Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: UCD v Galway Live

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Think you should be more concerned about getting 500 to Finn Park rather than what we bring to Dublin.
    FYI we will have minimum 500 there.
    In fairness Conor, United only had about 20 at the Pats game,even if it was a Tuesday night. You might bring 500, but i dont see ye bringing 1000.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    In fairness Conor, United only had about 20 at the Pats game,even if it was a Tuesday night. You might bring 500, but i dont see ye bringing 1000.
    I did say i think 700/800 would be more reasonable/attainable.
    The Pats game was on a Monday night.We were hardly going to bring many to that,like must clubs in the LOI.

500+ away fans from any club is an excellent away support.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I'd be far from certain that Cork will get a premier league license next year
    You must have more info than Alan Mathews anyway, cos he's signed a new deal with us tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    cos he's signed a new deal with us tonight.
    Unlucky!

126 Posts
    Unlucky!
    Why's that? Won us the setanta cup with a bunch of kids. Would be ahead of Derry in the league if not for our points deduction and yet the sun shines out of Stephen Kenny's arse.

The way numbers are going at the moment we'll have anything up to a 1000 fans there.I would think 700-800 will be the likely figure.Still there's a huge interest in the game here in Galway.4/5 buses going so far,hundreds driving,some flying and getting the train with others coming from England.
    question for you conorh though where did all the support come from all of a sudden??

On top of United's core support of prob between 500 and 600 there would be a large section of the Galway sporting public that are open to coming along to games. Some of these face a difficult choice when both Galway United and Connacht Rugby kick off almost simultaneously less than a mile apart on a number of Friday nights during the season - something which does neither club any favours.

United's football since Kenna took over has (re-)won a lot of admirers, especially those that were disillusioned with the football played under Cousins. And this message has been reinforced by a positive local media and the tv coverage.

A moderately successful United team would pull in very respectable crowds - indeed we have seen it in the past.

But this weeks away support will be borne a combination of three things:
    1. That this is one of United's most important game since the 1991 Cup Final;
    2. The relatively good run of results recently that has generated huge optimism that we can stay up;
    3. Huge goodwill towards the club in the City and County.

The support has always been there.We've averaged 1300 this season while occupying 12th place for the majority of it.Last year we averaged about 2100 or something like that iirc.

The reason behind the huge away support travelling is simple.It's a MUST win game.
    Add into that the excellent football they've been playing,the atmosphere at Terryland in recent months and Kenna is proving a big hit down here aswell.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

22 Posts

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    You must have more info than Alan Mathews anyway, cos he's signed a new deal with us tonight.

well, its probably more stable than the bank at the minute

can't see there being a problem with cork getting a licence next year, sure they've already been punished for entering examinership, and yes, i realise the fai can and will implement more of a punishment, but then they will have set a precedent, and would have to do the same to drogs.
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

25 Posts
    Think you should be more concerned about getting 500 to Finn Park rather than what we bring to Dublin.
    FYI we will have minimum 500 there.
    I can assure you there will be substantially more than 500 at Finn Park on Friday night. I look forward to MNS on Monday to view your massive support.
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

Just in case you miss mondays show, you can also view our massive support on rte.ie.

Its unusual for us to bring anything more than 20-30 to an away match on the bus but you'll always find there are 50 more that go by car. The big bonus this year is Kenna. Our exact average as on our own forum is 1412 this season. Our Hardcore I would put at around 6/700. The extras for this game and the Sligo game are mostly hangers on that have seen the buzz in Terryland and want to take part. The thing is though we must try and maintain status is the Premier on Friday night and then secue Jeff for next season in order to keep these new supporters otherwise we'll be back to gates of 900.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    fair play to Galway if there is. There should be at least 20,000 at The Showgies Fri night, maybe 25,000.
    What, blades of grass?
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    What, blades of grass?
    I love it when peole don't get jokes, and post something jokey in reply to it.

238 Posts
    What, blades of grass?
    Its more blades of grass than is on Finn Parks playing surface at the minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    The way numbers are going at the moment we'll have anything up to a 1000 fans there.I would think 700-800 will be the likely figure.Still there's a huge interest in the game here in Galway.4/5 buses going so far,hundreds driving,some flying and getting the train with others coming from England.
    Just found this song Galway fans are planning to put onto their next DVD about their support. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oIxlyDtCuU

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I love it when peole don't get jokes, and post something jokey in reply to it.
    And I love it when someone gets a joke, posts a smart-alec comment in reply to continue the provincial rivalry love-in, and some other guy doesn't realise and posts something like the quote above
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

That was you trying to be smart alec? jaysus....

238 Posts
    And I love it when someone gets to continue the provincial love-in
    Im shocked truely shocked.

And I love it when someone gets a joke, posts a smart-alec comment in reply to continue the provincial rivalry love-in, and some other guy doesn't realise and posts something like the quote above
    Don't worry WQB - Dodge doesn't get sarcasm....

LOL, the irnoing is delicioius

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast