Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: St Pats in player betting allegations

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Doesn't matter how small the bet was, doesn't matter that it lost, he bet against his own team which is a breach of morals and decency, never mind rule 100 of the league.
    Exactly, Its not like it matters if it was 5c or a grand, it was a bet that involved his team.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If you think he's the only player in the league to bet on games you're living in a fantasy world.
    That doesn't matter, even if ever single player in every league in the world, from schoolboys to over 65's bet against themselves is still doesn't justify it

€20 on a game where you're not involved is nothing.
    Apparantly it is now though

The rule doesn't differentiate between betting for or agianst your team
    Or the winning or losing of the bet, its just if it involves your own team, and its still wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Thats why a conviction for insider trading carries a significant jail sentence. Fantastic argument.
    That it exactly .... it doesn't carry the same weight legally, but its in the same category, like it or not as the case may be.

Emmet Malone has a piece on it in today's Irish Times, and his last line is quite apt:
    'No one at St Patrick's, who trake on Derry City at Richmond Park tonight, is likely to take quite so lightly the fact thgat Dempsey - one of the club's better paid players - was sitting in the stand watching a league game which he might have been hoping his team would lose'
    You tell me how you or any other Pats fan find this acceptable?
    I think Emmet should have asked 'how much would Pats fans put up with before they stop protecting their players" because even though everyone is agreed that €20 in a flutter against your club isn't even worth talking about it still clouds the judgement of some.

Match fixing carries a life time ban for a player last time i heard. This is not the same thing in this case nor will it ever be deemed to be the same thing as far as i can see so a life time ban is irrelivant to be honest.

If nothing is done to the player then it'll be too easy for barstoolers and journos to throw this crap out in a years time to crutch up one of their 'seek and destory' articles on a slow news day. We all know how it works, and we should all expect the FAIs administration to be able to deal with this issue comprehensively.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    I think Emmet should have asked 'how much would Pats fans put up with before they stop protecting their players" because even though everyone is agreed that €20 in a flutter against your club isn't even worth talking about it still clouds the judgement of some.
    As I "defended" the Drogehda players a couple of years ago, its not that he's a Pats player. You say it clouds the judgement of some. As Dempsey made the bet, what type of judgement did it cloud? He wasn't playing...

Match fixing carries a life time ban for a player last time i heard. This is not the same thing in this case nor will it ever be deemed to be the same thing as far as i can see so a life time ban is irrelivant to be honest.
    its is irrelevant, and yet you still mention it. Why's that? Guilty by inference?

If nothing is done to the player then it'll be too easy for barstoolers and journos to throw this crap out in a years time to crutch up one of their 'seek and destory' articles on a slow news day. We all know how it works, and we should all expect the FAIs administration to be able to deal with this issue comprehensively.
    Who said nothing should happen? He should be fined, and receive a short ban. Anything else is ridiculous

Oh and I use the term dramaqueen because it fits most on this topic, and others. Complete overraction to every little story.

Feckin Drama queens in this thread

if you were to ban all the players who have bet for/against theyre team in the league there would be an awful awful lot of bans

and its not a LOI problem all levels of the pro/semi pro game are full of it

not that it makes it right

Who said nothing should happen? He should be fined, and receive a short ban. Anything else is ridiculous.
    I agree. It was stupid thing to do & such a punishment would be appropriate. Mentioning it in the same paragraph as match fixing is ridiculous.

That said opposition fans will have great fun with Dempsey next season.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jimhacker View Post
    If this is all that is involved then that Quinn chap should go and have a long cold shower for himself!

He was mutering on the LW programme the other night about the stories being unsubstantiated - if that's the case why publish them?
    Probably because he is a Bohs fan.

Emmet Malone has a piece on it in today's Irish Times, and his last line is quite apt:
    'No one at St Patrick's, who trake on Derry City at Richmond Park tonight, is likely to take quite so lightly the fact thgat Dempsey - one of the club's better paid players - was sitting in the stand watching a league game which he might have been hoping his team would lose'
    You tell me how you or any other Pats fan find this acceptable?
    Big difference between wanting a team to lose and thinking they will lose.

3,491 Posts
    I've bet against UCD using team news and not being able to influence the game. Ban me!

As I "defended" the Drogehda players a couple of years ago, its not that he's a Pats player. You say it clouds the judgement of some. As Dempsey made the bet, what type of judgement did it cloud? He wasn't playing...
    To be honest i tihnk Dempsey was a clown to be honest, putting the bet down himself. If he want to have a punt on a game then he should have someone else put it on for him, but that would be be my take on it.

its is irrelevant, and yet you still mention it. Why's that? Guilty by inference?
    That wasn't for your benefit Dodge, i was saying that a life time ban wouldn't be imposed for this even if he had put down €20,000 on it. Its match fixing gets the ban and he didn't fix a match, he just betted on it.

Who said nothing should happen? He should be fined, and receive a short ban. Anything else is ridiculous
    My concern was just how people on the outside will preceive it. we all have the conversations in the canteen Dodge and it is something else to sling at the league.

And if it happened at an English club they'd laugh at the rapscallion for getting caught, but admire the cheeky side to it "oh how we laughed, isn't it a great game", but because its the eircom League and one of their own country men hes a scumbag, a match fixer, probably dealing drugs as well and he sums up everything that is wrong with the game in this country.

I've bet against UCD using team news and not being able to influence the game. Ban me!
    But the probabibilty is alot higher in your case so the odds are in your favour there Stu !!

3,491 Posts
    If the bookies want to give stupid odds, that's their loss.

1,552 Posts
    I don't care if you can't understand this. I'm sick to my back teeth of fecking dramaqueens

812 Posts
    But the probabibilty is alot higher in your case so the odds are in your favour there Stu !!
    Oh, he meant our U21s. I think they even lost once.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

If the bookies want to give stupid odds, that's their loss.
    That was clearly a jibe about UCD and their habit of losing matchs, and this making sense to bet against them because the chances of you winning the bet were better, but you completely side stepped it, Stu you're no fun !!

3,491 Posts
    That's what the bookies said too.

812 Posts
    ...Stu you're no fun !!
    That's what she said.
    There, fixed it for you.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Its being blown out of all proportions, players have been putting on bets for years, I dont see anything wrong with putting few squid on a game our not even plaing in and especiall if its a double like it was on this case.

My concern was just how people on the outside will preceive it. we all have the conversations in the canteen Dodge and it is something else to sling at the league.
    I would be very surprised if this has caused even 1 less person to attend LOI games.

The reason this is attracting attention (ranked top sports story on RTE news sport website) is because of headlines such as "St Pats player bets on his own side to lose". Only when you read the details is it obvious he put only E20 on when he wasn't playing.

Still it is funny Dempsey mentions he lost the bet. Of course it wasn't the Pats result that caused that.

what do you think then of petes mahons comments in the mail today sayin that he voiced his concerns to Johnny Mc just before the cup semi! reason why he saw pats lads coming out of the bookies!! so fri**in wot?
    Last edited by Martinho II; 10/11/2008 at 8:57 PM. Reason: laziness

After watching MNS I think Philip Quinn knows more than he's letting on it's just legal issues are preventing him from tellling all. I think he's right too, more will come out during the close season.

Do any of you really think that all this furore was caused by Dempsey's €20 bet??

Why do you think that there is still a players investigation been carried out?

There is going to be a LOT more about this in the coming weeks and Pats aren't the only ones that are in an awkward predicament.

Quote Originally Posted by cheech View Post
    There is going to be a LOT more about this in the coming weeks and Pats aren't the only ones that are in an awkward predicament.
    I have no doubt about it.

Why do you think the Gardaí are involved! They certainly wouldn't waste their time investigating a €20 bet.

Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast