Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Squad for Poland game

i think the squad should be:

(gk) Westwood, Kiely, Kenny (Given deserves a break)

(df) Foley, O'Shea, Dunne, Paddy McCarthy, St.Ledger, Delaney, J O'Brien, Kilbane

(mf) A.Reid, Delap, Andrews, O'Toole, Garvan, Whelan, Duff, McGeady, Hunt, Walters

(fw) Doyle, Keane, N.Hunt, Elliott, Sheridan

The team should be:

Westwood

Foley O'Shea Dunne Delaney

Andrews Garvan

McGeady Duff
    Keane
    Doyle

A.Reid, Sheridan, the Hunt brothers, McCarthy and St.Ledger should get the whole second half

229 Posts
    I dont think Sheridan should be anywhere near a first team squad at the moment. He needs much more experience at club level before we start throwing him in to the international team (even if it is a friendly).
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    I dont think Sheridan should be anywhere near a first team squad at the moment. He needs much more experience at club level before we start throwing him in to the international team (even if it is a friendly).
    agreed, there are other lads ahead of him at the moment
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    I think we should keep the starting team intact, save for central midfield. Not sure who I'd like in the whole squad but in the starting team I'd have:

Given
    Finnan-O'Shea-Dunne-Kilbane
    McGeady-Whelan-McCarthy-Duff
    Keane-Doyle

Let them sub it up in the second half as much as they'd like.

i think sheridan is worth a try because as you said its a friendly and we need somebody tall up front who can head a ball (daryl murphy is better with the ball at his feet)

what are the chances of trap really calling these lads (Garvan McCann O'Toole et al) out of the blue?

he seems to be displaying the same myopia as Stan in some of his decisions. Not criticising the results he's had or anything (not having seen any of the qualifiers so far) but surely its coming to the point where he's got to call up these form players at some stage ahead of the tried and tested that shouldn't be anywhere near the squad based on current form / or lack of? (i.e Murphy, Long , Keogh, Gibson, Whelan)...

have a funny feeling though that we won't see many of the young lads in this squad either...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by richieos View Post
    i think the squad should be:

(gk) Westwood, Kiely, Kenny (Given deserves a break)

(df) Foley, O'Shea, Dunne, Paddy McCarthy, St.Ledger, Delaney, J O'Brien, Kilbane

(mf) A.Reid, Delap, Andrews, O'Toole, Garvan, Whelan, Duff, McGeady, Hunt, Walters

(fw) Doyle, Keane, N.Hunt, Elliott, Sheridan

Would find room in there for McCann and might even try and entice Naughton into the fold, but other than that this would be a very progressive squad.

36 Posts
    whats the latest on Finnan ???

i think sheridan is worth a try because as you said its a friendly and we need somebody tall up front who can head a ball (daryl murphy is better with the ball at his feet)

We have Folan, possibly Lee ahead of Sheridan for this role at the moment.

Squad I'd like to see:

GK: Given, Kiely, Kenny

D: Foley, J. O'Brien, Dunne, O'Shea, McShane, St. Ledger, Delaney, Kilbane,

M: Duff, McGeady, S. Hunt, Whelan, Carsley, Rowlands, Andrews, A. Reid, Lawrence,

F: Keane, Doyle, Folan, N. Hunt

Possible Starting XI:

Given
    Foley Dunne O'Shea Delaney
    McGeady Carsley Andrews Duff
    Folan Keane

Rowlands, Lawrence, Reid should all get time on the pitch.

St. Ledger should get a half to establish himself as backup for CB.

Edit: If forgot Paul McShane...

36 Posts
    Id like Murphy at Bohs to get a chance . Only 12 goals conceeded in the 31 games so far in the league. Rest Given and give the lad a half

Apperently Westwood was amazing last night for coventry with morrison scoring the goal.

36 Posts
    Im not a bad keeper but im a Prod

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Im not a bad keeper but im a Prod
    dont you mean a bad proddy boy??
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

215 Posts
    Does Morrison's form warrent a recall to the squad? Do we really think that Murphy, Folan, Stokes et al have done more at club and international level to deserve selection ahead of Clinton? He has never been wanting for effort scored valuable goals and if Doyle ges injured has always worked well with Robbie. I've convinced myself. Bring back Clinton!

20 Posts
    Apparently McCarthy was called up which is a good thing.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post
    Apparently McCarthy was called up which is a good thing.
    has the squad been announced? i havent heard about it

114 Posts
    has the squad been announced? i havent heard about it
    No - but the intent to call up McCarthy is widely reported.

It’s about time too and I hope St Ledger is also called up. The more players we have for centre back the less chance we will ever see McShane play there again.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    No - but the intent to call up McCarthy is widely reported.
    R ye talking about Paddy or James McCarthy?

24 man squad

Given, Kiely, Doyle

Finnan, J' O'Brien, Dunne, O'Shea, Delaney, McShane, Kilbane

S Hunt, McGeady, McCarthy, Whelan, Delap, Duff, A Reid, Gibson, Lawrence

Keane, Doyle, N.Hunt, Murphy, Folan

And id start

................Kiely

McShane....Dunne.....O'Shea......Kilbane