D'awh Nuts ... thought we were going to see a bítch fight an'all like !!Originally posted by Gary
Anyway, bring on the wknd eh?![]()
Oh hell yeah!Originally posted by Gary
Champions!
D'awh Nuts ... thought we were going to see a bítch fight an'all like !!Originally posted by Gary
aammmmmm...! Longford (no support) 0 - 1 Derry CityOriginally posted by Macy
Nice one, we're a big club!!!???!!!
Bring on the Derry minnows tonight....
Lads lets not lose the run of ourselves about what a great season we have had until the season is actually over.
This season more than most I feel the title has bee there for the taking and had we not been in 'transition' we could have grasped it with both hands.
When u think of all the wins that turned into draws for us this year.
Still a couple of strong players more and we should be capable of doing the business.
Dolan was saying on Red FM on monday that if we had beaten shels in our 2 home games- 1 missed pen, and 1 injury t;ime equaliser- and hadn't conceded that late goal to waherfur at the cross, we'd be top now. thats how close we are. Its a great achievment when you consider that shels and bohs can bring the likes of geoghan, morgan, harkin or keegan off the bench, when at times, our bench has probably had less than 20 premier div starts between the lot of them!I have criticised Dolan for sitting back, and will do so again if the same thing happens, but if he learns from the mistakes he's made, we can only benefit. Lets face it- if 2 or 3 results had gone our way this year, we could be winning the league. We're so close. As for the new players debate- I reckon we need to sign a central midfielder to play alongside Greg- himself, Benno and Grady are too similar to complement each other. I reckon that could be all it takes. Maybe N****wo is that midfielder![]()
Bit early to give a verdict on the season. We could uyet finish anywhere from 2nd to 5th or 6th as good bit to go in the season yet.
i agree with Pete, i don't think we can judge the success of the season until it's over.
at the moment we look good for european football next season, even if it is the inter-toto, which i would have taken at the start of the season.
would have liked a better showing in the cups (although we came close in the LC).
did we not win the munster senior cup likeOriginally posted by tiktok
iwould have liked a better showing in the cups (although we came close in the LC).
REBEL ARMY
Originally posted by James
did we not win the munster senior cup![]()
forgot about that
"Champions of Munster"...classy
thats true. but if you want to win leagues, you've got to turn your luck to your advantage, not allow it even itself out over the season. I'm not saying we deserve to win the league, we're not good enough yet, but it just shows how close we are.Originally posted by Conor74
On the other hand if we hadn't committed grand larceny away to Longford or home to Bohs, we could have been in midtable.
It DOES even itself out over a season. And it's a funny old game too...
League seasons are too long for the final table to lie - usually teams finish where they deserve to.
Me may have nicked the odd away game but same be said of some of the visitors to the cross. One definite change this season has been the away performances where we've gone from 90mins backs to the wall defending to a less desparate form of defending when we leading.
Some of the defending I've seen just about qualifies for less desparate. However there have been a few games away from the Cross when we deserved a result.
weve been inconsistant though.
droping points where, you know, teams we should have beat.
is the glass always half empty for you feen? you're very downbeat latelyOriginally posted by fonzi
weve been inconsistant though.
droping points where, you know, teams we should have beat.
He's not downbeat, he's right. Think of all the teams we should have beaten, but only got a draw. now add up all those lost points. scary.
Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?