Thread: Longford Town - FAI Cup Champions 2003

Longford Town - FAI Cup Champions 2003

Longford Town -

It may have took 79 years but it was worth it!

Glory

Victory

Champions

AT LAST!

C'mon the Town!!!
    I have found men who didn't know how to kiss.
    I've always found time to teach them.

well done longford ye deserved yere day in the sun!

yesterday a moment that will live with me for the rest of my life happened, in front of me grown men cried as barry ferguson lifted the fai cup. the players, the management, the backroom staff, the board members, and all of us should be very proud of everything we achieved. from 20 people in abbeycarton to yesterday....and the best thing is its only just begun !!!!!!!!!

see yee in somewhere in europe !!!!
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Absolutely unreal......cant find words to describe yesterday! Fair play to everyone of da lads they really did us proud!!!

town r goin 2 europe!!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Well done lads, congrats. Have ye built the new trophy cabinet yet
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

Originally posted by Estar
    Have ye built the new trophy cabinet yet
    If ya'v any wood handy.
    I don't know what to say.Yesterday was just beautiful.Everything about it.In terms of singing atmosphere it wasn't great but to be honest i don't care right now

YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSS SSSSSSSSSSSS
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Post Longford make history

Longford make history

Longford Town captured the first senior trophy in their 80-year history when beating St Pats 2-0 in the FAI Cup final today (Sunday) at Lansdowne Road.

There was no denying the vale of Longford’s win as they also missed a penalty and struck the woodwork.

Longford took the lead just after the half hour through a deflected Sean Francis goal and Barry Ferguson also missed a first-half penalty before Shane Barrett put the game beyond ten-man Pats’ reach with a late second.

Read more at www.eleven-a-side.com

Congratulations, not just on winning but how ye did it.
    was an excellent performance by all.
    "tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!

Agreed. I thoroughly enjoyed watching the match on the box. The fans made loads of noise and Lansdowne looked good.

Congratulations Longford, it was your day and you deserved the victory.

caolan

Well Done

Congratulations to all in Longford, despite the sheer heartbreak and emotional turmoil that I'm feeling following out defeat, we never deserved it. Longford are deserved winners of the cup and I wish you guys the best for the rest of the season and your european adventures next year, enjoy them!

steveo

Thumbs up F.A.I. Cup

Congrats and well done from all at Cork City Supporters Club.
    Great performance on the day from both team and fans.
    Looking forward to seeing some of you at The Cross on Tuesday next ( if ye have time to take a break from the celebrations and if ye have any cash left !!! )

Stephen O'Callaghan,

Chairman C.C.S.C.

333 Posts
    was at the game and I thought the better team won on the day. Good crowd, atmosphere, pitch was excellent and a good game. Overall another good day for the el. Well done Longford!!!

Originally posted by ger121
    was at the game and I thought the better team won on the day. Good crowd, atmosphere, pitch was excellent and a good game. Overall another good day for the el. Well done Longford!!!
    I second that. Fair play

what a day for ltfc and the celebrations in town topped it off europe here we come
    Copperknob!!!

Well done, definately the better team. After the heartbreak in the last two finals, I'm delighted that you won.

111 Posts
    Absolutely amazing, id a good feeling we'd win, but not this way! An absolute pleasure to be part of and an amazing game to watch, with a finish to give us all heart attacks! Well done Town, may there be many more days like this!!!!!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

20 Posts
    Well done lads. Having watched the game with ye I can honestly say I don't recall anything like the scenes I was happily witness to last Sunday at a game involving el clubs ever, it was simply unreal.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Just after watching the game on video again. it'd still bring a tear to your eye. just want a thank the lads for a great day and a savage night. well done boys ye were brilliant.

congrats

Congrats to Longford on a great win.

Great for all the people who have obviously worked so hard to build the infrastructure of the club up over the last few years.

Might even see some of the eL haters in the press take an interest in the clubs progress.

Doubt it though.