2 1.13%
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Premier Manager of the Year 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Bohs budget was not less than Pats. Where did you get the idea it was from?

Anyway, Fenlon by several miles.
    Wage bill/staff budget is what I meant. Don't know anything about their other costs.
    The PFAI told me that directly. I wasn't given, nor did I ask for, figures, but the order I've put the clubs in is correct based on the information I was given. Alan Mathews, based on communication with the PFAI and the FAI, confirmed it separately in public.
    Last edited by tiktok; 18/11/2008 at 2:27 PM.

147 Posts
    Just looking at who voted for who - didn't the first post say you shouldn;t vote for the manager of your own club? That's why I voted for Kenny, though my biased vote would obviously go to Kenna given what he did in the circumstances he found himself in
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

2,771 Posts
    i noticed that most of Kennys other votes came from Derry fans...

lol - good on ye lads.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

291 Posts
    I voted grudgingly for Fenlon. You can't argue with 85/99 points over 9 months, 7 goals more scored than their nearest rivals and at a rate of 1.6 a game, and the best defensive record in the league by 11 goals. As much as they are rivals and as much as I dislike Fenlon, you absolutely cannot find fault with that and I think deep down everyone who voted otherwise knows that.

However, I think Eddie Gormely deserves an honourable mention. The fact that Bray have very quietly taken 6th despite being tipped at the start of the season as relegation candidates is testament to the good results they've had this year. I don't think there was any time they looked to be in any real danger and I think Gormley's got on with a tough job with few resources and done very well.

Also, who the hell voted for Hegarty?

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Also, who the hell voted for Hegarty?
    Sligoman. Says it all really

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Sorry, I quite clearly jumped into the poll without reading the first post

Jeff Kenna get's my vote in that case...
    Same as that and I'll go with Paul Cook instead
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Sligoman. Says it all really
    In fairness, he said it was a spoilt vote.

How can anyone truthfully say Fenlon shouldn't walk away with this is beyond me

147 Posts
    In fairness, he said it was a spoilt vote.
    That can be the only logical explanation

my vote is for paul cook forget about cork city being docked points he still had to motivate them.. he had to sell three to four players cos of financial reasons and still they improved considerably over the last few weeks.. it was a pheonamonal achievement for him to qualify for europe...

Paul Cook for me, but maybe I am influenced by the fact he gets a mention in Jamie Carragher's autobiography and the fact that he led to my brother having the 2nd best night of his life when he got to stay drinking into the early hours with the Liverpool legends.

Also has the best twinkle in his eye of all the managers.

Oh yeah and did a great job on the pitch too.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Paul Cook for me, but maybe I am influenced by the fact he gets a mention in Jamie Carragher's autobiography
    Turns out he's friends with some of the Pool players. I'm hoping he'll get a loan deal with Torres eventually.

3,491 Posts
    In 2029?

Heggarty got a vote, get off the forum Paul.

Quote Originally Posted by hedderman View Post
    oops...jumped straight in and voted before reading the first post. Kenny has done a very good job this season. If Bohs beat us in the cup final, I'd give it to Fenlon. If not, still think he's done an excellent job at Bohs this year.
    Same i voted for Kenna before reading the thread... in fairness though Jeff lost half his squad and took over us while we were bottom. Cook is a good mention but had Sligo not qualified for Europe would he even get a mention?, coupled that with Corks 10 point deduction. Fenlon aswell, not too sure, he had a MASSIVE budget, also got a steal from us due to our woes(Deegan). Considering a deduction helped Sligo i'd have to go for Fenlon, but i think Kenna has done the biggest feat
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Turns out he's friends with some of the Pool players. I'm hoping he'll get a loan deal with Torres eventually.

Eh heh, who informed you of this nugget of information some time back??

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Who was the best manager throughout the whole season of 2008

** No voting for your own manager **
    I know a lot of people talk sh1te on this forum about things that they know nothing about, but I honestly would have thought that at few of them would have know who manages the team they support!

Paul Cook by a mile!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Pat Scully
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    However, I think Eddie Gormely deserves an honourable mention.
    Meh...I don't know.

We started the season terribly and we've had some horrible performances this year against the likes of UCD, Galway and Harps. We can do it against the "big boys" every now and again but we struggle for any kind of real consistency. 21 of our 39 points came at home to Derry and Drogs and beating Cobh three times (twice at home). There was also two awful performances in the cup quarter-final.

Also, Eddie has his favourites. He's forced out two top players (Franco and Duggan) over personal disagreements. Selecting Cawley as captain was another low point for him.

That said, we did equal our best season since returning to the Premier and we're up five points from last year.

He'd be nowhere near Kenna, Fenlon, Cook, McDonnell, Kenny or Matthews in my book.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    we werent in trouble when Cook took over
    I know...but there was trouble during the summer and he lost some of his players. Kuduzovic and Murphy were first-teamers, weren't they?
    Last edited by superfrank; 18/11/2008 at 5:19 PM.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast