Thread: Vs. Cork

Vs. Cork

We all know this game is massive, particularly if Cork win tonight(currently 0-0). We should have a bigger crowd down there this time round with the importance of the game. Any points we get there will be great.

Gamble suspended for Cork.

Would be delighted with a point. Just noticed Cork have a superior goal difference. Not including tonights game they are +18 compared to us being +11. I think this adds a greater significance to the Bray game making it also a "must-win" but we are lucky to be at home compared to Cork's trip to Dalymount.

Win, lose or draw in Cork, I would still perfer to be in our shoes at 10pm Friday night

Cork 1-0 up Vs. Pat's

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thesilverfox View Post
    Would be delighted with a point. Just noticed Win, lose or draw in Cork, I would still perfer to be in our shoes at 10pm Friday night
    You sure about that bud? If we win then we secure 4th place.

Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    You sure about that bud? If we win then we secure 4th place.
    4th's worth feck all to ye if you're banned from Europe though, I'd say that's what he means. Even with the FAI's backing, I see no reason why Cork City should be allowed to break the rules and play in Europe next season, hopefully Uefa will step in.

126 Posts
    4th's worth feck all to ye if you're banned from Europe though, I'd say that's what he means. Even with the FAI's backing, I see no reason why Cork City should be allowed to break the rules and play in Europe next season.
    Don't think that's what he meant, read his post again there and you'll see! He's on about us having Bohs in the last game, my point is it means nothing if we beat you on Friday.

Keep telling yourself we're banned anyway, nothing's been decided. The only thing I've heard is the FAI saying they'll back us if we qualify.
    Last edited by adamd164; 04/11/2008 at 9:04 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    Don't think that's what he meant, read his post again there and you'll see! He's on about us having Bohs in the last game, my point is it means nothing if we beat you on Friday.

Keep telling yourself we're banned anyway, nothing's been decided. The only thing I've heard is the FAI saying they'll back us if we qualify.
    No a local rag in Cork has said this this. Nothing official has come from the FAI and anyway i don't think they can turn around and say no we won't support Cork. Anyway we know what we need to do and that is to win down there and this will be your 3rd match in 6 days so it has to be taking its toll.

415 Posts
    There's very little we can do if UEFA do decide to let them play if they finish ahead of us. I would be surprised if they do but you can never tell. I thought the Colin Healy saga would have been resolved in Corks favour and it didn't. No point getting worked up about it.

Best thing to do would be to finish ahead of them and then not have to get worked up at all. We still haven't managed a win against any of Bohs, Pats, Derry, Drogs or Cork this season. Friday would be a great time to change that.

Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    There's very little we can do if UEFA do decide to let them play if they finish ahead of us. I would be surprised if they do but you can never tell. I thought the Colin Healy saga would have been resolved in Corks favour and it didn't. No point getting worked up about it.

Best thing to do would be to finish ahead of them and then not have to get worked up at all. We still haven't managed a win against any of Bohs, Pats, Derry, Drogs or Cork this season. Friday would be a great time to change that.
    Our team and club will be written off for most trips this season including this, we know we have to win and this is their 3rd game in 6 days and Joe Gamble is missing for the match so all we can do is give it a real go as the players have done themselves proud by even giving themselves a shout taht with 2 days to go we are in with a serious shout.

Best not entertaining a "if cork get fourth" scenario as i don't think is going to happen. I am cautiously optimistic that the effort and determination shown by the lads in difficult times won't end this friday. With a win over pats and cup win over glens then i'm hoping that there ego's are inflated and we can catch them off guard.

Never had this much optimisn before, must be in a build up to a european adventure

Colin Healy's out injured too. With him and Gamble out that's their first choice central midfield out of action.

Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post

Agree best to try and win this on the pitch , although i got a nice email this morning from a "proper" accountant so would be fairly confident of still playing in Europe if we dont finish fourth their was an interesting precedent set with Coleraine who were still refused for 3 years despite IFA appeals. I think the Cork result last night was good for us and we know what we have to do now and wont be going down there playing for a draw we are at our best going forward.

was a the Pats game last night and there is no reason we cant beat them, Pats were shockin last night too, if Cork were decent up front they would have won by 3 or 4. We definetly have a chance, as long as we dont concede early.

it's on the pitch our fate will be decided and that's all we should focus on. we are two wins away from Europe being a certainty. A win in cork will be tough but it has been done before and it should be a cracking game with what's at stake. Finishing 4th would be wonderful for the club in every department and would ensure our finances would be improved for next season. If we end up 5th in the league it will be a tremendous season for us. And after that if we happened into Europe for reasons off the pitch then fine - so it shouldn't concern us at this stage.
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

Formerly: wild rover
    Bring it on.

100% agree Rory H lets see what they are made of and give everything i think we can get the win with the believe in the camp and after fighting back last week we are battle hardened.

boco and judge doubtful with flu ventre and cash face late fitness tests

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    boco and judge doubtful with flu ventre and cash face late fitness tests
    Would'nt be to worried about not having Judge in the team. Boco would be our biggest loss . Is Cash's late fitness test anything to do with the injury he picked up playing last Saturday ?
    Coleman for Ireland

One thing must be noted its in our hands whether we finish fourth or not. Which makes me proud to say. Europe for the first time in 12 years. Even the thought of it brings back brilliant memories.
    If we preform like we did against Shams we will get bet. I'm not traveling for the simple fact I know we are going to be conned out of it(Well thats if we threaten to beat Cork). Remember this would be bad for the league(FAI) if we won, as Cork offer a better representative for the FAI. Sure they have even publically said they would back Cork for Europe. What more explanation do you need, and the referee's work for the FAI.
    Should we threaten to beat them, or hold them for a draw. Expect it all to go against us. As much as it hurts to say i guarantee you this will happen. One of the Boys at the top will have a word in the refs ear. I'm not a paranoid man, but I've seen it before in football, and the FAI are as corrupt an organisation as they come.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    One thing must be noted its in our hands whether we finish fourth or not. Which makes me proud to say. Europe for the first time in 12 years. Even the thought of it brings back brilliant memories.
    If we preform like we did against Shams we will get bet. I'm not traveling for the simple fact I know we are going to be conned out of it(Well thats if we threaten to beat Cork). Remember this would be bad for the league(FAI) if we won, as Cork offer a better representative for the FAI. Sure they have even publically said they would back Cork for Europe. What more explanation do you need, and the referee's work for the FAI.
    Should we threaten to beat them, or hold them for a draw. Expect it all to go against us. As much as it hurts to say i guarantee you this will happen. One of the Boys at the top will have a word in the refs ear. I'm not a paranoid man, but I've seen it before in football, and the FAI are as corrupt an organisation as they come.
    Thats crazy talk Inside Man.
    But i wouldnt be surprised either.

If we do achieve 4th place, it'll be a major coup
    We maybe seen as a small unfashionable club,
    but we have one of the best average attendences in the league.
    This game could be a watershed in the recent history of Rovers

We have the potential to be one of the biggest.