Thread: What happened at Pats

What happened at Pats

Just to get things straight on this, seeing as Peadar has decided I should be named and shamed
    As City were looking comfortably ahead and the singing had momentarily died down, I decided to take the opportunity to say a few words to the pathetic little runt that manages Pats. I can't remember my exact words, but it was something along the lines of "Poor little Eamonn's not going to Europe. You're a loser. You sad little w@nker." Something like that. Maybe not the kind of language fit for the dinner table in Peadar's house, but not exactly rare at football grounds. Before that such things as "Tony Bird is a w@nker," "You are ugly" "Is your father Mr. Ed" (last 2 both at adamson) had been sung by many. Obscenities had been hurled at the ref and linesman by a hell of a lot of City fans. What got on my nerves was that the minute "SAINT EAMONN" got a bit of stick this thug official from St Pats was over. His words were "if you say another word about eamonn colins, you're out." Why were people allowed curse at anyone but Collins? Why were kids running around lighting sparklers? Why was there a pitch invasion at the end, and no attempt made to stop it?

It's football, not tea at Aras an Uachtarain for crying out loud. Maybe my language upset a few people- I don't apologise. Pats fans gave Dolan much worse at the cross and in Inchicore this season. Eamon Collins is a sad little w@nker- if he wants to meet me, I'll tell him that to his face.

Why did the Pats steward (none of this frontline bull, when he's in that ground, he's employed by pats) feel the need to charge thru city fans aggressively and threaten me, without identifying himself instead of just asking me to take it easy? why when another city fan came over and told him to "**** off" did he have the guy kicked out by the guards, instead of just telling him to butt out? Why did a Cork City official observe the incident, speak to me afterwards, and tell me I had done nothing wrong?

Simple. Because S. Patricks Pathetic are NOTHING without Dolan. I have no problem with Pats fans. BUT- every time we go to that ground their security looks for aggro. Sore losers.

Re: What happened at Pats

Originally posted by Éanna
    Why did the Pats steward (none of this frontline bull, when he's in that ground, he's employed by pats)

Simple. Because S. Patricks Pathetic are NOTHING without Dolan. I have no problem with Pats fans. BUT- every time we go to that ground their security looks for aggro. Sore losers.
    Eanna...

Frontline do the stewardig for all Dublin games. This steward has NOTHING to do with Pats. I agree that they are all heavy handed tossers.

This is your arguement with one bloke, don't be using to have another dig at Pats. And as for bringing Dolan into it...

Wait a sec now, I know Frontline are there but dont the club themselves supply some stewards too?Dont the club have to appoint an event controller? Chuck Norris and the Head Stweard were having a grand old chat afterwards. To say it has nothing to do with Pats is a load of crap.

Vicarious liability. If these stewards cause damage/injury to someone at a match then Pats will be responsable. If ye know them to be heavy handed they ye should get rid of them because they cost ye a lot of money.

What amazed me is that people within earshot were giving much worse abuse to Dolan but nothing said to them?

Éanna we all know you got warned for your last comment. "You're just a little Bosco with your red cheeks"
    Oh no not them again

No, sorry what I meant to say was that Pats have no choice but employ the services of Frontline as they are the ONLY company in Dublin that provides that service (they also do security for all Dublin clubs and the FAI for its international games) The Pats schoolboy section managers act as stewards but they don’t be near away fans.

Pats fan have complained about them and we’re told we’ve no option. They are heavy handed, and by the sounds of it, Eanna was hard done by. Nobody is disputing this. That’s the bottom line.

What I’m saying is that some Cork fans are looking for another excuse to try and stir it up between Pats fans and Cork fans when all it is, is some goon with an attitude problem. Pats use Frontline, they have no control over who frontline use.

total strom in a teacup
    while it was OTT from whoever pulled him up on it
    "it seems the classy thing to do would be not to draw more attention on yourself"

(homer simpson from the simpsons)

Dodge,
    As Pats contract frontline to perform a service they are responsible for them and their behaviour. And yes Pats do have a say in who Frontline use at a game. Unfortunately Pats do not appear to be able to threaten Frontline with canceling the contract (if they are the only agency in Dublin) as would be the normal procedure. However this does not release Pats from their obligations to ALL patrons at a game. The bottom line is Pats are responsible for all contractors and as the customer can complain about the performance of certain individuals and if need be dictate to the contractor to replace said individuals. This is a business issue that is reflecting badly on Pats as a club the same way poor toilet/seating etc facilities would.
    We are Football

in that case isnt it also true to say that in this instance they were doing there job to the letter of the law for once?

if they jusged his verbal attack might cause trouble than they have the have recourse to the regulations of the ground : "right to refuse admission and eject from premises"

Originally posted by wiseman
    Dodge,
    As Pats contract frontline to perform a service they are responsible for them and their behaviour. And yes Pats do have a say in who Frontline use at a game. Unfortunately Pats do not appear to be able to threaten Frontline with canceling the contract (if they are the only agency in Dublin) as would be the normal procedure. However this does not release Pats from their obligations to ALL patrons at a game. The bottom line is Pats are responsible for all contractors and as the customer can complain about the performance of certain individuals and if need be dictate to the contractor to replace said individuals. This is a business issue that is reflecting badly on Pats as a club the same way poor toilet/seating etc facilities would.
    I’m not arguing any of this. I’m just saying that some people here are looking for reasons to have a pop at Pats rather than addressing the issue. However, as wws said in this case, Eanna has no grounds for complaint. He can’t use the excuse “how come every one else gets away with it?” And really this is a NOTHING issue. Some fan got mouthy, a steward approached him, he told the steward to **** off, whats the big deal?

btw two of our fans were ejected from dalymount by the police
    there wasnt this much fuss after it

eanna the superhooligan. reminds me of similar carry on by the said holligan up in santry years ago

have to admit though some of the stewarding at the stadium of light has been a bit heavy handed (too little time to go into it) but then gain maybe eanna has the kind of the face that deserves a slap

also is eamon collins really only 39? cmon he looks in worse shape (almost) than dolan
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

Originally posted by wws
    total strom in a teacup
    while it was OTT from whoever pulled him up on it
    "it seems the classy thing to do would be not to draw more attention on yourself"

(homer simpson from the simpsons)

whats a strom???????

couldnt find it in the dictionary

Well, Eanna didn't learn that kind of behaviour up in Pike Field!

St Pat's

Lads get over this silly post. All right I was up for 3 pats games this season and I must say they are heavy handed all right. So lads stop this now before it gets out of hand you dont see any of the other fans from other teams carry on like this on Foot.ie. So lads lets give this a rest.
    Let's get it going for this year the away support.

sneaking in a (relevant) theme from another thread: take a look at a tape of Rangers v Manchester United tonight, or one of Barcelona v Madrid anytime, and watch the fans instead of the game. To suggest that this is part of football "culture" is making excuses for the lowest form of pathetic human behaviour - standing behind a wall screaming abuse at an individual because he can't answer back. Think instead of the people who scream similar abuse at schoolgirls going to school in the morning in Belfast...why is it that you think its okay to do this inside a football ground? Culture? What culture? Its a crap habitual behaviour imported from England, and no civilised country needs it as part of its sporting "culture". Check the definition of "sporting". Grow up and take responsibility for your behaviour whether its on Pana at 2am or in Turners Cross at 8pm. Cork City can go on being a cheap copy of english clubs or it can get a life of its own. I'm getting too old to listen to the first option much longer.

Hear hear.
    "tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!

144 Posts
    Schunter, you seem to be a tad obsessed with the import of this 'culture' from England.
    Is it just this or do you hate everything English ?
    Cause there is a worrying anti English vibe permeating through your posts.

I don't believe Cork City is a cheap imitation of anything English.
    I believe it is an Irish club supported by Irish people.
    Whether people shout abuse or not is down to the person in question rather than this so called 'culture' you speak of.

Are you telling me that people haven't shouted abuse at soccer matches in this City for the last 60/70 years ?
    Cause if you are then you are very much mistaken.

Do you actually support Cork City ?
    Or are you one of these GAA heads who has just come on here to annoy people.
    Or worse are you Spillage ?

to be honest i wouldn't hold Pats to blame for this, the frontline argument is old hat at this stage and we know the story with them. as wiseman said, if there are no other security firms to take the job, Pats can't threaten not to renew the contract.

my only problem is that their head steward wore no colours or jacket that identified him as a steward. if he's gone up to the city fan in question ( ) and said,
    'look, i'm head steward, there's kids about, watch the language'
    there would have been no problem.
    (having said that worse was said before and after the EC outburst)

instead they chose the heavy handed approach, which with a different bunch of fans, and a bit more drink, could have escalated

Originally posted by Dodge
    Pats fan have complained about them and we’re told we’ve no option. They are heavy handed, and by the sounds of it, Eanna was hard done by. Nobody is disputing this. That’s the bottom line.

What I’m saying is that some Cork fans are looking for another excuse to try and stir it up between Pats fans and Cork fans when all it is, is some goon with an attitude problem. Pats use Frontline, they have no control over who frontline use.
    Just to be clear on this. I'm not trying to stir anything up, I just wanted to put on record exactly what had happened seeing as Peadar decided to half do it for me. I'm not holding Pats fans responsible for this.

However, the simple fact of the matter is that Frontline are employed by Pats, and are therefore Pats responsibility- choice or no choice.

As I said in my first post, what really bugged me was that your man came over and said if I said another word about Collins I was out- if the guy wasn't a Pats fan, why was he so upset specifically about Collins? Why didn't he react to anything that was said before, or after?

Originally posted by Schunter Netz
    Its a crap habitual behaviour imported from England, and no civilised country needs it as part of its sporting "culture".
    So Real Madrid and bARSElona fans imported their behaviour from England did they Football is a sport that gets passions, tensions etc running high, and these things happen- all over the world. Get over it. I'm presuming that seeing as you posted that, you have never actually cursed inside a football ground- just like Peadar