Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: SPA 0 Cork City 2

Originally posted by Peadar
    I make no apology for naming Eanna.
    I've told him enough times that shouting obscenities is letting the whole club down.
    What a load of b0llocks!
    How exactly is he or anyone else leaving the club down? Your at a football match, you should expect to hear plenty of obscenities being shouted at the opposition, who knows at times it may distract them! It shows pride and passion and is all part of the game.
    I suppose you've never cursed at a football match Peadar?
    Champions!

I make no apology for naming Eanna.
    I've told him enough times that shouting obscenities is letting the whole club down.
    The whole club eh? Will, you ever go away and get one of thse things called a life. .

massive result. I dont care that SPA have 2 games in hand, the way they are playing they wont be racking up any points anyway. Heres hoping we dont do the typical City thing and bloody lose our streak to UCD on friday.

Is this our best run of away form ever. 10 from the last twelve available points?
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Originally posted by joe
    i saw a pats fan ejected a couple of seasons back, or do you mean 'the only away fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans'
    Yeah, sorry, only away fans. A few local muppets have been turfed out too...

Originally posted by Dodge
    Cup fever mate…

‘Twas the same v Bohs. Like the team, we didn’t really care last night (until you went two up and then we moaned a bit )

Jaysus, ye could set your watch by him....
    It's a wonder he didn't claim that they played their u-16 side......

Last night an hour before kick off I sent GWA a text. I told him I thought you’d hammer us. We were missing the three lads that got injured in the Bohs game. If you were at the game, you’d know that the players weren’t up for it (and most of the lads here have posted the same) This isn't an excuse, its a condemnation of our players...

Read my earlier post, I’ve said your were EASILY the better team and thoroughly deserved your win.

Now **** off and stop ****ing commenting on every post I make…

Last night an hour before kick off I sent GWA a text. I told him I thought you’d hammer us..............................
    Now **** off and stop ****ing commenting on every post I make…
    I'll just ignore the obsessed one's outburst and post whatever I like........
    Off again Mr. Knowall, its a wonder you are not a millionaire from all the money you should win by knowing everything.........

Its my own fault, I know better than this....

BUT Of ****ing course I know what players are injured. Christ it was in every newspaper preview…

Last edited by Dodge; 21/10/2003 at 1:15 PM.

Originally posted by Colm
    How exactly is he or anyone else leaving the club down?
    So you think it enhances the image of the club and its supporters?
    Do you think that it is in some way providing a boost for your team? Shouting profanities at the opposition manager when you're 0-2 up is hardly going to provide the "12th man."
    If you all have the attitude that it's ok to behave like this and it's an offence to be reprimanded by the security staff then you're going to continue to have people ejected from eL grounds and we're going to continue to see threads on this board about it.
    If you're happy with that then perhaps there are many others who need to "get a life."

Its my own fault, I know better than this....

BUT Of ****ing course I know what players are injured. Christ it was in every newspaper preview…

What did I tell you, ObsessedBoy "knows better than this"......
    He can read papers and tell the results from that...
    David Blaine is only trotting after him
    Yawwwwnnn

Originally posted by Counting Crow
    Neil..........that has got to be the understatement of the year.........."good result" ........ it was a massive result.

Oh and we can cheer on Longford now on Sunday.
    It was indeed. Especially seeing as we have a pretty sorry record at the Stadium of S***e. Cup Final should be an interesting game, hope Longford knock eight bells out of them!!
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

So you think it enhances the image of the club and its supporters?
    Do you think that it is in some way providing a boost for your team? Shouting profanities at the opposition manager when you're 0-2 up is hardly going to provide the "12th man."
    Peadar you half-wit. Éanna is a personal friend of mine and one of the most passionate City fans that I, or anyone else, knows. Profanities are to be expected win, lose or draw or is it that you frequent the Derrynane road side where the only thing that's deafening is the silence??
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

I'm sure Eanna will appreciate your defence John.
    As for the incident itself I think Pats were probably just being over cautious after the arguments last time round.

Originally posted by Shed End John
    Peadar you half-wit.
    Do we need to re-open the Peter Pan Syndrome Debate again?
    Because someone shouts profanities during a game doesn't make them any more passionate than someone with enough restraint to abstain.
    I've already stated that Eanna is a shining example when it comes to leading the singing. This isn't a personal attack on him as he will know because he knows me long enough.
    Surely the continuous singing and chanting would have bothered Collins much more given that the home "support" were so muted.
    Verbal abuse is quite serious and without justification.

Some of the abuse is just in the nature of supporting a football team...you expect it.
    I do agree with you Peadar though that some of it there is no justification for.

thought we played very well and it was a good game to watch, everyone seem to play well with special mention going george (especially for those flicks, giles wouldn't be able to contain himself if he saw those on the premiershi*), greg (some excellent tackling), kearney (some fine crosses). K Murray was alright last night but he is not a midfielder, he seems to just sit in front of the centre halves. George also dropped a bit too deep at times, maybe that was the ploy, not too sure!! D Murray and Coughlan also looked good at the back especially Coughlan in the air but Pats got 1 or 2 chances and with nippier forwards I think they would have been tested a lot more. all in all is was an entertaining match and at last the Inchicore hoodoo is broken!!

Originally posted by Berliner
    Very low naming a name
    It's clear that you're not one for names.
    Hiding behind yet another alias.

The notion that shouting filthy abuse at other people is somehow an acceptable part of watching football is very depressing and should really be seen as part of the overall sickness of violence within the game. It is something all sane people interested in footlball are anxious to stamp out, in the hope that one day, deep in the 21st century, we will be able to go to a football game, cheer our team and even leave the ground at the same time and by the same gates as the opposition fans. Its not part of GAA culture, it is essentially an English disease, which the anti-english league bunch among you should be a little more consciuous of.

[i]Its not part of GAA culture, it is essentially an English disease, which the anti-english league bunch among you should be a little more consciuous of. [/B]

gaa culture that ive seen is institutionalised filthy abuse, mainly of referees but not confined to them, that frequently degenerates into player/sideline supporter/mentooooor mass brawls

Its only a matter of time before someone gets the sxxxe beaten out of them in Dublin if they continue to sing obscenities at the Dubs.

It always amazes me why so much energy is put into abusing the Dubs when it would be much more beneficial to sing for the team.

144 Posts
    Originally posted by Schunter Netz
    should really be seen as part of the overall sickness of violence within the game.
    I don't think that any supporter of a football team can honetly say that they have never ever shouted abuse at a football match, especially when we are 'blessed' with the types of referees that our league is.

But to say that this is related to violence is rubbish.
    I can honestly say that in going to City games over the last 15 years I have not witnessed violence of any kind and that includes Rovers away.

I reckon there is more violence in GAA , whether it be on or off the pitch. News of more and more beatings, mass brawls etc etc have certainly come to our attention in recent times.
    And that only whats publicised.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast