Page 92 of 117 FirstFirst ... 42829091929394102 ... LastLast
Results 1,821 to 1,840 of 2326

Thread: Transfer Rumours

rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us. Finn Harps were his last club. We could certainly do with a few new heads at present.
    Can you PM me who please Marty? Can't think of who it may be?

what has roy walker got in common with paul mcarevay? is this a mistake? thought his manager would be david jeffrey..
    Walker was looking to sign McAreavey for Ballymena Utd.

Edit: He might yet sign for the Sky Blues:

Quote Originally Posted by Dundalkfc.com
    Speculation Discounted
    Connor also spoke today about media reports stating that Dundalk have signed a Northern based player. Connor has asked dundalkfc.com to state that contrary to reports, Dundalk FC have not signed any new players. The manager is in talks with numerous players about the possibility of coming to Oriel Park but he has yet to strike any deals, although he does expect some movement in the transfer market over the next 2-3 weeks. Speculation surrounding a number of players, who have been named in the media, is totally false.
    Last edited by eelmonster; 20/05/2009 at 7:46 PM. Reason: Say what you see

84 Posts
    rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us. Finn Harps were his last club. We could certainly do with a few new heads at present.
    Davy Byrne

Would that make it 10 ex Athlone?
    Last edited by Battery Rover; 20/05/2009 at 8:01 PM.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

84 Posts
    Also rumour of Robbie Egan ex Athlone Town on his way over there as well.

I know we can't fund an Athlone Town "A" team but you dont have to do it for us

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

238 Posts
    Davy would be a smashing player for the Prem never mind the First but, the term "sicknote" never applied more to a player than it does to Davy (well, maybe Gary Beckett there too).

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Davy Byrne
    That's who I was thinking but he's not 4 years gone from Longford is he?

22 Posts
    2006 was his last season with us so no. Marty is, for once, wrong.....
    Marco Tardelli's red and black,
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky77 View Post
    2006 was his last season with us so no. Marty is, for once, wrong.....
    Technically he is not wrong, he said "rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us"

Doesn't say he left Longford 4 years ago anywhere in the post

22 Posts
    "I stand corrected," said the man in the orthopaedic shoes...
    Red and black, red and black.
    He hates Athlone.

[quote=DeNiro;1162008]Few rumours from News of World today

Shamrock Rovers interested in Graham Gartland and Graham Barrett. I doubt Gartland would come back after getting promoted to SPL. Barrett have heard very little about lately, he's a Tallaght lad though If memory serves me right

We don`t have the money for those kinda players wage expectations ,3or 4 to go out in the window and maybe 1or2 good part timers in is the plan,living within our means is the name of the game at Rovers these days .

McAreavey, was a very good player but has been terrible for 2 seasons. If you can get him back to his best, I know he’ll be up their amongst the very best midfielders in the league. He was miles ahead of any midfielder in the Irish League when he was on his game.

Although I don’t fancy Dundalks centre Midfield now, Collins and Maccers. Quite possibly the slowest most over the hill midfield about.

Good luck the Maccers and I hope he can rediscover his past form
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

101 Posts
    We haven't signed McAreavey, or anyone else for that matter..

http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/090520_Connor.asp
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

I hear Kildare County have signed a couple of Chinese players who were on trial, didnt get all their names but i believe one of them is called Win Wan Soon.

Taxi for prince 20!
    Why are people who "need no introduction" always introduced?

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Technically he is not wrong, he said "rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us"

Doesn't say he left Longford 4 years ago anywhere in the post
    fair play to you sam heggy! I was nearly going to say that I was wrong I meant to say in the sentence that he left us three years ago but I covered myself nicely in the phrase! im so proud of myself!!

228 Posts
    I was chatting to a guy who knows David Ogilby today. He was saying the big centre half's contract is up and Linfield and Coleraine are looking for him. He suggested to me that Derry would come in with an offer and maybe even St. Pat's who were also interested in him last year. I reckon he'd be a great signing for Derry!

I hate to say it on all these threads, but I don't think we have the money available to compete with any of those three teams in terms of wages.
    DCFC

We don`t have the money for those kinda players wage expectations ,3or 4 to go out in the window and maybe 1or2 good part timers in is the plan,living within our means is the name of the game at Rovers these days .[/QUOTE]

Who could you see leaving in the window Rovershead? I saw them v Waterford last Tuesday and thought Eoin Doyle and Sean O'Connor could be replaced easily. Would you think Purcell, Flynn or Price could go as well?
    'And Crouch must score'

Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    We don`t have the money for those kinda players wage expectations ,3or 4 to go out in the window and maybe 1or2 good part timers in is the plan,living within our means is the name of the game at Rovers these days .
    Who could you see leaving in the window Rovershead? I saw them v Waterford last Tuesday and thought Eoin Doyle and Sean O'Connor could be replaced easily. Would you think Purcell, Flynn or Price could go as well?[/quote]I don`t rate Doyler but he`s a bit to go on a new contract ,mcgill will defo go probobly out on loan as he`s contracted to end of season .Pat Flynn is a nutter and a liability as he`s a magnet for red cards I think he could go and the signing of Craig Sives could mean the end for Price .Reckon we`ll keep Purcell as he puts himself about a bit more than our other strikers and is far better than Doyler.Madden is another on thin ice.Web has been a disaster for me I`d gladly see him off.Hard to second guess the current gaffer but Id expect a fullback and a midfielder to come in.Does anyone know if Joxer has been sacked by Drogs?Interesting thread on why Joey Ndo despite being fit is not being selected by Fenlon over on Bohs.com Id have him back on loan no probs.
    Last edited by RoversHead; 22/05/2009 at 11:03 AM.

The two lads have left Drogheda...according to Setanta

Drogheda United have confirmed that both John Paul Kelly and Mark Duggan have left the club.
    The Boynesiders are currently bottom of the Premier Division and in need of as many points as they can collect in order to be within a chance of avoiding relegation.
    Manager Alan Mathews was forced to compile a squad at very late notice when he took charge of the club just before the new season, but did well to sign some decent players.
    Among those that arrived at United Park were Kelly and Duggan, who had both been released by Bohemians and Bray Wanderers respectively.
    However, they have hardly featured since then with injury keeping both out for a period, but they won't have a chance to play any more games after the club agreed to release them from their contracts.
    "There was an amicable split between the two players and the club," confirmed Mathews.
    "They wanted to leave and they won't be playing for Drogheda anymore."

Strange ,not the full story I`m sure.thanks Black and White.Joxer on a free is a bargain,,I know most think he`s a knacker but I still rate him and would take him at Rovers no probs.

Page 92 of 117 FirstFirst ... 42829091929394102 ... LastLast