ditch

1. The drummers - soul destroying at times (I know they mean well but)
    2. Go West after a goal is scored - god forbid we could just hear the fans cheering
    3. 500 miles - steaming pile of scottish ****e
    4. Previous ban on tricolours around the hoarding although I didnt see any polish flags banners removed
    5. That Trappatoni song in conjuction with The Scum/2FM probably not a bad effort but I want nothing to do with it due to The Scum

Quite Liked

1. Irish band in front of Hill 16 before game
    2. Karl Spain compering 'penalty' compotition
    Last edited by Newryrep; 20/11/2008 at 3:59 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    best away fans maybe, but home fans are shocking...we need a singing section, YBIG are currently starting a campaign for one!
    Agreed, there needs to be a section like that in the new Landsdowne Road for sure.

Went up to Cyprus game the last time and there were people giving out to others for singing and standing up in front of them.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

lads get on that facebook thing and pass it round to mates, then when there are decent numbers it can be justified to FAI, until then they wont take it seriouslly. And justifiable means about 1000 members.

1,928 Posts
    Back in the day, atmosphere at internationals had nothing to do with flares or yewts jumping up and down during a game.
    A crowd watched a game and roared (all sorts of things).

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Back in the day, atmosphere at internationals had nothing to do with flares or yewts jumping up and down during a game.
    A crowd watched a game and roared (all sorts of things).
    Standing terraces though made the real difference.

Seats are pants.

544 Posts
    And why are you quoting that as more reliable than an Irish persons estimate?

Do Polish people have an inate ability to count large crowds better?
    to be honest i couldnt care less how many were there. all i said was that a polish official said last night that there were 15 - 20,000 of them there. seeing as they sold tickets to their fans, hired buses from all over the country and liased with the Gardai on stewarding arrangements for their fans id say they had a fair idea of how many were there to support their team.

what shall we move onto next.... lets see, lets argue over how many were there from tuam.... anyone hazard a guess??
    Last edited by jbyrne; 20/11/2008 at 4:14 PM.

3,491 Posts
    Wouldn't want to guess till I heard what the Tuam massiv have to say, to be honest. I'd take their figure as gospel.

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Can I also add

Ditch

1. The drummers - soul destroying at times (I know they mean well but)
    2. Go West after a goal is scored - god forbid we could just hear the fans cheering
    3. 500 miles - steaming pile of scottish ****e
    4. Previous ban on tricolours around the hoarding although I didnt see any polish flags banners removed
    5. That Trappatoni song in conjuction with The Scum/2FM probably not a bad effort but I want nothing to do with it due to The Scum

Quite Liked

1. Irish band in front of Hill 16 before game
    2. Karl Spain compering 'penalty' compotition

Good post.

Quote Originally Posted by wexfordned View Post
    Would they all leave ten minutes early like our "wonderful" support. Fair enough about the polish fans but even for qualifying games in croker the atmosphere is more like a morgue.
    like our support left wembley, paris and stuttgart early is it???

point is our home support is pure and utter sh1te, everyone agrees. there are far too many event junkies/ corporate freebies and plain old t0ssers who get tickets.

however on away trips the crowds are far more vocal, not liable to nip out for a burger in the middle of the game and most certainly don't go home early to beat the traffic.

anyway it is the same in most places where the home support is far more muted than the boisterous travelling support. It just happens that the problems we have had for a long time for home Ireland matches have only got much worse in the big stadium

176 Posts
    Jaysus, we really fly off the handle, don't we??

The away support drum up an atmosphere for one game, and all of a sudden, our fans are all sorts. If we were winning the game for 90 minutes like the Poles were, that would soon shut them up.

How many other friendlies had 30-40k home fans, some travelling a 200-mile round trip last night?

The reason we go to home games is to win, not to sing. When we're away, the emphasis is more on the trip than the game.

Some announcement in Polish, when they had a free kick on the edge of the area near the end, which led to them all cheering. Bloke beside me thought it was the announcement that "their dole payments are going up"
    Last edited by mypost; 20/11/2008 at 8:11 PM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast