Thread: Keane has a go at Sky and TV Pundits.

Keane has a go at Sky and TV Pundits.

Keane blasts TV 'experts'

Also in Premier League

By Michael Walker and Nick Szczepanik

Saturday November 08 2008

Roy Keane came to the defence of both Arsene Wenger and Tony Adams yesterday, and in doing so launched a scathing analysis of the culture of 'short-termism' he sees as being propagated by the media, in general, and by Sky television in particular.

"It's the media side of it," Keane began, when discussing the immediate pressure Adams is under at Portsmouth after just two games, "particularly Sky Sports. A lot of people out there, punters, are getting brain-washed by what's real and what's not real. That gets to the players sometimes. We're on about league tables after a week; teams losing two games, it's 'a crisis'.

"There was a debate yesterday about Arsene Wenger on Sky. How crazy is that if you step back from it? People on Sky actually getting interviewed about Arsene Wenger, saying he shouldn't be doing this ...

"What that man's done for the game! And we're giving these people air-time. I wouldn't listen to these people in the pub, and yet they're on television constantly. What you've got to do is not to get sucked into any of that nonsense and try and focus on your job. But it's hard because people take notice of what's being said.

"Somebody said to me, 'Tony Adams has had a tough start'. He has had a tough start! He's played Liverpool away and a difficult game against Wigan at home. The average manager now, his lifespan is going down and down. I keep saying hopefully managers will be given an opportunity but the way punters are getting brain-washed every week, it's crazy."

Sunderland host Portsmouth today, which is why Keane was discussing Adams. Keane said he will not be doing so in a television studio soon. "I was asked last week by ITV to do the Celtic game," he said.

"A couple of weeks before that I was asked to do the United game against Celtic at Old Trafford. I think I've done it once for Sky. Never again. I'd rather go to the dentist. You're sitting there with people like Richard Keys and they're trying to sell something that's not there.

Dressing

"After the Newcastle game, we had Keys on saying we've never seen anything like it, dressing things up that weren't really there, just because he was in a bad mood. If you're going to watch a game of football, just go and watch it.

"Anytime I watch a game on television I have to turn the commentators off. They say, 'He's playing really well' and I'm thinking, 'No, he's not'. My advice to anyone is don't listen to any of the experts. Will Arsene Wenger be remembered in 25, 50, 100 years' time? Bet your life he will. Will any of these people on the television yesterday be remembered? None whatsoever."

Keane, who was this week charged by the FA after being sent to the stands at Chelsea last Saturday, also criticised officialdom and the Respect agenda launched at the start of the season. "Maybe it's just a PR gimmick," he said.

There is not much confidence either that Keane will convince the FA of his case.

"The last time, the FA had a murder lawyer against me and he was absolutely brilliant -- for some comments in my book about some Norwegian player at Man City. I bet he was expensive, just to make sure they won the bloody case. Not that you get a fair hearing," he continued.

Keane's comments will have been one of the rare comforts for Adams this week as his backroom team is now in turmoil following Joe Jordan's decision to follow Harry Redknapp to Tottenham Hotspur.

Adams had intended to have his new staff in place before today's match but instead, the make-up of his backroom is less clear than ever. Martin Keown, to whom he had offered the position of assistant manager, indicated that he would prefer to concentrate on media work, while a possible approach to Dennis Bergkamp did not get off the ground, rather like Bergkamp's trips to matches abroad.

Adams claimed he and Jordan had shaken hands on an agreement on Thursday, but the Scot changed his mind yesterday. The suspicion that Jordan will not be the last person to leave Portsmouth for North London is widespread, with players such as Lassana Diarra, Jermain Defoe, David James and Sylvain Distin mentioned as possible transfer targets in January.

Although Premier League rules would seem to prevent Defoe returning to White Hart Lane within 12 months of his move to Portsmouth, which became permanent in February, the odds against James heading for North London were cut from 10/1 to 5/1 yesterday.

Defeat today against Sunderland will certainly heighten the pressure on Adams, despite his embryonic period in the manager's hot-seat. If he is looking for sympathy, a post-match chat with the opposition boss might just cheer him up. (© The Times, London)

- Michael Walker and Nick Szczepani
    In Trap we trust

He shouldn't be usinng them to ghostwrite his autobiographies then (even if I agree with him)
    Last edited by Dodge; 10/11/2008 at 1:04 PM.

Yeah I agree, Keane is never far away from a double standard. He hits the nail on the head many times though. Obvious dig at Cascarino, in relation to comments on Wenger etc
    In Trap we trust

25 Posts
    Keane is in trouble now, Sunderland in the bottom three!!

I find it ironic how Keane has morphed into the type of person he always gave out about in his playing days, and is manager of team full of "prawn sandwich" eaters as fans...Talk about going the full circle.

I wonder what Roys opinion on the current crisis in Congo is?

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    Keane is in trouble now, Sunderland in the bottom three!!
    Aye. But if they win their next game they're 10th. Tightest bottom half ever!

Man, that last sentence doesn't sound good...

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Yeah I agree, Keane is never far away from a double standard. He hits the nail on the head many times though. Obvious dig at Cascarino, in relation to comments on Wenger etc
    not the first time hes had a go at Cascarino, Im remember one in particular when he was on Dunphys short lived talk show and he said something like never trust a word that comes out of Cascarinos mouth
    Its really not that complicated!!!

59 Posts

Re

Roy Keane is such a parody of himself. He complains about the media, and i have to admit i agree with him on the above point. I'm fed up of Super Duper Wuper Grand Slam Sunday Bolton vs Stoke.

But every week Keane courts the media and is in the papers or on tv e.g. Jack Warner is a clown.

Quote Originally Posted by weldoninhio View Post
    Roy Keane is such a parody of himself. He complains about the media, and i have to admit i agree with him on the above point. I'm fed up of Super Duper Wuper Grand Slam Sunday Bolton vs Stoke.

But every week Keane courts the media and is in the papers or on tv e.g. Jack Warner is a clown.
    to be fair he doesnt really, every manager has a press conference on a friday, im not sure if they are obliged to but it is certainly common practice.

he is asked his opinions on certain things and he shoots from the hip, admittedly sometimes he takes it too far but id nearly rather that than the usual bluster you hear "all credit to the lads, we will get at them early doors etc"

Quote Originally Posted by hula4 View Post
    to be fair he doesnt really, every manager has a press conference on a friday, im not sure if they are obliged to but it is certainly common practice.

he is asked his opinions on certain things and he shoots from the hip, admittedly sometimes he takes it too far but id nearly rather that than the usual bluster you hear "all credit to the lads, we will get at them early doors etc"

Agree hula!........cannot stand that phrase.......what the feck is an"early door?"
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    what the feck is an"early door?"
    One of the greatest comedies ever shown on the BBC
    Last edited by razor; 12/11/2008 at 11:03 AM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    What the feck is an"early door?"
    early doors: Another word for premature ejaculation. "Hello doctor, I seem to have a touch of the early doors".

Aren't you lucky you're not familiar with the phrase !
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/defin...=Early%20Doors
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    One of the greatest comedies ever shown on the BBC
    correctemundo. Great show!!!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!