Page 64 of 117 FirstFirst ... 1454626364656674114 ... LastLast
Results 1,261 to 1,280 of 2326

Thread: Transfer Rumours

Quote Originally Posted by Lilywhite Army View Post
    Wel he only said discusions..ID imagine Faz is having discusions with various clubs..But yea it seems Burns is in deep negotiations and Turner is 99%

Just wouldnt count on Kudozovic yet..
    i also heard a rumour of Celtic coming over to play us..Now thats just a rumour..I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming up
    And they are playing in the UEFA cup!!Faz would be a major coup!where any of the other players at the quiz...heard Beno loves these social events...Donegal two years ago as an example!!lol

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Ok...How much was agreed?
    Can't remember now, 25k is in my head for some reason.
    I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming up
    Aston Villa wanted what, a friendly with Dundalk?

Can't remember now, 25k is in my head for some reason.
    Aston Villa wanted what, a friendly with Dundalk?
    Yes because they are playing on a plastic pitch in the UEFA cup arent they!!

yea a friendly..Eh Turner attended with Connor and Miller..

Could any Drogs fans enlighten me on what kind of squad is at drogs..is there anyone left..even youths

433 Posts
    Probably youths but I wouldn't think it would be active at the minute and as for senior players, there is none contracted AFAIK
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Nope all have severed ties...including all backroom staff...all thats left is club officials and Directors etc that kind of staff and of course the Under 20 team and youths! Itll be a Shels job!!sign a team in a week!John Gill as manager...taking half our released players with him!

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Ok...How much was agreed?
    Around 20k in 3 instalments afaik

433 Posts
    Fook, Brilliant if we get him but no point if Connor is going to play him out of position...
    Last edited by Dunny; 23/01/2009 at 10:36 PM.

48 Posts
    i also heard a rumour of Celtic coming over to play us..Now thats just a rumour..I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming up
    Celtic are to bring there 1st team over in july to Derry so maybe they might actually play the 1st team against you's!!!!

They won't come cheap though.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    Celtic are to bring there 1st team over in july to Derry so maybe they might actually play the 1st team against you's!!!!

They won't come cheap though.
    They will in there **** play a first team against us if they are playing them against DCFC. If there is a friendly then it will be the reserves I 'd say.

Still a very good reserve team:
    Mark Brown
    Naylor,O'Dea,Loovens,Wilson
    Mizuno,McGinn,Donati,McCourt
    Maloney,Killeen

Im sure one or two full team players will be there too!

Remember that Celtic bar down town, Lennon was over nearly every weekedn after games, Larsson was over quite a bit too same with Burley and a few others!

I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming up
    I think its Sean that wants it

Suprised he hasnt told ye Wigan are coming

Now back to Transfer Rumour talk...looks like we are signing Alan Cawley(yes Sligo lads, looks like we taking him off ye!!), Chris Turner, Robbie Duggan and Liam Burns

Dundalk boss Sean Connor is close to completing the signings of Liam Burns, Chris Turner and Dave Rogers. However, an attempt to bring Garreth O'Connor to the club appears to be dead in the water, while a return to Oriel Park for Steve Williams has also been ruled out. Alan Cawley and Robert Duggan, though, could be on the verge of becoming Lilywhites.
    Burns, Turner and Rogers have trained with the squad over the past week and are all close to striking deals. Burns and Turner have both worked under Connor before at Sligo Rovers and Bohemians, but it will be a new experience for Rogers, who has impressed sufficiently in training to earn a contract offer.
    On the other hand, talks with Steve Williams, who started his League of Ireland career at Dundalk in 1997, have come to an end with no agreement reached. It was thought that the Welsh goalkeeper would be at least offered a coaching role, however, he now won't be involved with the club this year. Instead, Connor is eyeing up Shamrock Rovers rookie Robert Duggan as cover for Chris Bennion.
    While talks with Williams took place at length, Garreth O'Connor seems to have decided against making a move to the border outfit by failing to enter advanced discussions with Connor. That is, however, likely to pave the way for the arrival of Alan Cawley, who has also been courted by Bohs and his hometown club Sligo in recent weeks. Dundalk are believed to be now leading the chase to sign the Bray midfielder as they are in a position to offer the 27-year-old the best financial package and could tie the deal up sooner than Cawley's other suitors.
    In more positive news for the club, it has also been rumoured that Dundalk will mark their return to the Premier Division with a televised clash against 2008 double winners and Connor's former club, Bohemians. A fixture list has yet to be released by the FAI, however, it is believed that it has already been drawn up and has paired last year's league champions together in a mouth-watering opening day encounter.
    http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1166/

126 Posts
    Dave Rogers? Excellent, he's one of the worst full backs in the league.

Everyone has their own opinion...he must be doing something if hes doing well in training etc!Had hios moments...i personally dont think hes suitable to us...but everyone deserves a chance...oh Connor is in advanced negotiations with Kudozovic!!FACT!!

126 Posts
    Yeah. Everyone does deserve a chance. He was muck at Shels (by a mile the weak link in the side Fenlon built there) and muck at Pats.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post
    Yeah. Everyone does deserve a chance. He was muck at Shels (by a mile the weak link in the side Fenlon built there) and muck at Pats.
    He was decent enough at Pats when he played centre back I thought. Absolutely awful full back though.

He was'nt muck at shels in fairness. had his moments but overall done well in his time here.

Finally exams are over (all 7 of them) so I can give my opinion.

I think some Dundalk fans are expecting too much of Connor. I am quite worried at some of the players he is trying to bring in such as Rogers, Williams and Cawley who I really don't want to see playing for Dundalk, then bringing in too many players who play the same position like Barbara, Barnett, O'Brien, Moran, Mansaram and Mulvenna, then being linked with Kuduzovic.

Also as some Bohs and Sligo fans have stated is the style of football and the fitness levels because Connor himself said he is about injury prevention thus not pushing players that hard in training which will show against teams who do push their players hard in training.

But being fair I will give him 1/4 of the season before I am going to judge him fully.

And this about getting an 'Big' club from England to play a friendly is just embarrassing.
    Children in the dark cause accidents.
    Accidents in the dark cause children.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    Now back to Transfer Rumour talk...looks like we are signing Alan Cawley(yes Sligo lads, looks like we taking him off ye!!), Chris Turner, Robbie Duggan and Liam Burns

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1166/
    Dundalk offering the best financial package. Doesn't say much for what we can offer then as Dundalk are working off 12k a week.......