He surely would, tosser of the highest order.
Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.
Exactly, as if going to the UK is going to make club risk going to the wall so we can pay players inflated wages. I'd put under 12s out to spite him if thats his line
If it did anything to shake up the FAI then it was a good thing.
I thank god that happened because we found out exactly what we were dealing with. It was so brazen and void of conscience it helped to highlight where the people involved wouldn't draw the line. No wool left for the eyes now.
Yeah, cos thats all he is at![]()
So what you, and others, are saying is that the players union official is working in the best interests of the, eh, players, and that's a bad thing?
The players and the player reps aren't the problem, it's the stupid clubs that agree to pay stupid wages that they can't meet that's the issue. As Longford fan I can moan all I want about how the Paiso situation developed, but bottom line is if we'd paid his wages on time and in full there would've been sod all McGuinness could have manipulated.
If you're looking for people to blame, look to the people that continually stirred up the need for full time football and the importance of European results when it wasn't sustainable.
Last edited by Dodge; 13/11/2008 at 10:16 AM.
Yeah, its not the criminals fault the house was ransacked of all its goods, burnt to the ground with all the family in it, its the home owners fault for not locking the front door. Yeah i hear ya man, nice logic going on there, fair play to ya.
Ambition, such a dangerous thing, we should stamp it out at all costs. thats our biggest worry, its got nothing to do with bad management of clubs.
When clubs are run properly for a sustained period of time and it then doesn't work then i'll admit defeat, until then your statement isn't worth a toss.
Totally agree,
As much as I don't like McGuinness and the PFAI they are the players' union and going to defend the actions of the players.
As Stephen Henderson said on MNS there's no other job in the country where you'd turn up for work one day and be told that your wages have been cut by 70% - it's totally illegal.
What needs to be done is that when players' contracts are being renewed that they're offered something that can realistically be paid - be it €300 a week for someone who was on €1000 a week or €1000 a week for someone who was on €2500 a week. You'll get the mercenaries like Stuey Byrne complaining but at the moment no club has money so he'll just have to go with the club who offers his most but Bohs or Pat's or whoever it is can't sign every player in the league.
Saying that all players will go to England is a total joke. There are only a handful of players in the league who English clubs would be interested in. All the lower league clubs are as ****ed as we are over here so anyone who thinks that MK Dons are going to be battering down Drogheda's door to sign Shane Robinson or the likes is living on another planet.
In the long run this will prove to be good for the league. Again to be fair to the FAI they brought in the 65% rule for precisely this reason. For whatever reason it doesn't appear to have been enforced but the fact that all this **** is coming out is at least partially down to that.
It's going to be the most interesting close season in quite a while...
I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"
Worst analogy ever.
There are a fair amount of players under the age of 25 who could earn more at league one, league two level than they do in Ireland. I agree that there won't be huge amounts moving but there certainly will be some movement
BTW I think Fran Gavin is a tool and the worst case of union rep turning management I've seen in years, howver he carried himself pretty well last night.
They definitely could earn more over there but unless they're among the top players in the league I don't think that English clubs would be falling over themselves to buy some player with 4 years LOI experience.
How many of the Pat's squad could you realistically see playing in England next season? Fahey & Quigley. Dempsey could for sure but who knows what will happen to him now. Do you think anyone would look to bring back O'Cearuill, Gavin or Partridge? Ryan Guy, Derek O'Brien, Gary O'Neill? I don't think so.
I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"
Just to clarify I was talking about McGuiness, not Gavin (who's nothing but a scab).
But your analogy would only ring true if the house owner had given the criminal the keys and alarm code, tied up his family, poured petrol around the place and given him the matches.Originally Posted by A face
But clubs haven't been doing it properly. Being spurred on by "speculate to accumulate" and "if we do well in Europe the crowds and money will come" nonsense talked by the likes of Collins and Rico is what has clubs in this position. The Ambition isn't the problem; it's the idiotic pursuit that's the issue.Originally Posted by A face
Nothing wrong with ambition built on a structure
It's not just about "bums on seats" as the Shels man Fitzpatrick remarked.
How are you defining "some movement", out of interest's sake? I could see 20-25 players moving abroad (doesn't have to be England, as Zayed and the other Drogheda lad are showing). It's not huge, but it is two teams' worth. Given a lot of the players will be free transfers (80% of the league out of contract, possibly as much as 50% of the league not being paid in full), it'd make transfers much easier. If the likes of Conor Sammon can get a team in the SPL, or John O'Flynn can get a team in England despite his lengthy injury problems, I'd say there'll be a decent bit of interest over the winter.
And what's the problem with these overpaid players leaving? As that Cork fan said on the primetime special, if these guys want to earn 2grand a week, let them go. We won't miss them. Hell, I'll help them carry their bags to the airport! There'll be others to replace them.
Look at Galway, for instance. They lost a load of players, but what they have now is cheaper and BETTER than what they had before. How much are Derry missing Paddy McCourt? Not much, with McGinn doing so well. The league will find a new star to replace Fahey next year, and a new hotshot will make us all say, 'Who was Dave Mooney?'
100% agree with you about Galway. Don't think it'll hold with, for example, the entire Drogheda team leaving for England - the league would be poorer for that. With all the financial problems this season, I can't see many experienced players coming into the league; it'll mainly be youngsters.
And that will give nthe league a chance to start afresh again. Again!
"Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
"Homer Simpson, smiling politely."