Thread: John Gill/Manager position

John Gill/Manager position

Any word on the meeting supposedly held last night???

Haven't heard anything yet, I did hear 2 rumours 1. Pat Scully is interested in the position, and secondly a colleague of mine in Dublin heard that Roddy Collins might thru is hat in for it................................................ ......its a bit of catch 22.
    I'd like to see Gill get a shout at it.(but he should not be allowed to sign any player coming towards the end of their career, we don't want players coming unless they give 100%. Dessie Baker came here for a final decent pay day nothing more. I think we actuall got worse when he signed)
    But then if say we're bottom after 10 games, is it too late to start over with a new manager??

I wouldnt swap gill for either of those clowns you mentioned...Roddy collins eqausl financial meltdown...look what happened when he took over dublin city...carlton palmer 36 years old and was first choice central defender!!what a joke!
    Scully loses the plot alot...cassdiy was there palyer of the season last year and he released him...players like cassdiy, beno and crowley must be kept as they very rarely had a bad game last season!!

I say give gill a plan...he did say that he had a 3 year plan to get us up when he first took over and it looked that way after what 2 points from first 8 games but hey...he delivered on his word!

I don't think Gill has the tactical awareness to hack it in the 1st division. Scully has produced the goods at Rovers on a similar budget. Other lads I'd look at would be Dolan, Jeff Kenna and Paul Cook.

Dundalk supporters are crazy. After they lost to Limerick, every one of them were calling for Gill's head. And at the final whistle they were all shouting 'enough is enough John' - 30 seconds later it was 'who needs Mourinho, we've got John Gillio...'

Crazy stuff

74 Posts
    Giller Sacked and Job being Advertised.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Giller Sacked and Job being Advertised.
    Just a rumour at this stage.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

74 Posts
    got it from a very good sauce
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

86 Posts
    You'll have to do better than that to convince me I'm afraid.. I'm not saying it's not true but there have been far too many rumours flying around for me to just decide to believe one of them all of a sudden.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

yep Gill did deliver, and I say he deserves a chance. Out of the current squad I would keep Beno, Casso, Crowley, Ian Ryan, Simon Kelly, Mulvenna, Crawley( as a squad player, and his free kicks,corner could be valueble) and Derek Doyle, he really came into his own last 6 games of the season, and I'd actually keep Robbie Farrell, not the greatest in the world but he can took them away.
    If we have to have a new Manager, DEFINITELY NOT COLLINS OR FAT DOLAN for that matter.
    2 mouth pieces,

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by baddebt View Post
    yep Gill did deliver, and I say he deserves a chance. Out of the current squad I would keep Beno, Casso, Crowley, Ian Ryan, Simon Kelly, Mulvenna, Crawley( as a squad player, and his free kicks,corner could be valueble) and Derek Doyle, he really came into his own last 6 games of the season, and I'd actually keep Robbie Farrell, not the greatest in the world but he can took them away.
    If we have to have a new Manager, DEFINITELY NOT COLLINS OR FAT DOLAN for that matter.
    2 mouth pieces,
    I'd keep them plus Whelehan, Shiels and Marney. Shane Grimes is contracted for next season. Agree completely about doyle and I'd make sure farrell was the first signature for next season. I don't know what we need but or who we need after that.
    Long Live King Kenny

Was it HP, Chef or Heinz?
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

433 Posts
    Reported on lmfm hes gone.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

86 Posts
    I'm shocked that he wasn't offered a new deal..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I'm shocked that he wasn't offered a new deal..
    He wanted the job but wasn't offered it..Correct??
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

On Newstalk there, bizarre.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

69 Posts

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny2K7 View Post
    He wanted the job but wasn't offered it..Correct??
    That's my understanding of it.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    That site is run by a Shelbourne fan.. I wouldn't pass too much remarks. That story about the players boycotting the awards isn't being reported anywhere else.. The line about Jose Mourinho takes any chance of credibility away from it.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

According to 2 separate newspapers this morning...John Gill has NOT beeen sacked as Dundalk Manager.

He is still there, he has been offered a new deal as of yet and hasnt been told that he wont...the board are looking at their options and Gill respects that...in his own words in 1 of these papers he says he respects their decision and knows where they,re coming from that its taken this long to get back in the big time and they want to keep us there now so if you put 2 and 2 together you know what there all talking about.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish Independent
    Gill maintains that he would love to see the club into the Premier Division as manager next season, but he will not be offered a new contract and the former Dublin City manager confirmed last night that he will not re-apply for the job.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...l-1544090.html

Contradictory reports out this morning. The way I see it though is that Gill's contract has ended and the board are going to have an interview process for the manager position. Gill was told that he is welcome to reapply but I don't think he is going to..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Absolute disgrace...i hope gerry matthews or the other gob****e in charge read these kind of forums!!shower of ......!(let ye fil this space in) Amount of peops on here supporting Gill...only a select few ar@eholes where booing him and look whta hes done for us...Hope you people(ye know who ye are) are happy!club is in turmoil because of ye!