Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Boylesports Reluctant to take bets on the E.L.

Should we be monitoring the Good tip thread???

There's match-fixing going on in this league I have no doubt about it.

EDIT: Just to add, there are no odds available with Boyles for this weekends games
    Last edited by Rambling Along; 04/11/2008 at 8:30 PM.

38 Posts
    Boyles had Cork 15-8 to beat Pat's tonight. With Cork's form and St. Pats' home record that was an absolute steal (if you had enough money spare to make it worthwhile, I didn't.) Ignorance and bad pricing, that's all.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

28 Posts
    Where is the betting competition thread?

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KUFCMan View Post
    Where is the betting competition thread?
    here you go: http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1051991#post1051991
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Lightbulb

Hi guys, my first post!

I've a better one. Lads here in Dundalk noticed Boylesports were giving odds on Meath and District league matches. The same lads play for MDL table topper Woodview Celtic. They had Woodview v Navan at 2pm on Sunday. The game took place at 11am and woodview won 2nil. On the way home they went into Boylesports and backed themselves and made a fortune!

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    But they only made 2 changes from their previous game, so it wasn't because of team news. There was very little difference in recent form so it wasn't because of form. So there must be some other reason that people decided to back Monaghan...
    All it takes is one or two people to "think" its fixed for any betting patterns to get out of hand. If a couple of blokes think its fixed, then thell their mates, who tell their mates, its pretty easy to spread to €30k worth of bets

There are tons of gambling forums about, and every single week there's a game on in europe that supposed to be fixed. There's as many losers as winners.

If the Monaghan game was fixed, there's absolutely no way they'd win 5-1. 2 goal margin of victory at an absolute max. Don't forget, Monaghan were odds on before this "broke"

Exactly Dodge and as we had scored 3 previous week and scored 3 against Kildare on Sunday, I dont think there is anything suspect about us scoring goals. It has just clicked for us up front at the moment. Haran is settling in well and Hanaphy is getting more run outs and both are linking up well with Scully and Brennan. Nothing mysterious about it.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I know I tipped the draw, that's why I don't gamble, the balance is definitely towards Monaghan though 14 Monaghan, 10 draw, 8 Longford. You're the expert, but to me that suggests Monaghan at short odds.
    Just based on that it would suggest that Monaghan would be about 11/10 or 6/5 - which is what they were. Slightly less than a 50/50 chance.

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Obviously it would be worrying to think that games were being fixed, I don't think they are though. Maybe people passing inside information on teams and the like, which may not be particularly ethical, but will always happen in such a small league. As people have pointed out the losses are very small, so far anyway.
    Absolutely - I 100% agree - there is nothing wrong with people getting in ahead of the bookies with team news - and I'd actually disagree that there's anything unethical about it. It's up to the bookies to know or anticipate team news. If you get that before them then fair play.

However there wasn't team news in this game and I think it's fair enough to say that if you were looking to fix and eircom League game last weekend Monaghan v Longford would look like the easiest one to arrange as neither team had anything to play for.

At the end of the day nothing will come out and the bets have been paid but the "attack" on the bookmakers here is a bit harsh!

Does anyone remember about 5 years ago you couldn't even place single bets on the eircom League - now you can back over 50 markets in every Premier Division match and about 15 in each First Division match.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Does anyone remember about 5 years ago you couldn't even place single bets on the eircom League - now you can back over 50 markets in every Premier Division match and about 15 in each First Division match.
    Aye, and they wouldn't do if it wasn't profitable, so the "attack" of the bookies as you call it, isn't really an attack, just a defence to the bookies' attack.

They make money off us suckers, so can't really complain when he's hit for 30k one time

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    but the "attack" on the bookmakers here is a bit harsh!

Man you must not gamble that often to be feeling sorry for bookmakers
    do you also have a soft spot for publicans and taxi drivers in these harsh times of ours!

1,104 Posts
    He works for the bookies in question!. It was probably he who set those odds. Not having a go at you by the way JC. Your rise to fame has been well documented!.

I note for this weekends games, there is very very little between the prices of about 10 bookies, seems like they are all copying each other now.

Bray at 2/1 with Boyles at home to Drogs does stand out for me though.

However there wasn't team news in this game and I think it's fair enough to say that if you were looking to fix and eircom League game last weekend Monaghan v Longford would look like the easiest one to arrange as neither team had anything to play for.
    Actually JC there was Monaghan United team news, on our website and emailed to the press, was also on aertel. We had no injuries and just had Paul Whelan suspended.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eL Bettor View Post
    I note for this weekends games, there is very very little between the prices of about 10 bookies, seems like they are all copying each other now.

Bray at 2/1 with Boyles at home to Drogs does stand out for me though.
    Yeah it's pretty frustrating when everyone else just copies the first lines that go up...

It usually is the case but in recent weeks it has become ridiculous!

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Actually JC there was Monaghan United team news, on our website and emailed to the press, was also on aertel. We had no injuries and just had Paul Whelan suspended.
    I didn't mean that there was literally no team news - just nothing significant that would explain the gamble on Longford.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Yeah it's pretty frustrating when everyone else just copies the first lines that go up...

It usually is the case but in recent weeks it has become ridiculous!

I didn't mean that there was literally no team news - just nothing significant that would explain the gamble on Longford.

Ok, but do you not think it might have been significant that we were pretty much at full strenght? And while Wheelo is a fantastic player for us we do have options open to us.

Anyways, doesnt matter. We won and that is all I give a damn about.

magic me and fellow Mons:
    Are ye worth a punt at 11/2 away to Fingal?

And are Wexford worth backing at 5/2+ away to Longford?

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts

Wouldn't touch Wexford at them moment. Bad and all as Longford are, the Wexford senior players can't seem to wait for the season to end and the younger lads getting games recently aren't up to much. I'd be very happy if we scraped a draw.

Don't think Monaghan have enough to take Fingal either. Fingal are strong at home and should have enough quality about them.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

24 Posts
    would not recommend it as did not have one shot on goal in Athlone missing too many players through injury and suspension and young lads getting a run out for next year
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Juventus were 5-1 to beat Real Madrid last night...whoever came up with those odds should be shown the door at PP.

123 Posts

well worth a few bob ,wer are playing well enough but dont back with paddy power he does not like losing
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast