Best atmosphere: Last game of the season vs. Bray.
Best away day: Any of the days in Derry
Best game: 3-3 vs. Drogs, 2-0 vs. Bray or 2-1 vs. Shams.
Player of the season: Raff Cretaro
Young player of the season: Seamie Coleman
Player you would like your club to sign: Anto Murphy
Worst Player: Thiam
Honourable mention: Pat Jennings
Goal of the season: Raf vs. Galway.
Highlight of the season: hearing Bohs had gone 1-0 up vs. Cork, then seconds later going 1-0 up ourselves.
Lowlight: Losing a rake of players mid-season and things looking fairly bad...
Worst away day: UCD
worst atmosphere: UCD
Best chant: "Let's all do the European Dance"
Worst game: 0-0 vs. UCD.
Best fans: Derry
Best ground: Richmond Park
Least favourite ground: Finn Park
forum user of the year: Jim
best newcomer: Jim
funniest forumer: Jim
It was actually great when we got it going for the first time on Friday night...
In fact I've been doing non-stop since then![]()
Best atmosphere: Brandywell
Best away day: Cobh/Cork
Best game: Rovers V Shamrock , Showgies 3-2 / Derry 0-0 Brandywell
Player of the season: Keith Fahey
Young player of the season: Seamus Coleman
Player you would like your club to sign: Keith Fahey
Worst Player: Stuart Malcolm
Honourable mention:Chris Butler
Goal of the season: Rossiter V Pats
Highlight of the season: EUROPE!/ Making every game!/ the demise of Paul Doolin/Coleman-Butler-Peers-Almeida
Lowlight: Galway staying up/ The mess of the league
worst atmosphere:Belfield Bowl
Best chant: Loo-la, loo-la (at Danny Ventre) / WERE ALL OFF ON A EUROPEAN TOUR....
Worst game: UCD away (first time round)
Best fans: everyone
Best ground: Turners Cross
Least favourite ground: United Park
forum user of the year:Sligoman
best newcomer:"
funniest forumer:"
Best atmosphere:Waterford away
Best away dayundalk
Best game:Waterford away you know which one
Player of the season:Sparky
Young player of the season:Gary McCabe
Player you would like your club to sign:Conor Sinnott
Worst Player:Keddy
Honourable mention:Bisto
Goal of the season:McCallister v longford
Highlight of the season:3-1 v dundalk at oriel
Lowlight:goes without saying
Worst away day:Athlone
worst atmosphere:drogs in the league cup
Best chant:the robbie doyle ones
Worst game:again goes without saying
Best fansundalk
Best ground:tolka
Least favourite ground:Morton
forum user of the year:........
best newcomer:..........
funniest forumer:.......
Best atmosphere:Waterford away
Best away day: dundalk
Best game:waterford away in the ****in rain
Player of the season:Sparky
Young player of the season:forsyth
Player you would like your club to sign:Conor Sinnott
Worst Player:freeman
Honourable mention:Bisto
Goal of the season:forsyth v longford http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuHxQHzstZs
Highlight of the season:3-1 v dundalk at oriel
Lowlight:don't make me say it
Worst away day:Athlone
worst atmosphere:drogs in the league cup
Best chant:john delaney your a f**king c**t
Worst game:just can't bring myself to say it
Best fans: dundalk still a fair bit behind the shels fans
Best ground:tolka
Least favourite ground:flancare
Best atmosphere: City at hime
Best away day: pats second 3 nil sweet
Best game: bray loosing 3-2 the right way
Player of the season: fahey
Young player of the season: o shea
Player you would like your club to sign: barry ryan please
Worst Player: fennely
Honourable mention: kevin murray
Goal of the season: one of kavanaghs, he had 2 or 3 nice ones
Highlight of the season: beating pats 3 nil
Lowlight: getting 2 penalty points on the way home from pats
Worst away day: drogheda
worst atmosphere: drogheda
Best chant: loads a money, loads a money, loads a money
Worst game: city 5-1
Best fans: derry
Best ground: brandywell
Least favourite ground: drogheda kip
forum user of the year: a face
best newcomer: redshanks
funniest forumer: me
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.
Best atmosphere: Shels on the last Day
Best away day: Waterford 3-1 Limerick (First One: "Chairgate") / Cork 3-0 Limerick when that peasant O'Callaghan gave us the finger and Jimmy Fyffe begged us to stop taunting him (George O'Callaghan that is)!
Best game: Limerick 5 - Waherford 1
Player of the season: Wayne Colbert
Young player of the season: Jason Hughes
Player you would like your club to sign: Steve Williams
Worst Player: Any of the Kildare squad
Honourable mention: Robbie Doyle - you can't argue with 16 goals. Even if he is fat.
Goal of the season: Gary Sheehan's mazy run and Top Drawer finish against Kildare (Limerick 4-1 Kildare)
Highlight of the season: Playing 'Gay Bar' over a mega-phone at the Wexford Youths because they were dressed in pink. Petty but hilarious.
Lowlight: Monaghan 1-0 Limerick First game of the year
Worst away day: Fingal 2-0 Limerick An own goal in the first minute made it all a bit pointless.
Worst atmosphere: Fingal. They's got a reasonably large bunch but you can't make an atmosphere in something that big.
Best chant: "(Mascot Wearer's Name) is a Lion, he wears a Lion's hat, he looked at a fifteen year old and said 'I fancy that.'"
Worst game: Limerick 0-0 Athlone Oh My God the Boredom.
Best fans: Shels brought an F load to Longford last bank holiday monday and they made a tonne of noise.
Best ground: Oriel Park
Least favourite ground: Morton - could we be any further from the pitch?
forum user of the year: LTID - Just when you thought the bile was gone.
best newcomer: L37Oldskool
funniest forumer: jebus during the Wexfordgate affair
Last edited by GenerationXI; 18/11/2008 at 9:27 AM.
We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.
- Richard A. Posner
Best atmosphere:Last home game V Harps
Best away day: UCD last friday
Best game:GUFC 4-0 Bray
Player of the season:Jay O'Shea
Young player of the season:Jay O'Shea
Player you would like your club to sign:Raf Cretaro
Worst Player:Mark Leech
Honourable mention:Bebo Flynn
Goal of the season:Vinny Faherty v Pats in Terryland
Highlight of the season: Staying up
Lowlight:Financial trouble
Worst away day: Cobh
worst atmosphere:I'd imagine the Bowel isn't always as lively as last week
Best chant:Thank you very much for taking Leechy
Worst game:4-0 defeat to Derry/ 4-1 defeat to Cobh
Best fans: Derry City
Best ground:Turners X
Least favourite ground:Finn Park
forum user of the year: Magicme
best newcomer:Batman! (not sure what his username on here is)
funniest forumer: It kills me to say it but I have had a chuckle at some of Jebus's posts But Patrick Dunne is the king of the one liners
Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 18/11/2008 at 10:53 AM.
Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008
Best atmosphere: From Derry at the League Cup Final
Best away day: Semi Final at Cork
Best game: Semi Final at Cork
Player of the season: Anthony Russell
Young player of the season: Richie Fitzgerald
Player you would like your club to sign: I’d like some of the senior players to come back
Worst Player: None
Honourable mention: Pa Doyle for having bottle, as our only keeper for most of the season
Goal of the season: Liam O’Loughlin V Cobh
Highlight of the season: Hosting the League Cup Final, with Ferrycarrig Park looking magnificent
Lowlight: Limerick walking out for the league game. The real reason will never be known
worst atmosphere: UCD
Best chant: Shoes Off If You Love The Youths
Worst game: Losing 2-0 at home to Longford. Really shocking
Best fans: Cork for their graciousness and Derry for the singing
Best ground: Turners Cross
Least favourite ground: I don’t like the RSC
forum user of the year: Passinginterest comes out with very concise arguments (just before I was going to make them)
best newcomer: Nah
funniest forumer: Jebus, you can’t help but smile
Last edited by oldyouth; 18/11/2008 at 6:21 PM. Reason: correction
Best atmosphere: Linfield @ home
Best away day: Pats 0 Derry 1
Best game: Pats 0 Derry 1
Player of the season: McGlynn from Derry, Brian Murphy over all
Young player of the season: McGinn or Quigley
Player you would like your club to sign: Fahey I suppose
Worst Player: Sean Ruddy at harps was up there/ Ucd's forwards.
Honourable mention: Sligo - Fair play.
Goal of the season: Farrens second against Linfield
Highlight of the season: Beating bohs in the FAI Cup final. Linfield at home.
Lowlight: Saying good bye to McCourt
Worst away day: Bray
worst atmosphere: Bray
Best chant: Spend all your money, hes gona spend all your money
Worst game: getting beat by Bray 1-0. Getting beat by Bray 2-1
Best fans: Apart from ourselves, Cork
Best ground: Dalymount
Least favourite Cowshead: Finn Park
forum user of the year: Dont be on the forum enough
Last edited by mrtndvn; 18/11/2008 at 2:06 PM.
MD
Best atmosphere: Limerick 37FC 1-1 Sporting Fingal
Best away day: Shels 1-1 Limerick 37FC
Best game: Limerick 37FC 5-1 Waterford
Player of the season: Wayne Colbert
Young player of the season: Yellow Lyons
Player you would like your club to sign: Shane Clarke
Worst Player: Damien Brennan, Shels
Honourable mention: Donie Curtin
Goal of the season: Colin Scanlon v Shels
Highlight of the season: Behind the scenes developments e.g. Knockalisheen
Lowlight: Wexford lighting debacle
Worst away day: Cork City 3-0 Limerick 37FC, League Cup
worst atmosphere: Limerick 37FC 1-2 Kildare County
Best chant: A team of Dubs in Tesco bags (directed at Monaghan Utd, opening day) ....or anything uttered in a Scottish accent at Morton
Worst game: Cork City 3-0 Limerick 37FC, League Cup
Best fans: Dundalk (apart from a few scrotes)
Best ground: Tolka
Least favourite ground: Morton Stadium
forum user of the year:
best newcomer: Generation XI
funniest forumer: Lim till i die
LTID
Best atmosphere: Cork away on August 8th
Best away day: See Above (and Cobh 2 weeks ago)
Best game: Demolition of Pats in the Cup
Player of the season: Brian Murphy
Young player of the season: Deegan
Player you would like your club to sign: Kalonas (again)
Worst Player: Thiam (earlier in the season - he did seem to improve/adjust)
Honourable mention: Paul Cook
Goal of the season: Hate to say it, But Fahey against us, second week of the season
Highlight of the season: Repeated invincibility
Lowlight: EGM
worst atmosphere:UCD
Best chant: 'We sold it two times, we sold it two times, that bit over there, we sold it two times'
Worst game: UCD 1-1
Best fans: Pats for the respect shown during the minutes applause for Adam Moran at the cup semi-
Best ground: TC
Least favourite ground: Belfield
forum user of the year: Magicme
best newcomer: not sure who's new TBH
funniest forumer: Dodge
Its just a bit of craic.
A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.
Best atmosphere: League cup final, Dundalk 3:1 game
Best away day: Waterford, for handyness
Best game: Dundalk 1st half, Shels game until the last 10 mins(3:0)
Player of the season: Anto Russel, hardly put a foot wrong, apart from moment of madness v Shels.
Young player of the season: Danny Furlong
Player you would like your club to sign: Like old said, bring back the seniors.
Worst Player: Gavin Doyle for long periods but improved once played up front.
Honourable mention: Keith Kearney, really grew this season, love his attitude.
Goal of the season: Furlong v Dundalk, great move, great header.
Highlight of the season: Cup final
Lowlight: Lk contorvery, Dundalk fans
Worst atmosphere: Longford home in october
Best chant: Shoes
Worst game: Longford
Best fans: Waterford
Best ground: Our own
best newcomer: meself
funniest forumer: i suppose Jebus springs to mind
A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends
I think we did steal that off Cork Steve!
But everyone else stole the '(insert club initials) allez, allez, allez' chant off us!
We may have a brilliant new one for sunday (without drums thank feck).
So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html
Best atmosphere: Has to be Cobh away or either of the Drogheda home games
Best away day: Enjoyed Cobh away, most eventfull game of the season
Best game: Toss up between Cobh away or 4-3 against Drogs
Player of the season: Alan Gough, played a blinder in all but 3 games
Young player of the season: Derek Foran looks a talent
Player you would like your club to sign: Love to see Jason Byrne come back
Worst Player: Ger Rowe, if he put half as much effort into playing as he does b!tching and blaming everyone one else on the pitch for his lack of ability he'd be some player.
Honourable mention: Gareth Coughlan, definately one to watch
Goal of the season: Kavanagh away to Dundalk in the cup
Highlight of the season: Finishing in the top half
Lowlight: Losing both cup quarter finals against Galway without much of a fight.
Worst away day: 3-0 up in sligo. Trip was sh!t from the off
worst atmosphere: Ucd first home game of the season.
Best chant: "When it's windy can you fly?" to Jay O'Shea refering to his huge ears
Worst game: 0-0 at home to Sligo. Fcuk all happened all game
Best fans: The three lads who made all the Bray games this year
Best ground: There's no place like home
Least favourite ground: Oriel park
I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway
Best atmosphere:Galway
Best away day:Harps
Best game:3-0 V Linfield
Player of the season: Fahey
Young player of the season:McGinn
Player you would like your club to sign: Dan Murray
Worst Player: Big guy Drogs signed up front (Tiam)?
Honourable mentionundalk and Sligo
Goal of the season: Owen Morrisons away to Pats. League Faheys V Bohs
Highlight of the season: competing unlike last years Fenlons disaster signings
Lowlight: Clubs going bust
Worst away day: Bray, only away league defeat
worst atmosphere: N.A. for Derry fans
Best chant:"we love you"
Worst game: Pats 0-3 at home they took there 3 chances.
Best fans:Sligo
Best ground: Terryland
Least favourite ground: Drogheda
forum user of the year: DCFC Steve
best newcomer: McLovin...don't think he's banned yet
funniest forumer:Magicme
Last edited by Candystripe; 19/11/2008 at 1:55 AM.
So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html
Best atmosphere: Home against Cork City in the Cup.
Best away day: Away to Shelbourne (Both times)
Best game: 5-1 win over Waterford.
Player of the season: For Limerick Paul Danagher. Overall in the league Keith Fahy
Young player of the season: For Limerick Jason Hughes. Overall in the league Jay O' Shea
Player you would like your club to sign: Joe Gamble
Worst Player: Conor Sinnott
Honourable mention: Various pubs around the country.
Goal of the season: Has to Gary Sheahan's against the Deise
Highlight of the season: Dundalk results.
Lowlight: The end of the season
Worst away day: Fingal away the first time. So f*****g cold
worst atmosphere: Wexford away
Best chant: " Wheres your money gone?"
Worst game: Either the scoreless draw with Athlone or the loss to Kildare
Best fans: Limerick.
Best ground: There are so many in the First Division, its so hard to choose. Probably Lissywollen.
Least favourite ground: Station Road.
forum user of the year: Not me
best newcomer: not myself
funniest forumer: Not me anyways
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie