Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Favourite/least favourite Irish accents

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post

Find the Galway accent a bit nondescript to be honest, struggling to even think what it is
    I was just thinking that. I don't know how other people can dislike the Galway accent. There isn't really one Galway accent.

521 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    Then you see her bright Ginger hair and hairy legs
    That's not the hair I would have been interested in though.

Like; Dublin

Dislike; The rest

65 Posts
    Dislike: Wixklow/Wexford is pretty bad, but Dundalk accent is the worst.
    Like: Kerry accent on girls.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Disliked (by a mile): The D4 accent (hise instead of house, roundabite instead of roundabout - Lorraine Keane is a prime example as are most tv3 female newsreaders or presenters).

Favourite: Waterford
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

112 Posts
    I was in a mobile phone shop the other day, beautiful Indian looking girl was at the counter. Asked her about what deals they had, and out came this beautiful Scottish accent. She had Indian parents and was born in Scotland. Ahhhh she was lovely.

Back to Irish accents...
    Favourite... Donegal, soft Nordie
    Last favourite.... Cork and Dublin
    Last edited by Pauro 76; 02/11/2008 at 8:44 AM.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Was doing some maintainence work in a hotel yesterday when two young lads came up talking to me, couldnt understand a word they were saying and couldnt help but just started laughing. I asked where they were from ?....................Dundalk ! Worst accent EVER !

love the geordie accent on a woman! Also have to admit the donegal one considering past 3 have come from there!

hate the english accent from the home counties the really posh one though love to bone a bird with it, so its that love hate relationship!

Hate the dub inner city knacker accent, also hate the southside one more, the fabricated mid-atlantic/irish sea/home counties accent the snobs have.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    love the geordie accent on a woman! .
    ...hazarding a guess that that's because you generally hear it spoken by, say, Donna Aire or one of those Girls Aloud wans.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    l hate the english accent from the home counties the really posh one though love to bone a bird with it, so its that love hate relationship!.
    No ...that's a post-colonial complex. .
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

125 Posts
    Like: Donegal accent on female and obviously the a good clear dundalk accent. Can't beat it
    Dislike: Drawda, cork and the the midlands especially athlone (too flat)
    Long Live King Kenny

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    I love Derry accents (male or female) and Donegal. Like a bit of Dub too but anything further south does my head in.
    Wont be talking to you again so!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Wont be talking to you again so!!!!!!
    Oh dear. Have upset a few people with this one maybe but its just the accent. I do love you and the other lads from Athlone though and when you are talking I just sing loudly in my head to drown out the accent!!

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    ...hazarding a guess that that's because you generally hear it spoken by, say, Donna Aire or one of those Girls Aloud wans.

No ...that's a post-colonial complex. .
    HAHA, could well be, but its just they are all up their own backsides that you would probably have to boil it before you put it in it.....

Like: Nordie accent but solely when a female one.

Dislike: Skanger accents are across the board terrible regardless of whether they're from Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway or Waterford. That midlands thing is a bit primitive too...

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    The Nordie accent on a girl is the best accent anywhere in the world, even better than the Welsh one.
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Favourite: The soft Northern female accent is very sexy.
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Favourite... Donegal, soft Nordie
    Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    Like; northern accents
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Like: Nordie accent but solely when a female one.
    Considering setting up a phone chat line for you guys, might make enough money to buy my house in France!

That said, any of my northern friends reckon my accent is pure south!

115 Posts
    Oh dear. Have upset a few people with this one maybe but its just the accent.
    You certainly have!
    I would have said something earlier myself but I got my head bitten off twice today already!
    more bass

Its the toothache making me tetchy. Havent slept properly in days either.

The perpetual whine of the Ulster accent grates like finger nails scraping a blackboard, and it's difficult to know what they're sing-songing about in Munster and Connaught half of the time. Give me a generic, easily-understood, east coast Leinster accent any day.

Considering setting up a phone chat line for you guys, might make enough money to buy my house in France!

That said, any of my northern friends reckon my accent is pure south!
    Before you contact the builders I should be more specific and say that I'm mostly a sucker for the North west. Once we get further east than Derry and further south than south Donegal we're firmly back in hit or miss territory.

30 Posts
    Dundawk accents make Baby Jesus cry.
    That is all.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast