Page 57 of 117 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967107 ... LastLast
Results 1,121 to 1,140 of 2326

Thread: Transfer Rumours

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    haha. do you feel special making up stuff to post here?
    Its not made up at all.You could'nt blame him for choosing carrick,at least he knew he would win something.If he hadn't been injured near the end of the season cobh would have stayed up.What division are ye in again!!!

Quote Originally Posted by BigFella 09 View Post
    Its not made up at all.You could'nt blame him for choosing carrick,at least he knew he would win something.If he hadn't been injured near the end of the season cobh would have stayed up.What division are ye in again!!!
    what has what division we're in have anything to do with what he allegedly did to our ex managers car?
    we're in the first division..oh wait...so are cobh, dumdum!!
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    what has what division we're in have anything to do with what he allegedly did to our ex managers car?
    we're in the first division..oh wait...so are cobh, dumdum!!
    Your bad mouthing a fella you know nothing about lad an im cork city ya langer!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by BigFella 09 View Post
    Your bad mouthing a fella you know nothing about lad an im cork city ya langer!!!!!
    you don't know what you're talking bout, lad!
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Quote Originally Posted by dannydundalk View Post
    in al honesty we are being linked with really big loi players that have won honours at the highest level possible in this league...
    could dundalk win the 1st division one year and the premier the next ???
    I'm not picking this post as a specific example, but Dundalk have signed (and are rumoured to be signing) a bunch of has beens, bar Hughes, Burns and Faz. And personally I'll be suprised if any of those two players end up in Dundalk.

Turner while talented has let himself go and will not regain fitness under any Con-nor regime
    Singh is a dishonest, moody git who is good when motvitated but rarely is.
    Fabio is past it.
    Rogers.. Hahaha. The very definition of past it, although be never had it to begin with.
    Mansaram, an overrated player who was second rate in the Blue Square Premier. Enough said.

I can only see Dundalk scraping up if they stay up at all. Connor's second rate management coupled with Steve Bruce, average players and budget bigger than Johnny Vegas' waistline spells nothing positive in my opinion.

fair enough that's your opinion not that i agree with any though
    DUNDALK FC BACK WHERE IT TRULY BELONGS IN THE PREMIER DIVISION.....A club with history,traditions,great fans....
    We Are the people's Club

I think Dundalk will do fair enough, Hughes is a good player if they get him, Turner if they can get him back playing is a very good footballer, Burns is very good and so is Faz. Mansarram is alright, works hard for the team. Singh i would have serious concern with him on the that plastic pitch but still football in him. Decent team and i think you will have an advantage with the pitch so your home form should be very good, see a chance for you to be in the top half if everythings click. Although that pitch may not suit Burns if it plays quick.

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    I think Dundalk will do fair enough, Hughes is a good player if they get him, Turner if they can get him back playing is a very good footballer, Burns is very good and so is Faz. Mansarram is alright, works hard for the team. Singh i would have serious concern with him on the that plastic pitch but still football in him. Decent team and i think you will have an advantage with the pitch so your home form should be very good, see a chance for you to be in the top half if everythings click. Although that pitch may not suit Burns if it plays quick.
    Just out of interest have you seen the surface in Oriel or played on it or similar? As quite an injury prone 28yr old myself i play on it regularly and find it much easier on the knees than many grass pitches (united park standing out as exceptional) FIFA stats show no significant change in amount or type of injury on this generation of surface....we are not talking about Luton/QPR stuff here. Even better after pending upgrade. Not having a go but negative comments regarding the safety of the pitch(not whether it is an advantage or not) really is due to lack of knowledge imo
    Apologies for going off topic

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    I'm not picking this post as a specific example, but Dundalk have signed (and are rumoured to be signing) a bunch of has beens, bar Hughes, Burns and Faz. And personally I'll be suprised if any of those two players end up in Dundalk.

Turner while talented has let himself go and will not regain fitness under any Con-nor regime
    Fabio is past it.
    Rogers.. Hahaha. The very definition of past it, although be never had it to begin with.
    Mansaram, an overrated player who was second rate in the Blue Square Premier. Enough said.

I can only see Dundalk scraping up if they stay up at all. Connor's second rate management coupled with Steve Bruce, average players and budget bigger than Johnny Vegas' waistline spells nothing positive in my opinion.

Tbf if we were signing those players you wouldn't be saying the same thing. Id take them all bar Rogers.

I really really hope Dundaaaaalk sign Mickey Collins. He reacts even to the smallest hint of abuse and is likely to get sent off. Much like Dave Hill in his heyday.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post

Fabio is past it.

I'll use this post as an example of how bitter fans of other clubs can become. How in the name of goodness could a 28 year old be described as 'past it'. Get a grip man.

You'll also excuse me I don't value your opinion on the other players. I think we should just leave it and see which club does better.
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

Quote Originally Posted by maroon ultra View Post
    I really really hope Dundaaaaalk sign Mickey Collins. He reacts even to the smallest hint of abuse and is likely to get sent off. Much like Dave Hill in his heyday.
    Portadown's Mick Collins? He got sent off (or at least the ref ordered him to be taken off) in a friendly v Pats a couple of years ago. Kicked out at one of our players and got some light hearted slagging form our fans (we numbered about 60 in a total crowd of 100). As he walked off he continued to have a go at the Pats fans with gestures and "obsceneties"

Every Pats fan just laughed at him. Never seen anyone so up for a friendly...

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Tbf if we were signing those players you wouldn't be saying the same thing. Id take them all bar Rogers.
    not at this stage I wouldn't. Bar Burns maybe, I wouldn't see one of them getting into our first team at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    not at this stage I wouldn't. Bar Burns maybe, I wouldn't see one of them getting into our first team at all.
    Anyone who signs Liam Burns is getting an excellent centre back. Would walk into any team in the country. Lacks pace, but he is a great reader of the game so is rarely exposed.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Portadown's Mick Collins? He got sent off (or at least the ref ordered him to be taken off) in a friendly v Pats a couple of years ago. Kicked out at one of our players and got some light hearted slagging form our fans (we numbered about 60 in a total crowd of 100). As he walked off he continued to have a go at the Pats fans with gestures and "obsceneties"

Every Pats fan just laughed at him. Never seen anyone so up for a friendly...

That was funny as f*ck. The ref told their manager to take him off before he sends him off The guy's a grade A moron

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Just out of interest have you seen the surface in Oriel or played on it or similar? As quite an injury prone 28yr old myself i play on it regularly and find it much easier on the knees than many grass pitches (united park standing out as exceptional) FIFA stats show no significant change in amount or type of injury on this generation of surface....we are not talking about Luton/QPR stuff here. Even better after pending upgrade. Not having a go but negative comments regarding the safety of the pitch(not whether it is an advantage or not) really is due to lack of knowledge imo
    Apologies for going off topic
    No offence but having a kick about with your mates is a lot different than playing a competitive league of Ireland premier league match with tackles flying in at you.

He quoted Keith Armstrong, boss of Finland's HJK Helsinki on his club's conversion from grass: "He says that their players abhor it. Their physiotherapists' opinions are that it could take four years off a player's career. We don't like it full stop. I think it's significant that no footballers like it. Nor do technical staff like it.
    "Earlier in the season when we told Jean-Alain Boumsong [about Dunfermline's pitch], he couldn't believe it. It could deter foreign players from coming here." McLeish is not speaking out of ignorance. his club can boast a FIELDturf training pitch, in common with several English Premiership clubs. "I know people say these pitches can enhance the community. Well, just build one for the community. Why make the professional elite league play on it?"

Dunfirmiline players also felt they picked up more injuries on a plastic surface/Art grass than the real thing and in my view that is the real proof in the pudding as they are the boys that have to use it.
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 21/01/2009 at 10:27 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    I'll use this post as an example of how bitter fans of other clubs can become. How in the name of goodness could a 28 year old be described as 'past it'. Get a grip man.

You'll also excuse me I don't value your opinion on the other players. I think we should just leave it and see which club does better.
    I think he has probably seen him more than you this year. I seen Fabio play in Dalymount v Bohs and all he did was try and kick Killian Brennan when he came on. From what i seen of him i think the injuries may have caught up with him.

I dont think we can win the premier this year, in all honesty thats fairy talk!
    We are piecing together a good squad, and hopefully the signings of the players linked this week materialise and help lead us to the top 5, which is a more achievable target, but being brutally honest, I just want to see us stay uo, and if that means one place above the play offs then so be it!

Just out of curiosity, can anyone tell me what Burns was earning a week at Bohs last year?
    Més Que Un Club - More than a Club

82 Posts
    No offence but having a kick about with your mates is a lot different than playing a competitive league of Ireland premier league match with tackles flying in at you.

He quoted Keith Armstrong, boss of Finland's HJK Helsinki on his club's conversion from grass: "He says that their players abhor it. Their physiotherapists' opinions are that it could take four years off a player's career. We don't like it full stop. I think it's significant that no footballers like it. Nor do technical staff like it.
    "Earlier in the season when we told Jean-Alain Boumsong [about Dunfermline's pitch], he couldn't believe it. It could deter foreign players from coming here." McLeish is not speaking out of ignorance. his club can boast a FIELDturf training pitch, in common with several English Premiership clubs. "I know people say these pitches can enhance the community. Well, just build one for the community. Why make the professional elite league play on it?"

Dunfirmiline players also felt they picked up more injuries on a plastic surface/Art grass than the real thing and in my view that is the real proof in the pudding as they are the boys that have to use it.
    Dunfermline's pitch was a of a lower quality than the one we have been playing on and we are upgrading to a pitch of an even higher quality. All studies suggest that there are less injuries on these pitches so i'd trust the studies carried out by FIFA over claims that a manager heard that another manager had heard from their physios that their "opinion" was it caused more injuries.

959 Posts
    You assume that im having a kick about with my mates...well they're mates but a little more than a kick about lol
    Ok everyone to their own but i find it better than most grass pitches with exceptions. Chatting to for example the Glenavon manager after a friendly they were impressed and enjoyed it. Terry Collins had said they were considering such a surface in their abortive stadium after playing in Finland. I'll accept that not all will like it...especially those who aint fit(most likely reason for injuries as it exposes poor condition). Wont go off topic again