Thread: Given to Spurs?

I think he was a sound fellow. He is always willing to show his appreciation to the crowd at the end of a game particularly the away ones. I met him briefly in the Faroe Islands and he was grand.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    I have great time for Given as a sportsman, and goalkeeper. But off the field, he's an incredibly arrogant, pompous knob with a massive ego, so going to Spurs seems like the perfect place for him to go.
    Is he one of the senior players that refused to sign his autograph for some children a few months ago?

Edit: as the question mark indicates that was a question, I'm nottrying to start rumours.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Ye two are the first I have ever heard to say anything like this about Shay, only have ever heard good reports.
    Interesting that the 2 who said it won't give reasons why. Obviously just bored children

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    He's been at Newcastle for ages, he's won nothing so far and will likely not win anything there before his career will be over.
    How's this going to change at Spurs? Newcastle are a nothing club from up north and Spurs are a nothing club from London. Wasting his time if he settles for anything less than Arsenal.

Top 5 my @rse TottenSham.
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

Sideways move at best if it does happen. Redknapp will lead Spurs to the glory of mid table, fail to take them any higher and be gone before the end of next season.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Redknapp will lead Spurs to the glory of mid table, fail to take them any higher and be gone before the end of next season.
    Awww! But I want them relegated!!!
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

72 Posts
    I have great time for Given as a sportsman, and goalkeeper. But off the field, he's an incredibly arrogant, pompous knob with a massive ego, so going to Spurs seems like the perfect place for him to go.
    I've met Shay on two occasions and he was friendly, accomodating and very down to earth.

He does a huge ammount of charity work and has raised over £2 Million for Macmillan Cancer Relief in the last few years and is raising awareness and funds on a weekly basis.

Also runs the Shay Given Foundation for kids in Ireland & Newcastle.

From an Ireland perspective, i'm not sure that a move from Newcastle to Spurs would be of any benefit.

536 Posts
    i see our two friends havent been back to back up their slander of shay

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    No surprise.......and they're no friends of ours JB
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

It would be a major surprise if Shay was anything but a thoroughly sound bloke and indeed all round good egg.

Is Foot.ie involved in some sort of bizarre puritanical festival at the moment? There's 2 threads defending the upstanding and undeniably sound moral fibre of the Irish players past and present.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Given won't move. He's had the chances before to move to bigger clubs, but has always spurned them. As far as I know, his family are settled in Newcastle and he's happy being a big fish in the small pond.

I think this is a blatant attempt by Redknapp to unsettle a player and engineer a move to swoop for him.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    "Shay Given is a great goalkeeper who I admire," he announced yesterday. "Any manager would have to be interested in him if he became available."

Newcastle won't make him available. End of story (and that's all it is).
    Lads - I think Owlsfan has summed this up. Certainly for now - there's nothing much concrete in this.

There's nothing more sinsiter that someone reading too much into attributed quotes.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    I've only met him on one occasion,
    He was in a nightclub in Templebar I asked him what he thought of the game which we'd won 3-1 against Andorra, and he said
    "ah go f urself", he sat at our table due to the college ladies we were with, and it was nothing like any of us were annoying him,
    he was with the chaos doherty and mark kinsella at the time,
    and they were sound though!!

case closed

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hunt4the View Post
    He was in a nightclub in Templebar I asked him what he thought of the game which we'd won 3-1 against Andorra, and he said
    "ah go f urself", he sat at our table due to the college ladies we were with, and it was nothing like any of us were annoying him,

case closed
    Hardly case closed; and given (hoho) he had let one in past Andorra, he probably wasn't in the best of moods & thought you were gonna take the p*ss out of him. So fair enough if he told you to sling your hook to be honest.

Horse Poo
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Sorry, I missed this post. He must be an ar sehole so
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts

case closed
    did he also tell u that u talk B.S?

Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    did he also tell u that u talk B.S?
    why the f#*k would i make that up ,

I was as surprised as anyone would be, I always thought he was a genuine guy and very appreciative of the fans, from his onfield demeanour.

Hence here here