Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Season review

Best atmosphere: Last game of the season vs. Bray.
    Best away day: Any of the days in Derry
    Best game: 3-3 vs. Drogs, 2-0 vs. Bray or 2-1 vs. Shams.

Player of the season: Raff Cretaro
    Young player of the season: Seamie Coleman
    Player you would like your club to sign: Anto Murphy
    Worst Player: Thiam
    Honourable mention: Pat Jennings

Goal of the season: Raf vs. Galway.
    Highlight of the season: hearing Bohs had gone 1-0 up vs. Cork, then seconds later going 1-0 up ourselves.
    Lowlight: Losing a rake of players mid-season and things looking fairly bad...

Worst away day: UCD
    worst atmosphere: UCD
    Best chant: "Let's all do the European Dance"
    Worst game: 0-0 vs. UCD.
    Best fans: Derry
    Best ground: Richmond Park
    Least favourite ground: Finn Park

forum user of the year: Jim
    best newcomer: Jim
    funniest forumer: Jim

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Best chant: "Let's all do the European Dance"
    Not only do you rob our Euro spot you also rob our dance

It was actually great when we got it going for the first time on Friday night...

In fact I've been doing non-stop since then

Best atmosphere: Brandywell
    Best away day: Cobh/Cork
    Best game: Rovers V Shamrock , Showgies 3-2 / Derry 0-0 Brandywell

Player of the season: Keith Fahey
    Young player of the season: Seamus Coleman
    Player you would like your club to sign: Keith Fahey
    Worst Player: Stuart Malcolm
    Honourable mention:Chris Butler

Goal of the season: Rossiter V Pats
    Highlight of the season: EUROPE!/ Making every game!/ the demise of Paul Doolin/Coleman-Butler-Peers-Almeida
    Lowlight: Galway staying up / The mess of the league

worst atmosphere:Belfield Bowl
    Best chant: Loo-la, loo-la (at Danny Ventre) / WERE ALL OFF ON A EUROPEAN TOUR....
    Worst game: UCD away (first time round)
    Best fans: everyone
    Best ground: Turners Cross
    Least favourite ground: United Park

forum user of the year:Sligoman
    best newcomer:"
    funniest forumer:"

Best atmosphere:Waterford away
    Best away dayundalk
    Best game:Waterford away you know which one

Player of the season:Sparky
    Young player of the season:Gary McCabe
    Player you would like your club to sign:Conor Sinnott
    Worst Player:Keddy
    Honourable mention:Bisto

Goal of the season:McCallister v longford
    Highlight of the season:3-1 v dundalk at oriel
    Lowlight:goes without saying

Worst away day:Athlone
    worst atmosphere:drogs in the league cup
    Best chant:the robbie doyle ones
    Worst game:again goes without saying
    Best fansundalk
    Best ground:tolka
    Least favourite ground:Morton

forum user of the year:........
    best newcomer:..........
    funniest forumer:.......

Best atmosphere:Waterford away
    Best away day: dundalk
    Best game:waterford away in the ****in rain

Player of the season:Sparky
    Young player of the season:forsyth
    Player you would like your club to sign:Conor Sinnott
    Worst Player:freeman
    Honourable mention:Bisto

Goal of the season:forsyth v longford http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuHxQHzstZs
    Highlight of the season:3-1 v dundalk at oriel
    Lowlight:don't make me say it

Worst away day:Athlone
    worst atmosphere:drogs in the league cup
    Best chant:john delaney your a f**king c**t
    Worst game:just can't bring myself to say it
    Best fans: dundalk still a fair bit behind the shels fans
    Best ground:tolka
    Least favourite ground:flancare

Best atmosphere: City at hime
    Best away day: pats second 3 nil sweet
    Best game: bray loosing 3-2 the right way

Player of the season: fahey
    Young player of the season: o shea
    Player you would like your club to sign: barry ryan please
    Worst Player: fennely
    Honourable mention: kevin murray

Goal of the season: one of kavanaghs, he had 2 or 3 nice ones
    Highlight of the season: beating pats 3 nil
    Lowlight: getting 2 penalty points on the way home from pats

Worst away day: drogheda
    worst atmosphere: drogheda
    Best chant: loads a money, loads a money, loads a money
    Worst game: city 5-1
    Best fans: derry
    Best ground: brandywell
    Least favourite ground: drogheda kip

forum user of the year: a face
    best newcomer: redshanks
    funniest forumer: me
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Best atmosphere: Shels on the last Day
    Best away day: Waterford 3-1 Limerick (First One: "Chairgate") / Cork 3-0 Limerick when that peasant O'Callaghan gave us the finger and Jimmy Fyffe begged us to stop taunting him (George O'Callaghan that is)!
    Best game: Limerick 5 - Waherford 1

Player of the season: Wayne Colbert
    Young player of the season: Jason Hughes
    Player you would like your club to sign: Steve Williams
    Worst Player: Any of the Kildare squad
    Honourable mention: Robbie Doyle - you can't argue with 16 goals. Even if he is fat.

Goal of the season: Gary Sheehan's mazy run and Top Drawer finish against Kildare (Limerick 4-1 Kildare)
    Highlight of the season: Playing 'Gay Bar' over a mega-phone at the Wexford Youths because they were dressed in pink. Petty but hilarious.
    Lowlight: Monaghan 1-0 Limerick First game of the year

Worst away day: Fingal 2-0 Limerick An own goal in the first minute made it all a bit pointless.
    Worst atmosphere: Fingal. They's got a reasonably large bunch but you can't make an atmosphere in something that big.
    Best chant: "(Mascot Wearer's Name) is a Lion, he wears a Lion's hat, he looked at a fifteen year old and said 'I fancy that.'"
    Worst game: Limerick 0-0 Athlone Oh My God the Boredom.
    Best fans: Shels brought an F load to Longford last bank holiday monday and they made a tonne of noise.
    Best ground: Oriel Park
    Least favourite ground: Morton - could we be any further from the pitch?

forum user of the year: LTID - Just when you thought the bile was gone.
    best newcomer: L37Oldskool
    funniest forumer: jebus during the Wexfordgate affair
    Last edited by GenerationXI; 18/11/2008 at 9:27 AM.
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

Best atmosphere:Last home game V Harps
    Best away day: UCD last friday
    Best game:GUFC 4-0 Bray

Player of the season:Jay O'Shea
    Young player of the season:Jay O'Shea
    Player you would like your club to sign:Raf Cretaro
    Worst Player:Mark Leech
    Honourable mention:Bebo Flynn

Goal of the season:Vinny Faherty v Pats in Terryland
    Highlight of the season: Staying up
    Lowlight:Financial trouble

Worst away day: Cobh
    worst atmosphere:I'd imagine the Bowel isn't always as lively as last week
    Best chant:Thank you very much for taking Leechy
    Worst game:4-0 defeat to Derry/ 4-1 defeat to Cobh
    Best fans: Derry City
    Best ground:Turners X
    Least favourite ground:Finn Park

forum user of the year: Magicme
    best newcomer:Batman! (not sure what his username on here is)
    funniest forumer: It kills me to say it but I have had a chuckle at some of Jebus's posts But Patrick Dunne is the king of the one liners
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 18/11/2008 at 10:53 AM.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

47 Posts
    Best atmosphere: From Derry at the League Cup Final
    Best away day: Semi Final at Cork
    Best game: Semi Final at Cork

Player of the season: Anthony Russell
    Young player of the season: Richie Fitzgerald
    Player you would like your club to sign: I’d like some of the senior players to come back
    Worst Player: None
    Honourable mention: Pa Doyle for having bottle, as our only keeper for most of the season

Goal of the season: Liam O’Loughlin V Cobh
    Highlight of the season: Hosting the League Cup Final, with Ferrycarrig Park looking magnificent
    Lowlight: Limerick walking out for the league game. The real reason will never be known

worst atmosphere: UCD
    Best chant: Shoes Off If You Love The Youths
    Worst game: Losing 2-0 at home to Longford. Really shocking
    Best fans: Cork for their graciousness and Derry for the singing
    Best ground: Turners Cross
    Least favourite ground: I don’t like the RSC

forum user of the year: Passinginterest comes out with very concise arguments (just before I was going to make them)
    best newcomer: Nah
    funniest forumer: Jebus, you can’t help but smile
    Last edited by oldyouth; 18/11/2008 at 6:21 PM. Reason: correction

Best atmosphere: Linfield @ home
    Best away day: Pats 0 Derry 1
    Best game: Pats 0 Derry 1

Player of the season: McGlynn from Derry, Brian Murphy over all
    Young player of the season: McGinn or Quigley
    Player you would like your club to sign: Fahey I suppose
    Worst Player: Sean Ruddy at harps was up there/ Ucd's forwards.
    Honourable mention: Sligo - Fair play.

Goal of the season: Farrens second against Linfield
    Highlight of the season: Beating bohs in the FAI Cup final. Linfield at home.
    Lowlight: Saying good bye to McCourt
    Worst away day: Bray
    worst atmosphere: Bray
    Best chant: Spend all your money, hes gona spend all your money
    Worst game: getting beat by Bray 1-0. Getting beat by Bray 2-1
    Best fans: Apart from ourselves, Cork
    Best ground: Dalymount
    Least favourite Cowshead: Finn Park

forum user of the year: Dont be on the forum enough
    Last edited by mrtndvn; 18/11/2008 at 2:06 PM.
    MD

Best atmosphere: Limerick 37FC 1-1 Sporting Fingal
    Best away day: Shels 1-1 Limerick 37FC
    Best game: Limerick 37FC 5-1 Waterford

Player of the season: Wayne Colbert
    Young player of the season: Yellow Lyons
    Player you would like your club to sign: Shane Clarke
    Worst Player: Damien Brennan, Shels
    Honourable mention: Donie Curtin

Goal of the season: Colin Scanlon v Shels
    Highlight of the season: Behind the scenes developments e.g. Knockalisheen
    Lowlight: Wexford lighting debacle

Worst away day: Cork City 3-0 Limerick 37FC, League Cup
    worst atmosphere: Limerick 37FC 1-2 Kildare County
    Best chant: A team of Dubs in Tesco bags (directed at Monaghan Utd, opening day) ....or anything uttered in a Scottish accent at Morton
    Worst game: Cork City 3-0 Limerick 37FC, League Cup
    Best fans: Dundalk (apart from a few scrotes)
    Best ground: Tolka
    Least favourite ground: Morton Stadium

forum user of the year:
    best newcomer: Generation XI
    funniest forumer: Lim till i die
    LTID

Best atmosphere: Cork away on August 8th
    Best away day: See Above (and Cobh 2 weeks ago)
    Best game: Demolition of Pats in the Cup

Player of the season: Brian Murphy
    Young player of the season: Deegan
    Player you would like your club to sign: Kalonas (again)
    Worst Player: Thiam (earlier in the season - he did seem to improve/adjust)
    Honourable mention: Paul Cook

Goal of the season: Hate to say it, But Fahey against us, second week of the season
    Highlight of the season: Repeated invincibility
    Lowlight: EGM
    worst atmosphere:UCD
    Best chant: 'We sold it two times, we sold it two times, that bit over there, we sold it two times'
    Worst game: UCD 1-1
    Best fans: Pats for the respect shown during the minutes applause for Adam Moran at the cup semi-
    Best ground: TC
    Least favourite ground: Belfield

forum user of the year: Magicme
    best newcomer: not sure who's new TBH
    funniest forumer: Dodge

Its just a bit of craic.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Best atmosphere: League cup final, Dundalk 3:1 game
    Best away day: Waterford, for handyness
    Best game: Dundalk 1st half, Shels game until the last 10 mins(3:0)

Player of the season: Anto Russel, hardly put a foot wrong, apart from moment of madness v Shels.
    Young player of the season: Danny Furlong
    Player you would like your club to sign: Like old said, bring back the seniors.
    Worst Player: Gavin Doyle for long periods but improved once played up front.
    Honourable mention: Keith Kearney, really grew this season, love his attitude.

Goal of the season: Furlong v Dundalk, great move, great header.
    Highlight of the season: Cup final
    Lowlight: Lk contorvery, Dundalk fans

Worst atmosphere: Longford home in october
    Best chant: Shoes
    Worst game: Longford
    Best fans: Waterford
    Best ground: Our own

best newcomer: meself
    funniest forumer: i suppose Jebus springs to mind
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Not only do you rob our Euro spot you also rob our dance
    I can assure you that City fans were singing that long before it reached Cork !

Next you'll be claiming the '(insert club initials) allez, allez, allez' chant is a Cork one......

48 Posts
    I think we did steal that off Cork Steve!

But everyone else stole the '(insert club initials) allez, allez, allez' chant off us!

We may have a brilliant new one for sunday (without drums thank feck).
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Best atmosphere: Has to be Cobh away or either of the Drogheda home games
    Best away day: Enjoyed Cobh away, most eventfull game of the season
    Best game: Toss up between Cobh away or 4-3 against Drogs
    Player of the season: Alan Gough, played a blinder in all but 3 games
    Young player of the season: Derek Foran looks a talent
    Player you would like your club to sign: Love to see Jason Byrne come back
    Worst Player: Ger Rowe, if he put half as much effort into playing as he does b!tching and blaming everyone one else on the pitch for his lack of ability he'd be some player.
    Honourable mention: Gareth Coughlan, definately one to watch
    Goal of the season: Kavanagh away to Dundalk in the cup
    Highlight of the season: Finishing in the top half
    Lowlight: Losing both cup quarter finals against Galway without much of a fight.
    Worst away day: 3-0 up in sligo. Trip was sh!t from the off
    worst atmosphere: Ucd first home game of the season.
    Best chant: "When it's windy can you fly?" to Jay O'Shea refering to his huge ears
    Worst game: 0-0 at home to Sligo. Fcuk all happened all game
    Best fans: The three lads who made all the Bray games this year
    Best ground: There's no place like home
    Least favourite ground: Oriel park
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

48 Posts
    Best atmosphere:Galway
    Best away day:Harps
    Best game:3-0 V Linfield

Player of the season: Fahey
    Young player of the season:McGinn
    Player you would like your club to sign: Dan Murray
    Worst Player: Big guy Drogs signed up front (Tiam)?
    Honourable mentionundalk and Sligo

Goal of the season: Owen Morrisons away to Pats. League Faheys V Bohs
    Highlight of the season: competing unlike last years Fenlons disaster signings
    Lowlight: Clubs going bust

Worst away day: Bray, only away league defeat
    worst atmosphere: N.A. for Derry fans
    Best chant:"we love you"
    Worst game: Pats 0-3 at home they took there 3 chances.
    Best fans:Sligo
    Best ground: Terryland
    Least favourite ground: Drogheda

forum user of the year: DCFC Steve
    best newcomer: McLovin...don't think he's banned yet
    funniest forumer:Magicme
    Last edited by Candystripe; 19/11/2008 at 1:55 AM.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I can assure you that City fans were singing that long before it reached Cork !

Next you'll be claiming the '(insert club initials) allez, allez, allez' chant is a Cork one......

Youre mistaken steve. Go ask lads on your forum. They took it off us.
    Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    I think we did steal that off Cork Steve!

But everyone else stole the '(insert club initials) allez, allez, allez' chant off us!

We may have a brilliant new one for sunday (without drums thank feck).
    Spot on

Best atmosphere: Home against Cork City in the Cup.
    Best away day: Away to Shelbourne (Both times)
    Best game: 5-1 win over Waterford.

Player of the season: For Limerick Paul Danagher. Overall in the league Keith Fahy
    Young player of the season: For Limerick Jason Hughes. Overall in the league Jay O' Shea
    Player you would like your club to sign: Joe Gamble
    Worst Player: Conor Sinnott
    Honourable mention: Various pubs around the country.

Goal of the season: Has to Gary Sheahan's against the Deise
    Highlight of the season: Dundalk results.
    Lowlight: The end of the season

Worst away day: Fingal away the first time. So f*****g cold
    worst atmosphere: Wexford away
    Best chant: " Wheres your money gone?"
    Worst game: Either the scoreless draw with Athlone or the loss to Kildare
    Best fans: Limerick.
    Best ground: There are so many in the First Division, its so hard to choose . Probably Lissywollen.
    Least favourite ground: Station Road.

forum user of the year: Not me
    best newcomer: not myself
    funniest forumer: Not me anyways
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast