Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Squad for Poland game

544 Posts
    there is much of a muchness between those in the squad and those some here say should be in. trapp has been in charge less than 7 months and has had limited time to work with the players. what good would chopping and changing do for us?

you cant argue with 7 points from 9 at this stage so i'll go with trapps view on his squad.

andy reid has been very hot and cold for us. wow, he played well against an already qualified german team last october. big deal.. he was very poor 4 days later against cyprus.

so far so good as far as i'm concerned

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Both Reid and O'Brien, it would appear, have decided not to be a part of the squad or have fallen foul of the management (temporarily?).
    O'Brien is injured at the moment, from http://www.theboltonnews.co.uk/sport..._new_recruits/
    O’Brien missed Saturday’s win at the KC Stadium with a thigh strain, picked up on his return to training after a hamstring injury
    Do people here actually watch televised championship games?
    Yeah, I watch a few games.
    From the beginning Trap said that success with his teams are not about playing the best football but the best teamwork, defend with 7 attack with 4 (sounds like a line from Animal farm).
    all players are equal, but some are more equal than others

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    somebody is reading too many business managment books
    Obviously those that were written without the aid of a spell checker
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Teambuilding, organisation, structure, discipline, continuity, mentality .... need we go on? Trapattoni's "actions" are clearly defined and calculated.
    You're right with continuity and organisation. I'm not ignoring the leaps we've made under Trapp but I'm not blind to his faults

I don't see how ignoring good work and progresss of players at club level (endless list) and alienating players from our limited pool (O'Brien, Reid) constitutes efforts in team building. It could also be argued that continuity breeds complacency. How often at every level have you heard a young player say that if they take care of things at club level International football will take care of itself (or something to that effect)

What mentality are you on about?? Winning?? We're still ropey in the latter stages of games. We were gifted a neutral venue against Georgia. So it's too early to cite that, for me anyway.

His actions aren't clearly defined. He omits Andy Reid citing the redundancy of an attacking central player in his system, and the need for defensive central players, yet includes Miller, Gibson and Andrews. All players used in advance midfield roles by everyone other than Trapp.... Where's the continuity in using players in unaccustomed positions??

As for not checking his options - how many players attended the training camp in Portugal, were included in the senior match squads and the B international match squad, and how many players start a football match?
    I don't get ye on this point?? I think he's placed too much emphasis on a summer get together and a B match with multiple subs against Nottingham Forrest.

Evolution theory? Trapattoni is building a team - the whole is greater than the sum of its parts . Try to put yourself in the position of Trapattoni and look at it from his perspective and not your own.

By all means attack the man if we lose a game or two (for the exact date as to when this will happen ask paul_oshea) but Trapattoni is demonstrating clear method behind his madness and I have no reason to question his abilities of leading us to a World Cup at this stage in time. And I'd have no problem in letting Trapattoni drive the train to Cork.
    I'm not reserving the right to complain after the event. I'm expressing reservations now so I'm not cited as a Hypocrite when it goes tits up. I'm not happy with the efforts for backfilling the current first team and Plan B. I firmly believe we are going to get found out when Richie Dunne is suspended and Alex Bruce is Trapps Idea as our next best, based on a summer get together and a Friendly agasint a Forrest XI. If he exhausted avenues to arrive at that conclusion well then you'd have no choice but to accept it if not agree, but that has not been the case.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    all players are equal, but some are more equal than others
    I presume you were not the teacher's pet

There could well be rational football reasons why some players are favoured.
    Trap's responsibility is to have a successful team, not an award ceremony for achievements made in club football.
    The Italian expression "it's nothing personal" comes to mind.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    somebody is reading too many business managment books
    Damn Straight...

www.thefastleague.com

85 Posts
    The Italian expression "it's nothing personal" comes to mind.
    The Irish expression "Lazy B@st@rd" comes to my mind...

www.thefastleague.com

All these calls for championship players to come in to the squad confuses me. Surely if they are good enough for international football they would be good enough for the english premier league. Im not saying they are not or wont be in the future.

Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    All these calls for championship players to come in to the squad confuses me. Surely if they are good enough for international football they would be good enough for the english premier league. Im not saying they are not or wont be in the future.
    ehhhhhh...are you implying that every national team has (or should have) players playing in the top flight?
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    ehhhhhh...are you implying that every national team has (or should have) players playing in the top flight?
    my reading of it would be that if they are good enough for what trapp wants from his squad then they will get into the squad and if they are not they wont. simple as

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    O'Toole by the sounds of things will be off to Newcastle in the January transfer window. Dennis Wise according to reports in the guardian has been very impressed with the lads progress.

Noel Hunt will be playing in the PL with Reading next season - fingers crossed anyway.

Is it better for a players development to be rotting on the bench at some PL club (Folan, Miller, Whelan) or plying your trade with teams in the Championship every week (O'Toole, Garvan, Noel Hunt)? Being classified as a PL player because you have a squad number doesn't mean your necessarily a better play in my book.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Is it better for a players development to be rotting on the bench at some PL club (Folan, Miller, Whelan) or plying your trade with teams in the Championship every week (O'Toole, Garvan, Noel Hunt)? Being classified as a PL player because you have a squad number doesn't mean your necessarily a better play in my book.
    If only there was some way for Trapp to get a look at these players in a non competitve situation to judge for himself....

www.thefastleague.com

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    If only there was some way for Trapp to get a look at these players in a non competitve situation to judge for himself....
    Did those players (O'Toole, Garvan, Noel Hunt) not turn up at Dalymount for the friendly against Forest?

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Did those players (O'Toole, Garvan, Noel Hunt) not turn up at Dalymount for the friendly against Forest?
    Don't think O'Toole was picked, Garvan got 20 minutes mostly out of position (I think Trap seems him in the Andy Reid mould of midfielders) and Hunt had to pull out with consussion.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Don't think O'Toole was picked, Garvan got 20 minutes mostly out of position (I think Trap seems him in the Andy Reid mould of midfielders) and Hunt had to pull out with consussion.
    That's his International career over then!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

85 Posts
    One of the other posters answered already...

That aside I don't think one B international (against forrest) and last summers get together is enough. He should be monitoring club form and making better use of friendlies. Not wholesale changes but at least exploring options in positions we have little or no depth in.

At best I think he's being over reliant on his minimal exposure to players. At worst I think he's just being lazy and indifferent. If we loose players on top of S Reid for any reason whatsoever and we don't qualify, Trapp will cite the loss of key players and it's difficult to argue against it. He picks up his few bob, goes back to Italy and the world keeps spinning.... I will counter that with a lack of effort on his part to insulate our selves from the impact of the loss of key players. That's just my opinion. I don't want it tagged with an "Andy Reid love-in"...

www.thefastleague.com

3,501 Posts
    Getting away from Andy Reid's omission for a moment, I was at the B international, and I thought Bruce was the better of the two centre halves on the night, and deservedly wore the captain's arm band. Granted the opposition was poor, but you can only play what's in front of you.
    In retrospect, his inclusion over Paddy McCarthy isn't that surprising.

72 Posts
    Decent displays from Whelan and Gibson last night.

Darron Gibson: Composed and solid in the heart of the midfield, mopping up loose balls and passing well. One of the Reds’ best players on the night.

City midfielder Glenn Whelan is targeting a return to the first team after an outstanding individual display in the Carling Cup win over Rotherham last night.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    Decent displays from Whelan and Gibson last night.
    had heard whelan was good last night. two man of the match performances for Ireland followed by a less impressive performance in a game that we still won yet some on here wont give him a chance. he has been far more consistent for Ireland than andy reid ever was

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    had heard whelan was good last night. two man of the match performances for Ireland followed by a less impressive performance in a game that we still won yet some on here wont give him a chance. he has been far more consistent for Ireland than andy reid ever was
    Fair play jbyrne, good point well made!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast