Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: SPA 0 Cork City 2

Originally posted by Counting Crow
    Oh and we can cheer on Longford now on Sunday.
    and ucd tomorow
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

great result lads. Delighted to hear Hoggie get his annual goal. Are we now 7 matches unbeaten since Flynny got injured? If so, dare I say it....
    Flynny out.

great result, has to be sweet for pat, fresh air now between us spa & waaaaaaaerford. nicce

top performance

A truely well deserved victory tonight.

City were well on top for the whole game. City had the majority of possession in the first half but never really caused any major threats. Greg had a few long range efforts but nothing close. He had a great game in midfield and won a lot of possession.

Second half City started to shine and some lovely play by both wingers and the two up front started to create some chances. Hoggie took his goal really well with a powerful header, although what he was doing coming from the left I'll never know!!!!

I thought Kearney had his best game so far for City and Georgie was outstanding once again. Overall a great team performance and just shows what can be done if we don't sit back after going in front.

As regards the City fan that was thrown out I thought it was a major over-reaction by the head steward. He came into the City fans moaning about abuse that was been thrown at some fella claiming to be Pats manager. When one City fan told him to ''**** Off out of the stand'' he was grabbed by the stewards and removed from the ground

386 Posts
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh the dizzy heights of second. Enjoy it while it lasts. Coz you'll be back in toto land by tomorrow night

Well done to the boys.
    I've never seen City win at Richmond Park...maybe I'm the jinx!
    Think I'll book them flights back for the Shels game now...

great performance by the lads.........first half was even enough..thought city were the better team tho.......second half City played some great footie............Top performers......George, Greg, Doyler and Kearney......saying that...no one played poorly........some of georgie's flicks were class.....he done a rivaldo type back foot flick over 2 pats players to doyle at one stage.......absolutley class...........doyler was ruled off twice for offside when he was one on one.no way was he........hoggies goal was class. great team goal..........georgies was good too.....pity that tv3 couldnt be botheres having a camera at the game............
    one sour note tho.............st pats head steward waded in and started threatening a city fan with expulsion after they had gone 2-0 down.......all he was doing was giving eamonn collins some friendly encouragement .... another fan told him to fuc off etc..and was then surrounded by about 6 stewards and a couple of guards....completely over the top.....your man was escorted out of the ground......there was never any hint of aggro before that.......everyone was in good mood obv..with the scoreline the way ot was.........

I’ll point it out again, Frontline do the security, its not the Pats head steward. And yeah they are tossers. (Mind you, the only fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans…)

Miles the better team, fully deserved your win. Our lot weren’t up for it in anyway. I though O’Callaghan was class for you. If Bird had’ve converted his two absolute sitters, it would have been very unfair on you

Pats last nite

Well happy with the win. Doyler was excellent. Georgie was just unreal, some of his flicks and turns were out of this world, I bet Brian Kerr was an interested spectator especially if he ever gets to pick a B squad.

Kearney had a very good game too.

Why is it the only ground in Dublin that we have trouble in is Pats. Everytime. Last night was a joke. A plain clothes steward came right into the City section to stop a fan mocking Who Are Ya. So another City fan, who though he was a Pats fan told him to f-off. Next thing he's thrown out. When we asked another steward who the plain clothes fella was he said he's the head steward. We asked him what his bosses name was, he said he didnt know

You know if Bohs and Shels drew with each other twice and we won the rest of our games......

Ah well I can dream.
    Oh no not them again

Talking

great win indeed

ok the frontline head steward doing the stewarding at the Pats Home game was way over the top.........

it must be racism against us cork folk if we are the only ones being picked on.....

oh ya where the hell were the shed end invisibles last nite??? not one chant or song by the home support...thats was pretty poor.....
    Last edited by NorthoftheLee; 21/10/2003 at 9:55 AM.

Cup fever mate…

‘Twas the same v Bohs. Like the team, we didn’t really care last night (until you went two up and then we moaned a bit )

When the offside was given against Doyle early in the second half I thought, 'Right, we're even now as Bird was robbed in the first half.' But then we had 3 more dreaful offside decisions given against us when we looked very dangerous on the break. Osam was a shadow of his former self. Greg won the midfield battle with some well timed, hard challenges, winning back possesion for us at important times. The ref did ok and deserves credit for recognising the dives. I think the guy who got thrown out should have kept out of the situation. Eanna was rightly being cautioned for abusive and obscene language towards players and Collins. It was all very silly really on a night that we've waited a long time for. Our support was great other than that.
    Kevin Murray is not a natural midfield player.

Peader i think you should keep peoples names out of it.........they might not apreciate it............and the said steward mentioned nothing about abusive language towards the players.....

Not only that but Pats fans we giving Dolan worse abuse than Who Are Ya got within earshot.

A plainclothes steward wading into a group of City fans was just stupid.
    Oh no not them again

Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
    Peader i think you should keep peoples names out of it.........
    I make no apology for naming Eanna.
    I've told him enough times that shouting obscenities is letting the whole club down. He hits the drum well and leads many songs/chants which is the kind of thing we should be recognised for. The guy who came into the stand was just having a word and it should have been left at that.
    Away supporters are always going to get more attention from the stewards. Presumably because they're traditionally out numbered and it's usually for their own safety.

b_mcsweeney
    game wise, thought kearney had a good game and looked like (hopefully) the answer to the left sided problems. would be hard to pick out a man of the match, entire team played well (greg, doyle, colin t, georgie also well worthy of mention). i didn't think kevin murray contributed too much to the game mind, am as unconvinced as others of his suitability to be playing in midfield. the other thing is that if bird hadn't fluffed a one on one with devine it could all have been very different. still, after the turners cross game we lost to pats, i reckon we were due that bit of luck. first goal was the best team goal i've seen city score in a long while, beautifully worked. and then we worked the break well for the rest of the game. frost bite never felt so good.

on the steward thing, there was nothing being said that i haven't heard thousands of times before, from both city fans and other teams fans at the cross and on the road. seemed like we scored and in a fit of pique the steward felt the need to pick on somebody. even yer man who got hauled out after for having a go at the steward, i didn't think he said anything particularly untoward, given the circumstances. all in all, i thought they were very heavy handed about it, considering there was no hint of trouble before or after that (the stewards were way more het up than the pats fans themselves, thats for sure).

Originally posted by Dodge
    (Mind you, the only fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans…)

i saw a pats fan ejected a couple of seasons back, or do you mean 'the only away fans kicked out at a Pats game in the last three years have all been Cork fans'

ive no idea what this was all about , sounds OTT
    but given the amount of gards around the city end from the start (ive never even seen that many for a rovers game) Im guessing here that the messing around in the last league game when CCFC fans got on the pitch and argued over a flag with gards brought OTT attention from stewards and gards

Fully deserved win, thought Kearney was outstanding, found loads of space as usual, this time he saw more of the ball. Pat's missed the three boys out injured, and i think those that were playing definitely had one eye on the cup final.

Two well worked goals aswell. If bird had been sharper it could have been a completely different tale.

As for the steward thing (mountains...molehills), my take on it was that the lad that was thrown out jumped into a situation that wasn't his fight, he did act threatening with his OTT reaction. Having said that he probably thought (as i did initially) the 'head steward' was a drunken Pats fan about to have a go.

the 'Longford 'til Full time' chant was class, whoever started it

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast