Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Merchandise

Good post by Guts & Glory and I fully agree with him that the term nameless bloggers is wrong and in fact I suggest it should be dropped from this forum. whatever our posts are at least we are showing interest in the welfare of the club. As a new member (lifelong fan)I find the forum very interesting and we get a lot of information before we generally can read about it in the media. So lets drop the term nameless bloggers and let everyone contribute suggestions or ideas that in one way or another are in the interest of this fantastic club.

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    Good post by Guts & Glory and I fully agree with him that the term nameless bloggers is wrong and in fact I suggest it should be dropped from this forum. whatever our posts are at least we are showing interest in the welfare of the club. As a new member (lifelong fan)I find the forum very interesting and we get a lot of information before we generally can read about it in the media. So lets drop the term nameless bloggers and let everyone contribute suggestions or ideas that in one way or another are in the interest of this fantastic club.
    Alas this seems to be the way most of the MC looks at the fans. When they came begging for 130K, did we not respond? Short memory lads.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Quote Originally Posted by Redzer View Post
    Alas this seems to be the way most of the MC looks at the fans. When they came begging for 130K, did we not respond? Short memory lads.
    this statement and the club pros silence since it was criticised makes me wonder if the club care more about jako than the genuine supporters. i am not sure if i will be adding to jakos profits for the fourth xmas in a row.

Sligo rovers FC is all i care about on this issue.

Just read this thread! Think the statments about Jako are very unfair and unfounded,Last march I was going on a trip to Scotland with Strand Celtic aour season had not started,I always like to have a Rovers Jersey with me on a trip away.As the season not started the Jersey had not been released but I asked Nicky about new Jersey,He got me 3 jerseys before release date,but I remember the day I was in the shop His staff were working damn hard on the Team Kit to have it ready for the start of the season.Just to point out he gave me a nice discount also some thing he did not have to do.Jako in my opinion is good for Rovers and its great to see jobs been created.Good Luck to Nicky & Co I say.
    Till d End!

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Have to say I’m surprised and disappointed with the content of the statement from the club and Jako.
    I don’t think anyone on this forum is making any personal attacks on Nicky or questioning his commitment to SRFC but are trying to offer constructive views on ways to help our club. I have dealt with him in the past when purchasing equipment for teams and found the quality excellent and a great service. There is no doubt Nicky has been fantastic to SRFC but I think that the Sligo area has been good to Nicky too. That’s business and he’s not running a charity I’m sure, and I hope it goes from strength to strength for him.
    But does all this take away my right to comment on things happening within my club?
    A couple of comments to make on the statement from Jako, firstly do we really need a club shop open 6 days a week in the showgrounds when you have Jako based in the town?
    I think people would be quite happy to have a decent shop open in the Showgrounds on match days. I have purchased a number of jerseys and club merchandise over the last few years but very little from the club shop. I make a 140 mile round trip to see Rovers play at home so you can see the logistics of trying to get to Jako to buy something. I tried to buy two jerseys from the “club shop” this year but failed due to poor stock levels. This was an hour before kickoff.
    Secondly what relevance to the discussion has some of the points made in the statement, i.e. donating jerseys for funerals, the fact that other clubs are ringing to buy gear, that our merchandise is cheaper that the Shams stuff?? Questioning how many other ex LOI players give contribute towards their clubs?
    Its great to see the club are not changing the jersey or the crest for next season and I would like to apologise if I added to the confusion with any of my past posts, but I would like to post a copy of an email I received from the company “myteam.ie” on November 26th when I asked the question about a new crest.

“The situation with the Sligo crest is that it is being launched sometime next week. The crest was used in a teaser campaign in July August apparently and was also presented at a function in the town either this week or last week. The products that we have included in the pack carry the new crest. We are hoping to despatch any Sligo packs that have been ordered on the day of the launch. We are also distributing a leaflet to every household in Sligo town the day after the launch. This leaflet will show the new crest and will also carry a picture of the Sligo Rovers pack. I'm sorry I cant be clearer but I actually dont have any more specific information.

Are you involved in the trust? If you are It would be great if we could organise to attend a meeting and present the pack in person (So to speak!)
    Feel free to post this reply on foot if you think it will help!”

Maybe someone from the club should contact them to sort this out. As of 9.45pm tonight their website is still advertising the affiliate pack for SRFC with the byline. “ New club crest coming soon. All products will feature new crest” www.myteam.ie/sligo-rovers.htm
    Also a friend of mine received his SRFC pack today featuring a crest nothing like our current crest, on the items. As this is a company endorsed by the FAI can someone please explain, as this contradicts the statement from the club.
    Finally, most of the people on this forum know each other and I find the term “nameless bloggers” derogatory and a disgraceful comment on the clubs fans and I assume customers of Nicky. I don’t think anyone is suggesting for one minute we change kit supplier as the club seems to be well looked after by Nicky, which is not the case with other LOI clubs and their suppliers.
    If anyone wants to PM me in relation to any of the above comments I will only be too happy to discuss or clarify them as I don’t feel the need to hide behind my user name.
    Its also a pity that this was more negativity surrounding the club at a time when we should be on a high following the achievements of last season.
    Last edited by Redkenrover; 11/12/2008 at 8:56 PM. Reason: stupid computers!!!

We are changing our crest...AFAIK...

So Myteam.ie are selling the rovers package as it having a new crest and I believe that there was someone from myteam.ie saying that they were waiting for clearance on the new crest from the board to send them out?

The board however are saying that there is not a new crest and that we are keeping the same jersey for the coming season?

What is going on?

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    So Myteam.ie are selling the rovers package as it having a new crest and I believe that there was someone from myteam.ie saying that they were waiting for clearance on the new crest from the board to send them out?

The board however are saying that there is not a new crest and that we are keeping the same jersey for the coming season?

What is going on?
    You got it in one. Saw the merchandise first hand today and it features a crest similar to the one that was outside a filling station on one of them billboard things during the summer.
    That was the reason I emailed myteam to try and stop the confusion when this was first mooted a couple of weeks ago.
    It really cleared things up!

It does seem in retrospect easier to come to the conclusion that they may have considered changing the crest for one reason or another but it would seem from the club statement aimed at "clarifying" things that they changed their mind?

First of all myteam.ie got their idea from somewhere, the question is where? An absolute shambles really, we either are or are not getting a new crest it isn't that hard to clarify?

This debacle all stems from the fact that the board/PRO dont provide enuff information about the club and then every one is left to speculate on rumours, hearsay etc!

Provide more info and an online channel for well formed questions to be answered every two weeks and this would not be an issue!

For my part i dont have any issues with jako or nicky broujos!

Quote Originally Posted by D Brannigan View Post
    15 The shames merchandise is more expensive than ours!!!

Probably a typo but certainly brought a smile to my face - I sense a new nickname for our jackeen friends...
    Keep on keepin' on.

Got my affiliate pack today with the new crest, rang myteam.ie as even if they are changing the crest i still prefer the current one. They said they were given the go ahead to produce packs with the new crest but the PRO was not consulted and now wants to keep the old crest as Jako have produced the kits. But he did say the new crest will be on the away and european jersey? If they end up not changing the crest i think the club may be in a position where they will have to refund the cost of the affiliate packs

I'm in the same boat as you spud21, got my affiliate pack yesterday with the "New" crest on it, and like you I still prefer the current one. Does that mean that we now have 2 official crests or what??? It's all a horrible confused mess which seems to me could have easily been avoided. I can't see the club springing for refunds on the packs but I'm just wondering where it leaves those of us who have already purchased them? It all smacks of a lack of communication again!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Any chance either of ye could take a photo of the new crest and put it up here?

Quote Originally Posted by spud21 View Post
    They said they were given the go ahead to produce packs with the new crest
    Dermot, this is where we nameless bloggers need immediate answers. WHO GAVE THEM THE GO AHEAD?
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

On the myteam.ie thread in the main forum, the myteam.ie representative on foot.ie "Titan", has said that a statement from the committee should be forthcoming in regards to this crest.

In my opinion the committee are an absolute disgrace in regards to this. If they cant be open and forthcoming in regards to the crest how can we believe them when it comes to more important matters. I know they have said the crest is being kept, but people are saying we are going to have the "new" crest on the away and european kits. What team has two crests? Its a joke.

We cant be having the committee saying one thing, and then mytem coming out with the exact opposite. Both parties need to get their act together fairly quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by Jeebus View Post
    Any chance either of ye could take a photo of the new crest and put it up here?
    Don't have a camera with me but it's not a great crest, it's a shield with SRFC in large writing and est 1928 underneath with 3 lines - it really is awful compared to the current one. I dont even see the point in changing the crest - what's wrong with the current one? The guy i spoke to in myteam.ie was very helpful and said that the current crest could not be copyrighted so that's why there was a decision to change it, unfortunately for those of us (5 people i heard) who ordered them the whole management team wasnt consulted so it wasnt a complete decision by the board. There seems to be a lack of communication between the FAI appointed pro and the club pro, personally i think this should be one job and if it has to be 2 people they should be working together? Let's hope this mess highlights that problem and it will be sorted. If anyone has any queries on their pack i'd ring myteam as they are very helpful

Quote Originally Posted by Redkenrover View Post
    Have to say I’m surprised and disappointed with the content of the statement from the club and Jako.
    I don’t think anyone on this forum is making any personal attacks on Nicky or questioning his commitment to SRFC but are trying to offer constructive views on ways to help our club. I have dealt with him in the past when purchasing equipment for teams and found the quality excellent and a great service. There is no doubt Nicky has been fantastic to SRFC but I think that the Sligo area has been good to Nicky too. That’s business and he’s not running a charity I’m sure, and I hope it goes from strength to strength for him.
    But does all this take away my right to comment on things happening within my club?
    A couple of comments to make on the statement from Jako, firstly do we really need a club shop open 6 days a week in the showgrounds when you have Jako based in the town?
    I think people would be quite happy to have a decent shop open in the Showgrounds on match days.

Secondly what relevance to the discussion has some of the points made in the statement, i.e. donating jerseys for funerals, the fact that other clubs are ringing to buy gear, that our merchandise is cheaper that the Shams stuff?? Questioning how many other ex LOI players give contribute towards their clubs?
    Its great to see the club are not changing the jersey or the crest for next season

Finally, most of the people on this forum know each other and I find the term “nameless bloggers” derogatory and a disgraceful comment on the clubs fans and I assume customers of Nicky. I don’t think anyone is suggesting for one minute we change kit supplier as the club seems to be well looked after by Nicky, which is not the case with other LOI clubs and their suppliers.
    If anyone wants to PM me in relation to any of the above comments I will only be too happy to discuss or clarify them as I don’t feel the need to hide behind my user name.
    Its also a pity that this was more negativity surrounding the club at a time when we should be on a high following the achievements of last season.
    Have to agree with all of the above.
    Absolutely spot on, Redkenrover.
    Any comments made here by myself were not intended to offend anyone,
    only try and offer constructive comments on how the club could maximise profits from merchandise.

After reading the “Statements” again over the last few days,
    I am really disillusioned and annoyed at the hostility contained in them.
    These statements are way over the top and have made the situation 10 times worse as there wasn’t really a situation to deal with.

Was the Club Statement discussed at committee level before it was released ?

Anyone who knows me, knows I am a 100% genuine Rovers supporter.
    Sligo Rovers Football Club is my passion in life.
    (after my wife and kids !)

Any spare money I have goes into the club
    Im a season ticket holder ( I only used this once last season , I paid €15 every game and increased it to €20 when the club made its appeal)
    I buy a programme and half time raffle tickets at every game,
    I buy lotto tickets every week
    I am a member of the 400 hundred club
    I have gone to every function organised for the club and made voluntary contributions.
    I contributed towards two syndicate cards last season
    Im not trying to give myself a pat on the back,
    just giving an outline to the level of commitment I have towards the club.

After these statements I don’t know if I can justify to myself the same level of commitment.

Like Redkenrover, if anyone wishes to PM me to discuss any of this, I will forward them my phone no.

Dermot B your silence on this new development and issue is deafening.

Your so called "nameless bloggers" are spending money on myteam products after your assurances both here and on the Rovers website that the crest would not be changed.

Whats happening ???

Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    Dermot B your silence on this new development and issue is deafening.

Your so called "nameless bloggers" are spending money on myteam products after your assurances both here and on the Rovers website that the crest would not be changed.

Whats happening ???
    In Fairness can't expect Dermot on here defending against every post?

Look I think we are all looking for clarity before we go an purchase something that in the end profits the club. It's just a poor state of affairs that the club releases a statement and yet we still are as confused as before?

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast