Thread: Sligo Rovers in Europe

123 Posts

Congrats Sligo
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Well done Sligo well done galway great achievements this season, and good luck to dundalk tonight would love to see another non dublin team in the premier division next season and spread the league around a bit

still dont know what to think

what a season, hero's every one of them.

147 Posts
    Delighted for Sligo, well done, intend on travelling to your home game next season.
    NOt sure you can say ye are there on merit as Cork were deducted 10 points, but that shouldn't take away from the celebrations, well done
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

living abroad for last few months, last night was the first time feeling homesick! i remember our last great euro nights, some of my best memories of rovers! so proud of our lads and cookie!
    come on the bit of red!
    i bet johnny chadda is smiling down!

Delighted for Sligo great club with a great history, brilliant manager and in my opinion one of the top 3 players in the league with Boco.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Don't know why it's fuzzy at times. The video itself isn't, it's just when it was uploaded.

Congrats lads. Enjoy ye're Odyssey!!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Delighted for Sligo. Enough good players and a good enough style of football to do reasonably well in Europe. Hopefully Cooke will have learned to be a little more ruthless, at times this year the play seemed a little naive particularly away to Pat's, (a game I was at) they were just too open.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

I still can't believe it.

38 Posts
    Well Done to Sligo, at the game on Friday and there was terrific support and atmosphere and the players stepped up to the plate,credit must go to Paul Cook and his backroom staff on an exceptional season, judging by the players reaction after the final whistle,no doubt they will give it their all in Europe next season.

Bray Wanderers fan!!

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    I still can't believe it.
    Either can I. After that, i'll never buy butter ever again.

Fair play Sligo!

good to see one Connacht side in Europe (and United were only 90 minutes away from Europe) - hopefully next season we'll both make it!

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    If we were not to get it then Sligo seems as good as any club.

If the Showgrounds if not suitable will ye move to the Brandywell?

Remember with European football comes the responsibility if performing. Unless ye get through a couple of rounds no money to be made as will be lucky to break even.

What were Sligos results like in the past?
    77 and 83 weren't great but 94 was good, got through a round against a Malteste team and gave Bruges a good battle. 2 draws at home with Herenveen and Nantes in the intertoto a couple of years after that.

I know we're only there cause Cork got the 10 points deducted but I'm delighted we finished ahead of them rather then maybe getting there if they were banned as was the talk a few months ago

Wonder what Hughesie and Faz are up to midweek in July?

They must be spitting...

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    77 and 83 weren't great but 94 was good, got through a round against a Malteste team and gave Bruges a good battle. 2 draws at home with Herenveen and Nantes in the intertoto a couple of years after that.

I know we're only there cause Cork got the 10 points deducted but I'm delighted we finished ahead of them rather then maybe getting there if they were banned as was the talk a few months ago

Wonder what Hughesie and Faz are up to midweek in July?
    They'll be at work

Congratulations Sligo! Great season and great success for the club. I'm happy because I predict before the season, that Sligo will have a good season.

btw: Which international competition achieved Sligo? UEFA Cup or UI Cup?
    Last edited by robertob; 16/11/2008 at 10:22 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by robertob View Post
    btw: Which international competition achieved Sligo? UEFA Cup or UI Cup?
    Uefa Cup, or Europa Cup as it will be called next year.

was at the game friday night easily the best atmosphere in the showgrounds in years.. delighted for the lads ... best of luck in yer journey next season!

Don't really see how it can be a step back for the LOI. We might not be a 'glamour' team from Dublin or have the crowds of Derry or Cork (for all the good it did the Rebels) but we're a 'proper' club with proper support and heritage ("80 years and we've had one name!") as well as playing probably the most attractive football in the League.

Plus, to be honest, it's got to be good for the LOI itself if a wider spread of teams from around the country get the chance of exposure to European football bringing in extra sponsorship and - potentially - support.

I for one am very proud of the lads (especially after the mid season we had) and can't wait to dig out the passport next summer...
    Keep on keepin' on.