Page 6 of 19 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: First Division latest

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Did Kildare rest any players tonight?
    seems they have been resting themselves all season, sure its all about the playoff!
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

147 Posts
    Commiserations to Shels. That is all.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Did Kildare rest any players tonight?
    Well there was 14 of them on the pitch who looked like they had a rest!! Kildare don't have the squad to rest players, There won't be too many changes in the team that played tonight and the team that is in the play off. Colin Fortune was missing, hopefully he will be back.

The play off is a 2 legged game. First game is in Mervue on Tuesday, 2nd leg is in Kildare on Friday. Away goals don't count apparently for some reason.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Youths 1-1 Fingal at half time. Fingal having the more clear cut chances from my report. Also Fingal fans in fancy dress and Elvis was escorted from the ground.
    The little skanger walked by the front of the stand and fired a full bottle of water in to the crowd. I still don't know how it missed everybody. As the guard escorted him from the ground he vowed to come back and 'get yis' next year.

A very good game of football altogether and a word of mention to the Fingal players who chatted to our young fans before getting on the bus and then gave them their boots and other gear, well done. The kids were made up

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    The little skanger walked by the front of the stand and fired a full bottle of water in to the crowd. I still don't know how it missed everybody. As the guard escorted him from the ground he vowed to come back and 'get yis' next year.

A very good game of football altogether and a word of mention to the Fingal players who chatted to our young fans before getting on the bus and then gave them their boots and other gear, well done. The kids were made up
    Who won the player of the year?
    It's a shame to see stupid things like that, especially when you see the good side with the players talking to the kids and giving them gear.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    I'm not sure Dundalk deserve it tbh, they bottled it again and collapsed over the finish line. Really feel for Shels, Keely's craven attitude to football gets its reward eventually though. But they showed great heart all year.
    We scored 14 goals more than shels and won one more game than them, oh and the small matter of finishing one point ahead of them, not to mention having on avg 500 more fans at our home games.

Didnt deserve it ????

Do me a favour will you
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

well done to Dundalk. No sympathy for shels.Once again their so called fans let down the club. They invaded the pitch at the end of the game and only for the gardai and the stewards it would have been very dangerous.Got some pics sent to my phone and it looked really ugly.Limerick lads needed a garda escort out of the place.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Absolutley gutted. Never felt so debvastated after a match before. The fans who invaded the pitch to try and start a fight with the limerivck soupporters arent real fans IMO. Congratualtions to Dundalk the league table dosent lie and after what happened in 06 its fully deserved. Bring on next season

They playoff is a two-legged affair the first leg being played in Mervue on tuesday and the second in station road

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GalwayRed View Post
    Absolutley gutted. Never felt so debvastated after a match before. The fans who invaded the pitch to try and start a fight with the limerivck soupporters arent real fans IMO. Congratualtions to Dundalk the league table dosent lie and after what happened in 06 its fully deserved. Bring on next season
    I dont know the facts here, but I will say two things.

This was a very tough way for anyone to 'lose' a lge title, tensions were obviously running very high. Shels fans must be gutted. But thats football lads, all day my head was saying it was shels title, but i just had that feeling and it was called hope that we might nick it. Never expected it in the 92th minute !

Now for Limerick, the most refreshing story of the season, certainly the most improved side of all 22 since July/August, I think they did well to beat us 3 weeks ago but they played us off the park earlier in oriel and again once in Limerick.

You are a credit to the league

Hard luck shels - but remember where you were 2 yrs ago - its also a credit you are still challenging in senior football
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post

Now for Limerick, the most refreshing story of the season, certainly the most improved side of all 22 since July/August, You are a credit to the league

Hard luck shels - but remember where you were 2 yrs ago - its also a credit you are still challenging in senior football
    First Division summed up nicelry there.

Blog

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KildareFan
    Away goals don't count apparently for some reason.
    They never have counted in the LOI.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel
    We scored 14 goals more than shels
    Most of those did come in the last two matches.

Now, let's troop off to BoyleSports, and bet on Game 1 next season:

Galway v Dundalk...

Was in Tolka tonight, down the Limerick end. Pretty entertaining game and an unbelievable finish. I was amazed to see the Limerick keeper up for the free kick at the end, fair play to Limerick for putting everything into it. Their fans seemed to enjoy winning the title for Dundalk too.

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    No sympathy for shels.Once again their so called fans let down the club. They invaded the pitch at the end of the game and only for the gardai and the stewards it would have been very dangerous.Got some pics sent to my phone and it looked really ugly.Limerick lads needed a garda escort out of the place.
    Could have ended nastily alright, pity to see it after a (IMO) pretty good-natured game. Shels fans at the Limerick end of the Drumcondra Road stand were giving out yards to the kids on the pitch too when I was heading out.

gutted, another year in the poxy 1st division. freeman had 2 great chances but hey thats football.

dundalk deserve it, the table doesnt lie

Just back myself. What a night!! I'll get my message to Shels out of the way first

hahahahahahahahahaha have some of that you poxy two bit never will be again jokeshop of a club. Best finish we could have asked for given the league table and those jokers who ran 80 yards to fight the Limerick fans and then realised at the 80 yard mark that there were no stewards or gardai to 'keep them back' and so retreated

Jokers the lot of them

Credit to the Limerick team, must other teams would have been dead and buried once Shels put their noses in front, but thankfully we despise Shels and so there was never a chance of that happening

Davy Ryan, what a legend, all of them really, one of the better nights I;ve had as a supporter of this club, and those morons running on at the end was the icing on the cake. I hear Shels practically needed to go up to keep the books in order, my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason so that we can claim that it was us that put the final nail in Shel's coffin.

Any proper Shels fan who is offended at any of this, all I'll say is clean the filth out of your club and maybe you'll get a bit more respect.

SUPER BLUES!!
    Last edited by jebus; 16/11/2008 at 1:14 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by GalwayRed View Post
    Absolutley gutted. Never felt so debvastated after a match before. The fans who invaded the pitch to try and start a fight with the limerivck soupporters arent real fans IMO.
    Genuine commiserations to you and other genuine fans but the shenanigans at the end when the Shels wannabe schooligans ran down the pitch towards the Limerick support only to stop ten or fifteen yards from the wall to jump up and down and shout a bit, coupled with the false bravado of a few Shels 'fans' last time they were in Limerick have damaged my perception of Shelbourne this year. Was delighted to see Dundalk go up for that very reason personally. Dundalk have been very complimentary about us this season too.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Was in Tolka tonight, down the Limerick end. Pretty entertaining game and an unbelievable finish.
    That was you? Dude you've changed!

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Just back myself. What a night!! I'll get my message to Shels out of the way first

hahahahahahahahahaha have some of that you poxy two bit never will be again jokeshop of a club. Best finish we could have asked for given the league table and those jokers who ran 80 yards to fight the Limerick fans and then realised at the 80 yard mark that there were no stewards or gardai to 'keep them back' and so retreated

Jokers the lot of them

Credit to the Limerick team, must other teams would have been dead and buried once Shels put their noses in front, but thankfully we despise Shels and so there was never a chance of that happening

Davy Ryan, what a legend, all of them really, one of the better nights I;ve had as a supporter of this club, and those morons running on at the end was the icing on the cake. I hear Shels practically needed to go up to keep the books in order, my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason so that we can claim that it was us that put the final nail in Shel's coffin.

Any proper Shels fan who is offended at any of this, all I'll say is clean the filth out of your club and maybe you'll get a bit more respect.

SUPER BLUES!!
    Jebus

Most of your post makes me vomit, good last minute goal and all but you and your club should take your vitriol and make some use of it. my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason - tool.

I'm sure when you sober up, you wont be as happy with another year in the lower league. Well done.

Blog

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    This was a very tough way for anyone to 'lose' a lge title, tensions were obviously running very high. Shels fans must be gutted. But thats football lads, all day my head was saying it was shels title, but i just had that feeling and it was called hope that we might nick it. Never expected it in the 92th minute
    Doesn't matter. We lost the title twice on the last day in recent years, and our supporters didn't try and fight anyone. As others have said, it could have turned nasty right and quick. Anyone see the stewart making the diving tackle on one of them? Wouldn't have gone amiss in the Irish 22 today.....

The runt element at every club needs eradicated, we have enough problems round the League.

Bizarre feeling celebrating a 92 minute goal for a random team.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

What a game. It meant an awful lot to have been involved in this tonight. I enjoyed every bit of it. The roar of the Shels crowd after they scored. All of the frantic defending at both ends. 45mins of real attacking football. Our equaliser thirty seconds from time, and most of all the headless pitch invasion. I would trade every game I saw this season for just this one.

No more Thursday night football!!!
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Jebus

Most of your post makes me vomit, good last minute goal and all but you and your club should take your vitriol and make some use of it. my only wish now is that the club goes bust in preseason - tool.

I'm sure when you sober up, you wont be as happy with another year in the lower league. Well done.
    I'm not even drunk

Page 6 of 19 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast