Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: St Pats in player betting allegations

82 Posts
    If Bohs win the Cup & Pats finish 2nd they'd go straight into 2nd QR Europa Cup (& get the money for 1st round in addition). There should be motivation there.

could it be that johnny slaphead is trying to save his job.
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I'd wait until something is proven. I mean Pats were effectively left with nothing to play for, and the games against Galway and Cobh they were playing teams fighting for survival.

Of course the media are loving another chance to have a pop at the league, and the bookies will be loving the chance to welch on winning bets.
    Spot on Macy. The meeting was only called on the back of newspaper reports. Here's the sadlier quotes above in more context

"I called them in because I didn't want them just waking up to something like that," he said. "I had the meeting to make them aware of it."

"I would assume and hope that they are, but we can't just ignore something like that, we'll look into it as much as we can.

"I'm disappointed, though, that our club is going to be written about in this context and disappointed, too, that players I presume to be innocent until some evidence to the contrary is uncovered might end up having some sort of cloud hanging over them."

Lazy journos acting on PP's statement about Longford/Monaghan and looking at this forum.

Pats have been ****e for months now. Nothing to do with gambling. Just some rubbish players, some not giving a ********, and a manager who's lost it.

Oh and I backed Cobh and Galway in those games. Couldn't see how we'd care enough

38 Posts
    Based on the provenance of the report, I wouldn't be jumping to any conclusions. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if the whole idea germinated in some tabloid cretin's head as a result of threads on this very forum. As for Sadlier being "extremely concerned" - well, who wouldn't be? Doesn't mean he thinks there's any truth in it.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

38 Posts
    Yeah, what Dodge said. Full quote makes it a lot clearer.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

366 Posts
    So who are Pats betting on tonight?

This happens a lot more than you would think. Look at it this way:

I play for say..... Athlone...

I haven't been paid in 5 weeks

I have, a wife, a kid, a mortgage

I work 9-5 in an office and make modest money

We are playing say........ Kildare

They are guaranteed to finish bottom and we are guaranteed to be 2nd from bottom

None of the 22 players make much money from football

Nothing to play for

Get a mate to stick a grand on us to lose

double my money

Pay my mortgage

No-one's the wiser..............

I'm not condoning this but it's just a view into the mindset of a player

I'm not a player by the way, that's a fictional scenario!!!

38 Posts
    Yeah, you actually work 9 to 5.30.

who wrote the daily mail piece??

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    who wrote the daily mail piece??
    Dave Rogers

Pats had a reserve side out against Galway, they played 2 days previous and they had nothing to play for. Also, Galway had a very good record against St Pats.

I don't think they lost on purpose.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

57 Posts
    One of the reasons the papers write this things about the FAI and the clubs is because they can and never get sued.

If this is without foundation (and I dearly hope it is) then the club should sue.

plus galway were 4/1
    anyone who didnt back them is a mug.
    *hopefully* just bookies realising how thick they are when it comes to eL odds and giving out a nothign story which the mail picked up on.

btw - 8/1 tonight for the 0-0 with ucd. put the mortgage on it.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by randomcomment View Post
    This happens a lot more than you would think. Look at it this way:

I play for say..... Athlone...

I haven't been paid in 5 weeks

I have, a wife, a kid, a mortgage

I work 9-5 in an office and make modest money

We are playing say........ Kildare

They are guaranteed to finish bottom and we are guaranteed to be 2nd from bottom

None of the 22 players make much money from football

Nothing to play for

Get a mate to stick a grand on us to lose

double my money

Pay my mortgage

No-one's the wiser..............

I'm not condoning this but it's just a view into the mindset of a player

I'm not a player by the way, that's a fictional scenario!!!
    wouldnt the whole team need to be in on it tho. unless your the goalie and have an "off" night.

For the record here's the teams in questions

V Cobh
    ST PATRICKS ATHLETIC: Barry Ryan (Friesz, half-time); O'Cearuill (Bialek, 69 mins), Harris, Gavin, Rogers; Brennan, Fahey, Dempsey, Kirby; Guy, G Fitzpatrick (S Fitzpatrick, 65 mins)

V Galway
    St Patrick's Athletic : Friesz; Haverty, Gavin, Partridge, O'Cearuill; O'Brien (Harris, 75 mins.), Brennan, Bialek, Byrne (Fahey, 62 mins.); G. Fitzpatrick, S. Fitzpatrick (Guy, 66 mins.).

As you can see, nothing like first choice teams. Injuries, suspensions and big games v hertha and Bohs meant a lot of regulars missing

38 Posts
    Below from www.fai.ie

The Football Association of Ireland today confirmed that it will carry out an investigation into suspected irregular betting patterns around recent St Patrick’s Athletic FC fixtures. The FAI has this morning written to St Patrick’s Athletic and a number of bookmakers asking that they share any information they might have to substantiate the suspicions raised by the club. The FAI welcomes St Patrick’s Athletic FC’s decision to raise this matter with players and will ensure that a thorough investigation is carried out to determine if there is any substance to these claims.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    For the record here's the teams in questions

V Cobh
    ST PATRICKS ATHLETIC: Barry Ryan (Friesz, half-time); O'Cearuill (Bialek, 69 mins), Harris, Gavin, Rogers; Brennan, Fahey, Dempsey, Kirby; Guy, G Fitzpatrick (S Fitzpatrick, 65 mins)

V Galway
    St Patrick's Athletic : Friesz; Haverty, Gavin, Partridge, O'Cearuill; O'Brien (Harris, 75 mins.), Brennan, Bialek, Byrne (Fahey, 62 mins.); G. Fitzpatrick, S. Fitzpatrick (Guy, 66 mins.).

As you can see, nothing like first choice teams. Injuries, suspensions and big games v hertha and Bohs meant a lot of regulars missing
    And add to that the Pats palyers had 1 days rest against Galway.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    RULE 99. MANIPULATING MATCH RESULTS
    Anyone who conspires to influence the result of a match in a manner incompatible with sporting ethics shall be sanctioned with a suspension and a fine. The disciplinary body may also impose a ban on taking part in any football-related activity; in serious cases this sanction shall apply for life.

RULE 100. BETTING/GAMBLING
    Anyone who directly or indirectly bets, instructs someone to bet on their behalf, provides others with confidential information or enables another person to bet for that participants own benefit on a result, conduct or progress of a match or competition in which that person is participating or has control over the result, conduct or progress of a match or competition shall be subject to disciplinary sanctions.
    There's the two relevant rules from the FAI rule book. If the any players allegedly involved were not in the match day squad it might be argued that they were not participating and had no control over the result. The only thing they might have done wrong would be acting on "confidential information" (the team selection) and it might be debatable as to how confidential that is.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Just 3 lads can change a result!!

Quote Originally Posted by Danny View Post

btw - 8/1 tonight for the 0-0 with ucd. put the mortgage on it.
    I don't have a mortage, should I still abck it?

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast